We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo Cantine Ascheri
Nearby Hotels
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bed&Bra(Bra)(Great Value!)
$60
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
124
62
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
62
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottle of wineboutique hotelwonderful hotelwinery tourhigh qualitymodern buildingreal highlightrooms are largela morragood sizecellarvineyardscourtyardwinestownarchitecturewalls
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 194 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were touring the Val d'Aosta and Piemonte and were in Bra so that we could visist the wine villages nearby. Bra certainly isn't blessed with an enormous choice of accommodation but the Ascheri is exceptional. It is a totally modern establishment (as I am sure you will have seen from the photographs) and it has the great advantage of parking. It is set above the wine-making facility, which one can visit. Curiously the lounge/reception area has been left very stark and extremely uninviting - most certainly not cosy! And one is surprised given the care that has gone into the rest of the design.

There is no restaurant but the owners have a separate restaurant across the courtyard (and with a separate street entrance). This is a very simple establishment with a small menu but I liked it very much. It very much had a local 'locanda' feel about it. But there are also other restaurants within walking distance.

As for Bra itself I fear I can't enthuse greatly about the town. It's central location is really its attraction.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DerekCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Dig deep into the history of this family-run and operated hotel/restaurant/winery, and you will be generously rewarded as you move through the Piemonte wine region. We loved it for the quality of its modern accommodations, the simple and beautiful food in its cozy restaurant, its generous breakfasts, and its easy honor wine bar built around its respected array of wines. And, for all this, the price is right. But what makes it exceptional -- especially as a place to start your travels through the Piemonte -- is the Ascheri story of tradition, family, and wine. In a region with storied wine but not always sophisticated in accommodating visitors, the Ascheri family members embrace us, and tell a beautiful story of their history, their honorable and traditional approaches to grape growing and wine making, and their decision to build this ambitious visitor friendly hotel on top of their historic winery founded in -- as I remember -- the 1880s. Bra is not the best physical location in the Piemonte (its small centre city is within walking distance, and can be lively and fun), but this property surely is a great home base for further exploration. I'd recommend at least two nights here at the start of your trip to unwind and get oriented. Foundational. Do the tour of their winery and the tasting to get a feel for Piemonte wines, and the love, care and tradition that makes theirs special. Then maybe move on to small inns in La Morra, Barolo or Barbaresco. You won't regret the time you stayed here, even if it doesn't have the view or ambience of other villages. Think of it as a friendly and informative introduction to the region in a high-end, creative and sophisticated setting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hummingbird92662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

As mentioned by others, this really is a unique hotel. We had a very nice room, with some intriguing features - such as the little telescopes built int the walls pointing out local features (smokestacks from the local tannery ...etc).

The affiliated restaurant is a stones throw away, and was good, if basic. Serving the wines that are madehere. Breakfaast was great!

It is very close to the town centre, and not at all rural, which was our one main problem with the place! But that is more persona than anything else. All in all an excellent choice, for something just a little bit different!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Different, in a positive way, due to the architecture, the hotel is a gem. Unfortunately my stay was only for one night, I wished I could have stayed longer due to the atmosphere of the hotel and professional staff (did not have the time to try the complimentary wine – shame!). The rooms are a delight to stay in, large, clean & quiet. The breakfast fare, which is mainly local delicacies of cheese, salami etc. was absolutely fantastic! Albeit Bra is in the correct gourmet area, I was pleasantly surprised by the breakfast. Another point – price – I consider this to be high value for money. This modern architecture hotel is actually placed upon the production facilities. Check out their web-site for details of the hotel. I can safely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank That-was-then
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We have spent almost a week in the albergo Ascheri by the end of July 2010 and it was a truly great experience. The hotel is an eye-catching mix of steel, concrete, wood and glass. The rooms are large, clean and well equipped. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful, neither too casual nor too obsequious. They speak French and English, and are always there to help. The town of Bra might not be the most exciting spot in the Langhe region but this hotel makes it a perfect place to start exploring the surrounding hills!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmmmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews