We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Genzianella
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Of course there are more luxury places, cheaper or more expensive, value for money, etc. But in terms of atmosphere and hospitality this is probably the best place. My wife and I spent two weeks in this hotel in Jan 13, and I must say it feels like home there. Special thanks to Federica and Marta!!!!
And when you stay there never let yourself miss a dinner that, thanks to chef, is probably the best in Bormio (yes, we had dinner outside too, but that was a wrong choice)!
The rooms are good, hotel is quiet, there's a stove in a lobby that heats it in the evenings, spacious parking and a lot of hospitality and that very special attitude that makes a difference between just a good hotel and the best one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evgeny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We found this hotel by accident when looking for somewhere to stay so we could climb the Stelvio Pass.
The hotel itself looked great and the location was perfect, so when we discovered that it was a bike hotel we didn't hesitate in booking.
In actual fact the hotel is even better than it looks on the website.
It is easy to find, if a bit of a drive from Malpensa, plenty of car parking and fantastic spacious bike room. Bikes are suspended from the front wheel to maximise space and there is complimentary use of tools, lubricants, hose pipe should your pride and joy get dirty.
The room is accessed with a key card and is under CCTV surveillance all the time.
It's not only the bikes that enjoy fantastic accommodation, the rest of the hotel is very cozy alpine chic and the rooms are warm and comfortable. Nestled at the foot of the mountains our balcony overlooked the Bormio downhill ski run, whilst behind us were the towering mountains containing the Stelvio.
The buffet breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice to fuel up for a day in the mountains.
On returning to the hotel dirty cycling kit is placed in a mesh bag and dropped off outside the laundry. Next morning it can be collected clean and dry after breakfast, perfect!
We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here in September in this gorgeous, warm, family-run alpine hotel and would return in a heartbeat.

The interiors are so welcoming - warm reds and whites, lots of exposed wood.

Don't miss the sauna/relaxation area in the basement - perfect to relax the old muscles after hiking/biking around Bormio.

Dinner was brilliant - having the all-you-can-eat vegetable buffet is a great idea that should be adopted in hotels and establishments worldwide as a step against the obesity epidemic. Very hearty, honest, high quality food cooked with care.

Breakfast was amazing - not a huge spread, but the items there were of very high quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aforestsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We've been hearing about Genzianella for several years from our daughter & her Italian husband- finally we went there in Aug. It was perfect in every way-it was spotlessly clean -beautiful linens, lovely service of every kind & the dining room service was beyond beautiful. We were so sorry to leave and surely hope we get to return soon. The staff the mom, the adult children
we're fabulous & so thoughtful of all of their guests needs. thank you Genzianella - you are Gem! ---- and better than many 5 star hotels in which we have stayed.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank sharonomcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is run by a family. They really understand the guest's needs and take great effort in satisfying the guest. Good rooms, great breakfast and the dinner is also good.
Location is fine for all kind of sports. Towncentre is quite nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geert13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The descriptions and reviews of this hotel are correct; this is one of the nicest hotels that we have stayed at over the last few years. We are hikers, not cyclists, and had a great stay in Bormio-Livigno thanks to the staff at the La Genzianella. You know you are staying somewhere special as soon as you walk up to the hotel. The grounds are pleasant with flower plantings and chairs/benches for outside relaxation. Inside, you are greeted by friendly and "nothing is too hard to do" family staff members. There is an aroma-therapy "air" in the hotel lobby and bar and also available in the rooms. Its the little things and the attention to detail that we noticed that make this an exceptional hotel. The stylish setting, music and decor in the restaurant all contributed to a pleasant atmosphere, the daily fresh table linen in the restaurant for breakfast and supper, the range of breakfast selections (hot and cold), the strong coffee (delicious), asking if you would like additional pasta at supper, the quality of the main courses, and the range and quality of the desserts (small portions encouraging you to try several each meal). The hotel is conveniently located just across the road from the Selvio downhill ski piste (the gondola is a few minutes down the road), and a short walk (five minutes) from the City center. The hotel gave us a guest card allowing free travel on the local buses (Bormio, Livigno, Santa Caterina) which allowed us to make the most of the hiking opportunities. The hotel was the center for a charity fund-raising cycling event involving up to 150 people for several days during our visit. Even though things were clearly very busy (an understatement), the staff maintained their relaxed and confident manner and continued to provide excellent service. On our last morning, the owner of the hotel provided us with a taxi to the bus station. Thank you Family Andreola for a great vacation stay in Bormio. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed last week in La Genzianella, and altough we travel a lot, this is certainly one of the best hotels we ever stayed.
The web-site is beautiful, but the reality is even much better : First of all the very friendly ànd correct way of acting of ALL the familly members & personel, without beiing obtrusive, to make you enjoy your stay the best possible way.
The very stylish look ànd cleaningness of the hotel, everywere you go. The increadable breakfast! Ahhh, wonderful, the perfect egg's, so many sorts of bread, tastefull céreales and yougurt ... really a dream. Also dinner was always wonderfull, a lot of variation, and excellent wines for affordable prices.
A really nice garden, with benches in the sun, to enjoy a drink after a good ride, or before dinner.
For cycling fanates : the best bike storage immaginable, with repair tools and cleaning facilities, and they even wash your dirty bike clotes every day, so you have space in your luggage to take that nice dress for the evening ;-) Also very good location for starting a lot of cycling tours & climbs, and a short walk from the nice centre of Bormio.
2 examples how extraordinairy this hotel is : We booked 4 massages, wich were véry good, but only the massage lady was a little bit late due to heavy traffic : they only calculates 3 massages at the end !!! Increadible these days!
2nd thing : At the end of our stay, we got 2 bottles of wine from Federica, just like that.
A terriffic end of a wonderfull vacation.
Thank you all at La Genzianella, warmly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bormio hotels
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Rini
Agriturismo Rini
#3 of 41 in Bormio
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baita dei Pini
Hotel Baita dei Pini
#4 of 41 in Bormio
883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Lorenzo
Hotel San Lorenzo
#5 of 41 in Bormio
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rezia Hotel
Rezia Hotel
#14 of 41 in Bormio
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Larice Bianco
Hotel Larice Bianco
#2 of 41 in Bormio
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Funivia
Hotel Funivia
#10 of 41 in Bormio
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Genzianella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Genzianella

Address: Via Zandilla 6, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bormio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bormio
#1 Family Hotel in Bormio
#2 Business Hotel in Bormio
Price Range: $97 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Genzianella 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just few steps from the centre of Bormio and the Bormio 2000 cable-car, this elegant hotel welcomes you in a warm atmosphere blending art of living and Alpine tradition. La Genzianella offers a tastefully decorated guest rooms, all elegantly furnished and equipped with modern amenities and facilities. Great care and attention are taken in the preparation of the hotel menu to make your dining at the Genzianella a wonderful culinary experience. La Genzianella is an official Bike Hotel Alta Rezia and offers special bike facilities for bikers, such as safe storage room and laundry service for sportswear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Genzianella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Genzianella Hotel
La Genzianella Bormio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing