We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel First
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
1 review
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for a few nights last month, and didn't have the best time. The rooms are clean, but the toilet didn't work properly and needed help to flush, the handrails fell off the second we pulled a towel off, and the air conditioning didn't work at all -- it probably should have, given the noise it still made. There was also some mildew in the shower, the wifi in the rooms is very intermittent, and the signal is weak at the best of times. The mattresses are also quite hard.

There is a sign saying there is a fitness centre, but we found out there wasn't one when we asked Reception. Perhaps the sign being in Italian was misleading!

We weren't told what time the breakfast buffet ended, but staff began clearing it up at 10am, regardless of whether we had finished eating or not. This is also, inconveniently (for us at least), the same time they choose to start cleaning the rooms.

We had an issue at check-out as to whether or not we had prepaid for our rooms or just put down a deposit, as the manager was alleging. She was rude, obtuse and repeatedly interrupted us when we were asking questions to try and get to the bottom of the issue, even raising her voice at times. This wasn't down to a language barrier, as she spoke excellent English. She was unaccommodating and completely unprofessional.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    118
    155
    107
    59
See reviews for
68
137
11
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

i am not sure when, where or how they photoshop the pictures of the hotel, but it looks nothing like what you see in in the photos. in addition, i am no longer able to rely upon the star rating system w/ this site if this place is able to obtain anything higher than 1 star. this place was sooo bad, i scarcely know where to begin. we checked during the day and the outside was pretty sketchy, but close to the highway. the lobby was quite dirty and dingy. the hallway walls are full of stains. the elevator was built during the dark ages and can only fit, literally, one person and maybe one luggage. the rooms had filthy carpet, air conditioning did not work, bed was rock hard w/ no springs. there was certain body part hair on the sheets when i checked and it was not my own. the bathroom was full of mildew on walls, toilets had no seats on them and forget any chance of clean towels. the outside pool was green and the grounds did not looked barren. we tried to switch and saw 3 other rooms and the story was quite similar. there is no wifi in the rooms. you can get slow wifi if you are willing to sit in the hot and dirty lobby. we were stuck because we were so tired. the part that sent me over the edge was when we drove back to the hotel at night. we discovered the hotel was within walking distance to the street where "ladies of the night" were walking and there was plenty of car traffic due to this activity. it was so bad! i did not sleep a wink all night because of the dirty bed. i only sat on the bed because i placed new sheets on top of the others and sat up the entire night. the breakfast the next morning really, really bad w/ dirty glasses and plates. naturally, i told the manager on duty about my experience at her hotel. she begged me to not post a negative review on tripadvisor. i had considered not doing it because she was nice. but, i decided it was more important to warn other travelers and avoid the same mistake we made. we were on our 2nd honeymoon and this place really ruined it. we were only trying to avoid the driving and parking restrictions we had heard about Firenze. therefore, we stayed outside the city limit and this place was chosen based on availability, decent pictures and good reviews. i and many others can tell you the rating for this hotel is completely wrong. i am not sure how anyone can write something positive about this hotel and not try and help other travelers to avoid a bad situation. if there had been even good thing out of this experience, we would have shared it. stay at your own risk!

Room Tip: there isn't one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Love2taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calenzano hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel has not been maintained at all. Pool closed. Grass Not mowed. Staff were rude and unhelpful. Worst experience in Italy!

I cannot believe this is shown as a 4 star. I have travelled all over the world and believe this would struggle to be A 2 star.

Wifi was rubbish and intermittent

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonsimez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I paid the money but I don't get any good service from this hotel.

Firstly, Service is worst.
I ask for hot water but they refuse, ignore my request and expect us without drinking any water for the whole day.

Secondly, They give us a feeling of RACIST.
During breakfast time, they separate between Asian and Europeans. Whats more, they provide unequal proportion of food and different attitude between Asian and Europeans.

Thirdly, Customer service and mental attitude is BAD.
One of my friends ask the staff :" Where should I put the keys?" and the staff answer her with yelling and fierce attitude.

Oh my god... Are we paying for accepting the "challenge"?
We paid and we were being "SERVICE" like "4 star **** " and treated like BEGGAR.
I swear I won't stay in that hotel anymore and it gives us a unforgettable memories and experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TandFview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Im staying in the hotel right now. Not really good, rooms are dirty - ther are bugs on my bed, old lifts, restaurant service is very bed, breakfast is served with hard bread, very salty bacon and most of the food is salty. Recommend asian best not to book the first hotel located in calenzano, Italy

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrickchuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The room was clean,had a small fridge, had english sky channels which was great, although the aircon was not on due to local laws regarding this. We opened the window for fresh air and the room was full of mosquitoes within minutes. The first night was awful, we couldnt sleep due to the heat & mosquitoes, plus the noise of the guests next door, the walls are so thin that if we understood italian, we could have repeated what they were saying. Staff are not up to date with local knowledge; we were told we could buy bus tickets on the bus when we could not. The next night, we had to buy mosquito coils from the store across the road. Being that the hotel is aware of local laws regarding aircon & that there are mosquitoes, they should have mosquito coils in stock, having to buy them ourselves is unacceptable.WIFI was patchy at best. Overall, its ok and location in proximity to Florence is good. But dont expect 4 star service..

Room Tip: Not near the pool when its out of season, its a breeding ground for mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I don't have time to write about how bad the experience was, I just want their rating to go down (to reality), so others don't make the mistake I made and go there.
The walls are all dirty, rooms small, the worst part are the paper thin walls that you can have full conversations with your neighbour through.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monicaacinom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calenzano
0.7 mi away
Hotel Miro
Hotel Miro
#4 of 8 in Calenzano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valmarina
Hotel Valmarina
#5 of 8 in Calenzano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.2 mi away
Meridiana Country Hotel
Meridiana Country Hotel
#1 of 8 in Calenzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Selva
Hotel La Selva
#2 of 8 in Calenzano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gate Hotel
The Gate Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Villetta
Hotel La Villetta
#3 of 8 in Calenzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel First

Property: Hotel First
Address: Via Dino Ciolli 5, 50041, Calenzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Calenzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel First 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1st
First Hotel Calenzano
Hotel First Province Of Florence/Calenzano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing