We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Bra
Post
Inbox
Search

“Slow food does not mean slow service”

Osteria del Boccondivino
Ranked #2 of 123 Restaurants in Bra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed November 25, 2015

We were eager to experience food from the birthplace of the slow food movement. Upon entering their beautiful courtyard, we were disappointed as their prices were a bit beyond our budget. After explaining our dilemma we were invited in for an appetizer and wine.

We wished we had stayed for a full meal as the appetizer of raw meat was the best we have ever had.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank altsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2015

A beautiful restaurant above the courtyard of an old building off of an old street in the middle of town. Interior is creamy yellow with framed photos of game birds and rustic antique furniture and finishes. Associated with the Slow Food association and Michelin rated, it's obviously no slouch. Vitello tonnato could have been more flavourful, but the agnolotti dal plin is excellent and the pistachio and hazelnut semifreddo is simply one of the best desserts you'll ever have. Wine selection is also top notch.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mattyhirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

My pasta with truffles was excellent and having come to Piedmont to enjoy truffles I almost felt compelled to order it. Given the many fabulous dishes on the menus, this was not easy. The barbera D'Alba 2013 Bricco dei merli was superb! Book in advance

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank 497stephanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

As fans of the slow food movement for many years, my wife and I located Osteria Del Boccondivino whilst in Bra a couple of days ago. We booked a table for 7.30 and realized that our evening would be cut short by the last train back to Alba, at 8.30. Sure, we could have driven, but a) we're on holiday and b)we're surrounded by arguably the finest wines in the world.
So, it became a frustrating irony that when we checked into Boccondivino, the home of slow food we announced that we had 45 minutes until we had to get the train home.
The waitress was very understanding and we were promptly seen to . We ordered two glasses of Barolo, an appetiser of celery, cream and garlic. My wife commented that only in Italy could these ingredients be elevated to this status. It was a fine starter.
Mains were veal in Barolo for Mrs west and roasted veal with potatoes for myself.
These were very simple dishes, but I cannot stress enough the care and love that went into making them. Absolute perfectly cooked and seasoned.
These are easy dishes to get wrong, but to cook them with this degree of skill takes a master chef.
We had a second glass of a different, 2008 barolo, which was rich and characterful, then we had to make a hasty exit.
All I can say is thank you to the staff at Boccondivino for your hospitality and understanding. We'll be back next easter for a longer stay.
A wonderful restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank nickwestrockgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015

We had no expectations of this restaurant. We knew it was the center of the slow food movement and our visit to Bra was completely unplanned and an excellent addition to our first Italy visit. We were able to get the reservation on the day we arrived for that very night. I can say that we continued to travel in Piemonte for the next week and continued to dine at memorable restaurants but kept comparing the food to the meal we had here so this dinner was our standard. Excellent Pasta, especially the gnocci and ragu. The Panna Cotta was outstanding! I would definitely return to this restaurant and the Bra area for future travel!

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TruckeeCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Boccondivino also viewed

 
Bra, Province of Cuneo
Bra, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Osteria del Boccondivino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing