We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cycling in Bormio - You Got to Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Larice Bianco
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The cycling around Bormio is unbelievable. A group of nine of us stayed at the Hotel Larice Bianco for three nights at the end of June. When we return to ride again we WILL stay there. The staff was incredibly friendly, the facilities outstanding and the food after a long day of riding was excellent. Highly recommend this place. If you stay there you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 356 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I can give this hotel a rating off 10/10.

Everything was great and surely ok.

The rooms where ok and clean, service in restaurant was ok, in the bar was ok, good parking at the back off the hotel, very well located bcas i go for biking stelvio and others ...

The family sosio take good care off us.

I surely go back and recommend others to take this hotel.

Oraya & Marc

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heerser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I travelled to Bormio on Friday 31 May to stay 3 nights at the Hotel Larice Bianco and take part in the Grandfondo Stelvio Santini on 2 June 2013. Arriving late on Friday I was made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, although I was too late to eat I was directed to a number of restarants in the town which is only a very short walk. The location of the hotel was perfect and both the Gavia Pass and Stelvio pass were easily accessible to climb on my bike, the coffee served in reception was the best I have had for a long time!!

The hotel had ample bike storage facilities and a small selection of tools / pumps etc, the room is used as a ski storage / boot room during the ski season and is located pretty much at the bottom of a local ski lift / run

I travelled on my own to participate in the event and was made to feel incredibly welcome at this lovey hotel, it's never great travelling alone but the hospitality made me forget I was on my own, the genuine friendliness of the Family Sosio and there staff rubs off on the other guests and this made my 3 days spent in Bormio and at The Hotel Larice Bianco a memorable experience and one that will live long in the memory, I will have no hesitation in returning when travelling to the area or recommending the hotel to friends

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John190737190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our small mixed group of skiers and non-skiers arrived after the 13 hour flight and bus trip to Bormio from NYC to be warmly greeted by the Sosio family at the front desk of the Larice Bianco and were informed of a welcome party and dinner for 7:30. Our rooms were ready for our arrival and after ditching the luggage, the group scattered to find food, coffee, ski passes and ski rentals, all within a short walk from the hotel.
The welcome party included frosty glasses of Spumanti and au-dervres and a brief introduction of family members by Frederico, son of the current owner and grandson of the founder of the hotel. Kico and his sister are third generation hosts. Their mom and dad still oversee the operation and I must say this is an incredibly well run resort.
The breakfasts were bountiful with scrambled eggs and meats as well a boiled eggs cooked to order. The coffee machine required some decifering but when each found a setting they liked, we stuck with it all week. Surprising to find a machine that produced a perfect cup of cappicino time after time. Breads, rolls, pastries, cereals and cold cuts rounded out the bountiful morning fare.
The evening meals were superb with a diverse salad bar nightly (great fresh cut tomatoes in February!), three choices of entrees and three main courses (actually the third counting the salad bar) and of course dessert. Many in our group like the selections in the entree menu and ordered two, foregoing the main course. Two stand-outs were the scampied shrimp and cuttle-fish skewers and the pizzocheri, a local dish flat buckwheat pasta and melted parmasean cheeze. Deserts were inventive and visually stimulating.
On Thursday evening, a special dinner was prepared with dozens of warm and cold appetizers served in lieu of regular salad bar. The dinner was composed of regional specialties as was the dessert. All the servers were in regional costume... very entertaining and excellent food.
On the basement level is the ski room where the boot racks are heated to provide warm, boots each morning. This is also the level where you will find the small but pleasant wellness center consisting of a small gym (bicycle and universal machine) and the spa area with 6-person hot-tub, a cold dunk, dry and moist saunas and shower. After a day of skiing and a warm hot tub, it was easy to fall asleep on the lounge chairs.
By now you are probably aware that the principal ski area in Bormio is just about a 100 metes from the back door of the hotel (down a flight of stair in ski boots to the ski room). The mountain has nearly 5900 feet of vertical and run from "peak to creek" is an accomplishment for the strongest of skiers. The lift system is a modern as they come as most of the mountain is accessible by high-speed "bubble quad" chairs. The only downside, was that we skied pretty much everything there multiple times in 2 days.
A day trip to nearby Santa Catarina (early buses from the bottom of the Bormio lift or later ones from the village center bus depot, about a 10 minute walk from the hotel) proved to be an unexpected delight. Santa Catarina has also replace many of the antiquated drag lifts with a new 3-stage 6 person gondola and a high speed bubble quad that services a vast snowy bowl on the opposite side of a ridge from the main front face ski area. My suggestion would be to ski the front face before 1 pm as it is east facing and quickly moves in to shadows after noon. The back bowl remains sunny throughout the day and has untracked powder stashes between the few trails even several days after a recent snow fall.
A unique experience in Bormio is Bagni Vechi, a natural hot spring spa that dates back more than two thousand years to Roman times. One small basilica shaped building has been in more-or-less continuous use over that time. Most of the rest of the spa dates from Victorian era construction. Highlights include the water-fall massage room, the scented relaxation rooms and the 150 foot long warm-water grotto. I enjoyed the naturally heated out-door pool with moden bubble massage jets, especially with the Bormio ski mountain in the background and the snow falling!
A trip to the area would not be complete without at least one day to nearby (1 hour) Lavignio. This area is a vast horzontally as Bormio is vast vertically. With 37 mostly modern lifts and 105 km of trails, this large area cannot be skied in a day. Since I was last there in 2001, they have built three new lift systems have opened up new areas for skiers on both sides of the valley and a huge back bowl that was previously only accessible by drag lift.
On the morning of our extremely early 4 am departure, a nearly complete buffet was provided us, a parting gift from the Sosios.

Room Tip: All 42 rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alps_skiing_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We cannot find enough superlatives to praise the family who own and run this hotel. We have had a pretty traumatic week due to an unfortunate fall by my husband on the ski slopes and Kiko (sorry Kiko if the spelling is wrong!), Mara and their parents have gone beyond the call of duty to help us from delivering one of their cell phones to the hospital so my husband and I could communicate with each other to coming to the hospital to help translate what the doctors were saying plus so very much more. We couldn't have managed without them and we can't thank them enough.
The hotel itself is in a perfect.location for the ski slopes (100metres) and for town (250m) and offers really comfortable and clean accommodation plus great evening meals with superb wine at really reasonable prices. The midweek banquet night food is incredible - especially the 'starte' buffet. Everyone in the hotel is extremely friendly, professional and obliging and Kiko and Mara particularly speak very good English. We had interconnecting rooms for us and our 2 boys of 12 and 11, almost a suite with a hall in-between the rooms plus 2 bathrooms, and very importantly, one with a bath - vital when skiing!
Bormio's skiing is excellent for intermediate skiers, probably a little challenging for beginners and those who haven't skied much. It's high too so good snow. Additionally it is so cheap eating out versus other European resorts we have been to in Austria and Switzerland; 3 euros for 2 Americano coffees!!!!!!!
It is a bit of a drag from Milan but well worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant Christmas at this hotel, particularly the great food which began with a good choice of buffet starters and working it's way through a sensibly portioned meat/fish course and followed by cheese and/or dessert. The Christmas Eve Meal took this all up a notch, with such a choice of tempting buffet starters that we struggled to finish all the other courses. Somehow we managed - it was Christmas! Our one niggle was the piped "muzak" which repeated on an endless loop and really irritated by the end of the meal. Otherwise we have nothing but praise for the hotel; ski-convenient, spotless rooms, comfortable bar and lounge and very well-managed by the Sosio family. The owners were very helpful when our luggage went astray at the airport and we had to track down some reasonably priced replacement clothes in an unfamiliar town. The complementary spa room was a much appreciated bonus, although ideally there could be a bit more space for the equipment in the gym room. Unfortunately we were not safe from the muzak here either. All in all this hotel is warmly recommended - although it was rather quiet at Christmas, making it all a bit low key.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueCisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the 5th year our group of 20 + has stayed at this 3* hotel. Family run, Dad, Mum, son and daughter, service is 1st class and personal but not smothering. Dinner is excellent, served by staff who know their job - honestly it should be 4*. Wednesday is banquet night and it is a tremendous evening with 4 courses least! Wine menu very good and not pricey. Our rooms were great - plenty of storage, a balcony to chill the drinks! There is a really big lounge sitting area with a grand piano, so we gathered there each night and had a sing-in with one of our group on the guitar and a wannabe piano player. So we didn't have to go out at night. The situation of the hotel is only 100 yards from the ski lift, so no buses involved - you can be on the slopes in 10 mins. What more could you want? By the way it has a wellness centre if you want to take a day off.

Room Tip: I asked for soft pillows and got them immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bormio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Genzianella
Hotel La Genzianella
#1 of 41 in Bormio
1,082 reviews
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo Rini
Agriturismo Rini
#3 of 41 in Bormio
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Funivia
Hotel Funivia
#9 of 41 in Bormio
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baita dei Pini
Hotel Baita dei Pini
#4 of 41 in Bormio
918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Lorenzo
Hotel San Lorenzo
#6 of 41 in Bormio
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rezia Hotel
Rezia Hotel
#16 of 41 in Bormio
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Larice Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Larice Bianco

Address: Via Funivie N_ 10, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Bormio
Price Range: $152 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Larice Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three star hotel in Bormio located 100mt from the cabin lifts, its position is excellent being close to the ski slopes and the lift facilities.Our 45 bedrooms, panorami standard - panoramic superior e Family rooms , are all equipped with their own balcony where guests can sunbathe and enjoy a splendid view over our mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Larice Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing