We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is it that this hotel has only 3 *** ???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Genzianella
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
“Why is it that this hotel has only 3 *** ???”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed last week in La Genzianella, and altough we travel a lot, this is certainly one of the best hotels we ever stayed.
The web-site is beautiful, but the reality is even much better : First of all the very friendly ànd correct way of acting of ALL the familly members & personel, without beiing obtrusive, to make you enjoy your stay the best possible way.
The very stylish look ànd cleaningness of the hotel, everywere you go. The increadable breakfast! Ahhh, wonderful, the perfect egg's, so many sorts of bread, tastefull céreales and yougurt ... really a dream. Also dinner was always wonderfull, a lot of variation, and excellent wines for affordable prices.
A really nice garden, with benches in the sun, to enjoy a drink after a good ride, or before dinner.
For cycling fanates : the best bike storage immaginable, with repair tools and cleaning facilities, and they even wash your dirty bike clotes every day, so you have space in your luggage to take that nice dress for the evening ;-) Also very good location for starting a lot of cycling tours & climbs, and a short walk from the nice centre of Bormio.
2 examples how extraordinairy this hotel is : We booked 4 massages, wich were véry good, but only the massage lady was a little bit late due to heavy traffic : they only calculates 3 massages at the end !!! Increadible these days!
2nd thing : At the end of our stay, we got 2 bottles of wine from Federica, just like that.
A terriffic end of a wonderfull vacation.
Thank you all at La Genzianella, warmly recommended !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    81
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
286
357
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Not many places are even better on returning but this hotel is a stylish, friendly place with fabulous food and the best bike storage facilities I have come across. The perfect base for a cycling holiday at the foot of Passo dello Stelvio and a short walk into Bormio centre. At-home chic with a can-do "non c'è problema" approach. Unlimited superb food including offers of seconds; free wifi to upload to Strava; free kit-wash. Go there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank repsychlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

my second stay for two nights as part of pre-arrange cycling tour. unfortunately, i broke my collar bone cycling. the owner herself came up to my room and meticulously packed my clothes like my own mother. the service is better than the world's best five star hotels: george v, cipriani, villa d'este, or hotel splendido -- typically where i stay. for u wine lovers they still have some 2005 sassicaia left. huge fan of this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snownyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for three nights as part of an organised cycling group. I knew in advance about the great facilities like the bike workshop, secure storage and free kit washing service, but I was not prepared for the fantastic service and helpfulness of the staff who run the place. I needed gluten-free food and nothing was too much trouble for them to get it for me. Everything was clean, comfortable, efficient and well organised.

Only minor downsides are that the rooms can be a little bit warm in summer, and there is a bit of neighbourhood noise until about 11pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jslonisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makeni, Sierra Leone
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent service, hotel serves a very good breakfast in nice atmosphere and also a delicious five course dinner (in large portions for cyclists). Like the extra service (free washing for cyclists) and very friendly staff. Located very close to centre.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wermelskirchen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Genzianella is one of the best Hotel we ever stayed.

The Hotel has a really good style (classic meets modern) and it is very professionell and friendly managed. All is very clean and the Service in all is absolute good. It has a very good and lovely Bikeroom :-) and a daily Wash Service for your Bike- or Sportclothes!! And that was for us soooo a great and helpful feature!

The Breakfast was really "perfetto" and "many-sided". The Dinner was Top, too. We enjoyed it.

Thanks to Fam. Andreola for the perfect and nice Holydays... :)

Grüße from Germany
Doris & Marc

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcSmidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Limburg, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Whe stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago , for cycling . Only one word for the hotel .....TOP
We run cycle trips all over Europe and Hotel La Genzianella is simply the best hotel we use. Fede, Marta and family make you so welcome with a attention to detail that is second to none.
Greetings from ,

Bic , Marc , Urbain , Peter and Erik

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bormio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baita dei Pini
Hotel Baita dei Pini
#4 of 41 in Bormio
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Funivia
Hotel Funivia
#5 of 41 in Bormio
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Rini
Agriturismo Rini
#3 of 41 in Bormio
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meuble Sertorelli Reit
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Lorenzo
Hotel San Lorenzo
#7 of 41 in Bormio
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Baita Clementi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Genzianella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Genzianella

Property: Hotel La Genzianella
Address: Via Zandilla 6, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bormio
#1 Family Hotel in Bormio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bormio
#2 Business Hotel in Bormio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Genzianella 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just few steps from the centre of Bormio and the Bormio 2000 cable-car, this elegant hotel welcomes you in a warm atmosphere blending art of living and Alpine tradition. La Genzianella offers a tastefully decorated guest rooms, all elegantly furnished and equipped with modern amenities and facilities. Great care and attention are taken in the preparation of the hotel menu to make your dining at the Genzianella a wonderful culinary experience. La Genzianella is an official Bike Hotel Alta Rezia and offers special bike facilities for bikers, such as safe storage room and laundry service for sportswear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Genzianella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Genzianella Hotel
La Genzianella Bormio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing