We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, very comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Residence Gasser
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bressanone
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spacious, very comfortable room”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our most expensive place to stay during our 3 1/2 week stay in Austria and Italy, but it was also the largest room with a huge, very comfy bed. It was very deluxe according to our standards. The furnishings were amazing. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Gasser in February 2012 when we went skying to Plose, the ski resort close to Bressanone. The hotel occupies a beginning of 20th century building in a quiet area of the city, at a walking distance from the historic district and across a riverside park. The hotel offers good parking facilities which is very convenient as the area is of narrow one-way streets.
The Gasser is an annexe of the Gruner Baum Best Western located 100 meters down the street. This is not a big issue but may cause some inconveniences if - as in our case - you arrive late at night, find the door closed and have to wait for somebody to come and check you in. Actually, as there is no permanent front desk, basic things such as check-in, check-out and getting Internet access codes must be done at the main building. The hotel is quite comfortable. Rooms are spacious and clean, some of them with a balcony. Bathrooms are large and well equipped. Rooms and lobby areas display unattractive "classical" furniture but also some interesting pictures of the city at the end of the 19th century. For sure, more could have been done to take advantage of the character of the building but overall there is little to object to the space and comfort of the facility. There is no restaurant in the hotel (only one at the Gruner Baum) but there are good places to eat in the city: restaurant Fink is one of them. We particularly liked breakfast as freshly squeezed orange juice and yogurt with fresh berries are not commonly found at breakfast buffets !!
For families and short stays to ski or discover the Trentino Alto Adige province the Gasser is a very good option I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

a great location across from a riverside park and close to the bridge into the pretty and lively old town.
although run as an annexe of the best western just down the road, the gasser offers a comfortable and quiet base, with use of all the other facilities. there are attractive lounge areas, and a good cold breakfast is provided on site.
i got a large beautifully furnished room with balcony, probably beacause the hotel was full and run out of single rooms ???
arrival by car is difficult, but there is decent parking to the rear of the hotel.
everything was spotless and worked beautifully - not the cheapest hotel, but great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights as part of a sightseeing tour through Northern Italy.

The hotel is an annex to the main Best Western hotel about 100 metres up the street, therefore reception at this hotel is not always manned. When we check-in, we used a phone on the front desk that links you to the main hotel - 5 mins later a staff member arrived with our key. He spoke very little english (town is a mixture of Italian & German speaking residents).

We were given a Brixen card which we figured out (after specifically requesting an English brochure) entitles you to free entry to lots of local attractions. We used this card quite a bit during our stay which saved us lots of money - we even travel in the local bus, caught the train to Bolzano & visited the Ice Man museum plus the return journey all for nothing.

Hotel is a 5 minute walk to the town centre - very handy for shops & restaurants.

Breakfast is served at this hotel, however for dinner we never saw the restaurant open - assume you need to go the main hotel.

Wi-fi internet access was available however it was a weak & very slow connection that was not free. Hence the cost at 3 euro per hour (5 cents per minute) really added up as it took a while for pages to load.

Our only complaint was that the room that we were given did not have air-conditioning - it was well over 30 degrees each day during our stay & even having our windows open at night (we did not have a room with a balcony) it was still very hot in the room which made it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

A nice room at a reasonable rate. A friendly but non-english speaking gentleman checked us in. Excellant breakfast. The desk isn't open 24 hours but a block away at the Gruner Baum you can get 24 hour service. There is a good parking area behind the Hotel. Only a few minute walk into town which is a very nice town to visit with many nice places to eat and shop. The twin churches are also worth seeing.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
german in yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Drove there via Brenner Motorway. Brixen is nice quaint town. Ideal for walking tours. Hotel slightly difficult to find as it is the Dependance Gasser of the Gruener Baum Hotel. You allowed to use all their facilities. We had a huge room on the 4th floor with balcony. Bath also great. Beautiful views over city and sourrounding mountains. Breakfast buffet perfect. Staff extreamly friendly (German efficiency meets Italian friendlynes). Enjoy the sunset with a bottle of local wine on the balcony. Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank janpki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bressanone hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel Gasser
Residence Hotel Gasser
#29 of 34 in Bressanone
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goldene Krone Vital Hotel
Goldene Krone Vital Hotel
#11 of 34 in Bressanone
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine City Wellness Hotel Dominik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elephant
Hotel Elephant
#10 of 34 in Bressanone
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Traube
Hotel Traube
#2 of 34 in Bressanone
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#20 of 34 in Bressanone
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Gasser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Gasser

Property: Hotel Residence Gasser
Address: Rappanlagen 19 | 39042, 39042, Bressanone, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bressanone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bressanone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Residence Gasser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasser Hotel Bressanone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing