We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel In Brixen”
Review of Hotel Gruner Baum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gruner Baum
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Bressanone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is located in front of Mountains which are snow clad in winter season. If you get a room facing the main road, you will get a good view of mountains in the morning. The bathroom are of international standard. For parking of vehicle, one may have to go to the nearest building of same hotel. The market is just few feet across the bridge facing the hotels other building.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ominvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 671 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived early in the afternoon at around 1:00 PM, our rooms were not yet ready, but the staff handled the check in formalities and left our bags at the desk.
If you arrive by car or as we did motorcycle, it is better to park on the street and take the short walk down the slope to the hotel.
There is some parking by the hotel door but it is a very tight turn and difficult to turn around to get back out.
After check in the staff will then direct you to their parking garage which allows access to the hotel.
We had booked two single rooms, they were the smallest rooms I have seen in a long time.
The bed was a single and the hardest I have ever encountered. It felt like a wood block with a blanket on it.
The location of the hotell is ideal, a short walk across the bridge to the pedestrian only area of Bressanone (Brixen)
The breafast buffet was excellent with a good choice of food. It was well prepared and presented. The staff in the breakfast room were excellent ensuring that the food was restocked as necessary and that guests got their coffee, tea or beverage of their choice. As with many hotels, there was a coffee machine in the dining room to make latte, esspresso etc.
The breakfast rooms can be busy if the hotel is full, however, they have several rooms which surround the buffet area, this makes each room more cozy and prevents the cafeteria look.

There is only one elevator so at busy times the wait can be frustrating.


Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Biker-Norm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. But for us was quite disappointing. The hotel is clean,the room we were, in the green house, spacious and with a nice terrace(at a price anyway!). And housekeeping was outstanding. The same can be said about the swimming pools when no children do what they want desides the rules. But those who are thinking in choosing this hotel for their stay should know in my opinion that
a) Reception is nonexistent (except for paying the bill). No information about where is the room, the garage or breakfast or dinner hours. Nothing if not asked. And the way can be not an easy one.
b) Common areas are too small for the size of the hotel which has severals buildings. Neither the dining room or the pool area, payment required without wellness card, or the garage are the size needed for the the hotel. And for us the last thing one expects to find in holidays is trouble finding a parking space (45€ the week) or to find a free table (which for some guests can be book for breakfast and for some not). We stayed for a week an each evening we have to change the table besides the policy they have to seat always in the same. Food was acceptable but scarce in some items if you like to have dinner after 20.15 (i.e.near 9PM when service ends).
c) We had in the room of the above floor a family with young children. It was a torment because their runs were perfectly audible. And annoying!! Specially early morning and at night.
So I doubt we will be back besides so many good reviews. Perhaps there is no best options in Bressannone/Brixen but there are better places in Alto Adige.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triper_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked into this hotel and town at the last minute and what a find they both are!! The hotel is great as was the staff. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is filled with amenities and the breakfast room was fabulous. The location could not be better. The hotel is situated directly adjacent to the pedestrian bridge into the old town which is filled with lovely shops and restaurants. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer in this beautiful little town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancouvertraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

lovely 4 star hotel, very nice rooms, great breakfast and dinner buffet (just don't go too late, people tend to eat early-ish here - but you can always ask the staff if you can't find what you fancy), lovely staff, and ideally situated in Brixen. 8 of us on a special family holiday and it turned out to be just perfect. we definitely want to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We arrived in Brixen without a reservation and asked at the tourist information office for recommendations for 4-star hotels. We liked the Gruner Baum's location close to the center of
the old city and were very pleased with our choice. Our room was spacious and overlooked the river, the bridge, and the spires of the center of the city. The woman at the front desk called for us to cancel two reservations for stays at other lodgings we had to change because of a change in itinerary. We took full advantage of the lovely spa facilities - outdoor pool, outdoor jacuzzi, sauna, steam baths, solarium - and enjoyed a bounteous meal in the hotel restaurant. Next day the breakfast was equally sumptuous - I especially enjoyed the juicer to make fresh-squeezed fruit and vegetable juices. The bathroom was well-appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landscapelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Upon arrival, we also were sent to a location up the street. We a got a lovely large room on the end of the building and loved our three days at the hotel. We were thrilled to see that a beer garden had popped up across the street after an arduous day of bicycling. We enjoyed listening to the music and relaxing at the beer garden both evenings. Breakfast was great, complete with a juicer. The Brixen pass is an AWESOME deal that this hotel offers giving you free train/bus travel ... check into if you go to Brixen.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altanta-annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bressanone
8.8 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Falkensteinerhof
23.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Adler
Hotel Goldener Adler
#7 of 35 in Bressanone
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine City Wellness Hotel Dominik
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pupp
Hotel Pupp
#1 of 35 in Bressanone
297 reviews
16.8 mi away
Steindls Boutiquehotel
Steindls Boutiquehotel
#1 of 18 in Vipiteno
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruner Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruner Baum

Address: Via Stufles 11, 39042, Bressanone, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bressanone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bressanone
#4 Family Hotel in Bressanone
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bressanone
Price Range: $151 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gruner Baum 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gruner Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Bressanone
Best Western Bressanone
Bressanone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing