We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Bra
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great selection of cheeses

Excellent place near the historical center of Bra to find good and diverse types of cheese. Kind... read more

Reviewed September 4, 2019
Adriana L
,
Bra, Italy
via mobile
Toys ur us for cheese lovers

When you enter this looks like a little nothing special cheese shop but then you go down and you... read more

Reviewed June 15, 2019
AmosBer
,
Tel Aviv, Israel
Read all 55 reviews
  
Google
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bra
from $185.91
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
50
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
50
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews take home heaven skins hay shop aging vacuumed sample tasting piedmont wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 55 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2015

Turned up to try a few cheeses and got talking to the owner Lorenzo and Lucia. We had the most fabulous time looking at how they finish the cheeses, talking about his grandmother andfather who both ran the cheese store and getting an education in cheese, where and how it is made. Lorenzo made us all a coffee and we spent an hour. It made the day - so much fun

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Fiorenzo Giolito was truly talented. He was a treat to watch. Lucia was great and very informative.
They basically supply none of the cheese in the raw material form. They get their cheeses mostly from very local sources. Then they age the cheese watching over it like Mother hens. They release it for sale only when it os really ready. They age some of the same cheeses different lengths of time. We saw one cheese at three different ages. The mould that developed was natural and normal. Those cheeses just tasted stronger the more aged they were.
They told us a lot about the history of cheese making in this area and how it developed. The area of Bra does not have any dairy cows, goats or sheep. Yet they sell a lot of cheeses. They bring in the cheeses from local farms and through ageing develop their own styles of cheeses.
Fiorenze is brilliant and funny. Very nice to spend time with. He is proud of the work he does as he should be.
Lucia is a wealth of information.
She is extremely informative.
She is willing to add extra portions as you need. Everything she does is with a smile. She makes everyone feel at home and welcome.
If you are even remotely close you must come here.
ENJOY!!!!!!

2  Thank GeorgeDubiecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2014

We were promised an extraordinary afternoon with a special visit by the owners of our holiday rental half an hour away. Bra is of course the centre of the slow movement, and this store has been in the family for a long time. First, We toured the facility where the owner stores and ages his cheeses before settling down to a taster of a range of the local produce - we were offered other European cheeses but opted for local. They were delicious, from goat through sheep to cow, some very young and some matured. We had an excellent bottle of wine, and some of the best bread in Italy (we bought some later from the bakery). Some of the cheese processes are fascinating - wine lees and also straw. The explanations were detailed and the selection very well made.
We went away with a lot of cheese!
Oh yes, the owner is a biker, so I had lots to talk about - he has his favourite from the fifties upstairs, but I was allowed up.

Date of experience: October 2014
2  Thank aureliaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2014

I have had the great good fortune to visit fine cheese shops all over the world, and Fiorenzo Giolito holds a special place as a caretaker and promoter of Piemonte cheeses. The shop is small, but don't let size fool you. There are caves below, and much work going on behind the scenes, all so that residents and visitors alike can sample some of the best products the region has to offer. Everyone inside is friendly and eager to allow you to sample. This place is the best of the best.

Date of experience: October 2014
2  Thank AuthorJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews