We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service survives”
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Caltanissetta
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in the late 90s and were pleasantly surprised. This time we noticed signs of an aging building that could stand an update. In spite of the physical decline the excellent service survives. The rooms are still very spacious, the beds comfortable, and the towels large and fluffy. The breakfast was satisfactory we enjoyed sitting on the balcony while having it. Our stay was during a local heatwave day time temperatures around 40 C. But the (quiet) air conditioning kept the room comfortably cool. The view from our second floor room was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

It's an imposing building on top of a hill, but the architecture owes more to Le Corbusier than is appreciated today. All that concrete used in the construction should have a cooling effect but my room was stifling hot and when I opened the window I discovered I had a dead pigeon outside for company (a dead pigeon that not expired yesterday). However, despite this, the views are stunning especially in the morning as the rolling hills of central Sicily were incredibly photogenic especially with the sun rising over them. Of course there is an abundance of charm in a hotel like this, notwithstanding the cramped shower, the door-handle of the room which comes off in one's hand every evening, the worn-out decor of the interior and the classic 1970s feel. The lobby is very large and there are leather sofas to sink deeply into whilst using the wi-fi that doesn't quite reach the second floor rooms (or those even higher). The breakfast is adequate, with great coffee (as expected) and very attentive staff. There is a quirky charm to this hotel that can't be denied. A week is probably too long to stay but for a few days I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

It is a 1970s hotel, and as such it isn't exactly plush in the 2010s. The building is quite ugly and although its position at the top of the town is dominating and therefore offers good views, staying there doesn't feel like a luxury experience. The breakfast was average (why do most 4 star hotels in Sicily seem to have orange squash and not real orange juice? If you cannot get that in Sicily, where else?) and although they have a nice pool, it is recommended to drive to it because it is about 300 meters downhill from the hotel. To their credit, parking spaces were plentiful, but I think for the price they ask you can probably find a cosier B&B in the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aledwige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ruben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank giuseppecanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caltanissetta
1.1 mi away
Antichi Ricordi
Antichi Ricordi
#1 of 4 in Caltanissetta
116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#3 of 4 in Caltanissetta
102 reviews
14.5 mi away
Tenuta Palladio
Tenuta Palladio
#4 of 4 in Caltanissetta
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Federico II Palace Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bed & Breakfast S. Elia
Bed & Breakfast S. Elia
#8 of 27 in Caltanissetta
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Uliwood
Uliwood
#1 of 27 in Caltanissetta
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Address: Via Fasci Siciliani S/n, 93120 Caltanissetta, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Caltanissetta > Caltanissetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Caltanissetta
Price Range: $95 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Michele Caltanissetta, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing