We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wine, dine and stay at Albergo Cantine Ascheri”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Cantine Ascheri
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bra
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine, dine and stay at Albergo Cantine Ascheri”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were recommended to this hotel by a friend who is in the wine business. The hotel was beautiful!! There was an incredible amount of attention paid to every detail. The room was very large, comfortable and impeccably furnished. A lot of interesting touches in the design of the inn in all aspects. The room was a great value and included a wonderful breakfast. We were treated to a very interesting tour by one of the delightful owners of the winery, and really enjoyed talking with her and learning their history as well as their views on life in Italy. We ate at their restaurant located within the compound which had great food at a very reasonable price. Would love to go back and would recommend it to anyone with a love of food, travel and wine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    55
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
56
6
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We especially sought out this hotel after tasting a few of the Ascheri wines onboard a cruise ship. The hotel, wine cellar and restaurant did not disappoint. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make that you had a pleasant stay. The rooms were very modern and well kept. We enjoyed looking out of the telescopes in the wall of our room onto Bra and the Piemonte valley. We wish that we had booked to stay longer in the hotel, rather than spending a day in Milan. We'll definitely be returning to this hotel and their wine cellars! Cheers to all the staff membes that made our stay pleasant (Marchello, Matteo and Alessandro, to name a few).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_mich11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We're Slow Food members and visiting Bra headquarters. This gem-like boutique hotel was so much more than we expected. Nothing worth quibbling about -- trendy but easy to use room controls, excellent used of concrete, wood, plaster, and torchis in a wonderful modern building. I would like to meet the architect to pay homage to his or her talent. Included dinner at the same-owner osteria was in a word perfect. I really loved my lentil salad and polenta with sausage and mushroom. This family makes excellent wines well (actually made it first) before they opened this Olympics-Era experiment in lodging hospitality. Bravo!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimatmutianyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Really enjoyed it -the family that runs it and the restaurant and the winery were so helpful -we arrived as the grapes were being brought in and they showed us through the winery and process.We needed the menu interpretted and they were only too willing to sit down and go through it -we decided to eat there the first night and then the only night we did not eat there was because it was closed .
Breakfast at hotel was great .
NB Out GPS guided us to down the road -its not a pretty suburb but dont be put off -once you find it and the right spot you really only head one way into town

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view and you miss the neighbours washing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pabsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were touring the Val d'Aosta and Piemonte and were in Bra so that we could visist the wine villages nearby. Bra certainly isn't blessed with an enormous choice of accommodation but the Ascheri is exceptional. It is a totally modern establishment (as I am sure you will have seen from the photographs) and it has the great advantage of parking. It is set above the wine-making facility, which one can visit. Curiously the lounge/reception area has been left very stark and extremely uninviting - most certainly not cosy! And one is surprised given the care that has gone into the rest of the design.

There is no restaurant but the owners have a separate restaurant across the courtyard (and with a separate street entrance). This is a very simple establishment with a small menu but I liked it very much. It very much had a local 'locanda' feel about it. But there are also other restaurants within walking distance.

As for Bra itself I fear I can't enthuse greatly about the town. It's central location is really its attraction.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Dig deep into the history of this family-run and operated hotel/restaurant/winery, and you will be generously rewarded as you move through the Piemonte wine region. We loved it for the quality of its modern accommodations, the simple and beautiful food in its cozy restaurant, its generous breakfasts, and its easy honor wine bar built around its respected array of wines. And, for all this, the price is right. But what makes it exceptional -- especially as a place to start your travels through the Piemonte -- is the Ascheri story of tradition, family, and wine. In a region with storied wine but not always sophisticated in accommodating visitors, the Ascheri family members embrace us, and tell a beautiful story of their history, their honorable and traditional approaches to grape growing and wine making, and their decision to build this ambitious visitor friendly hotel on top of their historic winery founded in -- as I remember -- the 1880s. Bra is not the best physical location in the Piemonte (its small centre city is within walking distance, and can be lively and fun), but this property surely is a great home base for further exploration. I'd recommend at least two nights here at the start of your trip to unwind and get oriented. Foundational. Do the tour of their winery and the tasting to get a feel for Piemonte wines, and the love, care and tradition that makes theirs special. Then maybe move on to small inns in La Morra, Barolo or Barbaresco. You won't regret the time you stayed here, even if it doesn't have the view or ambience of other villages. Think of it as a friendly and informative introduction to the region in a high-end, creative and sophisticated setting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hummingbird92662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

As mentioned by others, this really is a unique hotel. We had a very nice room, with some intriguing features - such as the little telescopes built int the walls pointing out local features (smokestacks from the local tannery ...etc).

The affiliated restaurant is a stones throw away, and was good, if basic. Serving the wines that are madehere. Breakfaast was great!

It is very close to the town centre, and not at all rural, which was our one main problem with the place! But that is more persona than anything else. All in all an excellent choice, for something just a little bit different!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bra
2.6 mi away
Somaschi Hotel
Somaschi Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cherasco
347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Cavalieri
2.4 mi away
Albergo dell'Agenzia
Albergo dell'Agenzia
#1 of 1 in Pollenzo
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Palazzo Righini
Palazzo Righini
#1 of 4 in Fossano
628 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Corte Albertina
9.4 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#3 of 10 in Alba
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cantine Ascheri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cantine Ascheri

Property: Albergo Cantine Ascheri
Address: Via Giovanni Piumati 25, 12042 Bra, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Bra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Cantine Ascheri 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Cantine Ascheri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing