We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Genzianella
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cycling Holiday”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place is ideal for a cycling trip in the Dolomite / Italian Alps cycling holiday. We stayed just two days, and only got to ride the Stelvio but was worth the effort. The hotel is perfectly situated in the town, at the base of the Stelvio and as far as I could tell, most everyone there was cycling. The breakfast was the best I had on the entire 3 week trip and the staff were very accommodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confedunce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    79
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
275
345
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at La Genzianella for 4 nights in July 2013 and loved every minute of it. The hotel is a 5 minute stroll to the village which was ideal for us as close enough to access the village but far enough away to be nice and peaceful. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there is a real family feel to the hotel. The hotel was spotless and the rooms are a good size and the bike room is well equppied, spacious and very secure - I had no qualms about leaving my top end bike there. The stand out though was the food, dinner is up to 4 courses and the food is of a very high standard - a rustic, homestyle feel to it and truly delicious. I doubt the local restaurants would be any match for this. Equally breakfast is very generous and offers plenty of variety. All up this is a great hotel and I woudln't think twice about recommending it and would definitely stay there again given the chance!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

located in a quiet surrounding with beautiful scenery is already very pleasant but then.........
very kind staff, excellent food ( vegetarians eat your heart out!) and speciale facilities for cyclist;
in one word: superb

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wouter112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the La Genzianella for three nights at the beginning of July and have absolutely no complaints. From our arrival to departure we found all the staff to be friendly, the hotel spotlessly clean and the atmosphere and décor of the hotel had a lovely alpine feel. The food was exceptional. We ate out one night and regretted it as it was no comparison to the restaurant at Genzianella. There is a good choice of local wines, the pasta dishes were delicious and the selection of sweets very good. The staff made us feel very welcome and if we do return to Bormio winter or summer will mostly definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Alpine charm recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GA2468Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent service, very friendly and charming owners and staff.
They make everyone feel as if they are the special guest. A kind smile and word be it early in the morning or late at night (we've stayed their for 4 neights, so have experience of both ;-).
Extra services as washing your bike kit overnight and free sauna gives a surplus.
Excellent meals, plenty of choice and we could even get an extra portion of the main course (of 5).
The staff manages well to cope with several groups of hungry bikers and hikers at almost the same time (we all like to start early when we have to climb Stelvio, Mortirollo, Gavia and others, and have a good apetite afterwards).
The rooms are well sized and very clean.
As said in other reviews very nice and well equiped bike room.
Nice and spacious bar, clearly a fine women taste that took care of the cosy interior.
The hotel is not far from the center, but quiet at night.
But, I have to emphasis this, our three hostess and their staff really made us feel great.
Youric

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank youric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I have been traveling through the Dolomites on a cycling tour for the past 8 days and this has been the best hotel by far. The family proprietors have definitely made an effort to cater to cyclists, but this should not dissuade normal (non-cycling) people from staying at Gentzianella.

The kitchen produces a fabulous three course meal every night with 4 or five options for each course. Service during the dinner is efficient without being too cold - staff are easily able to deal with the antics of my traveling companions!

Rooms are clean with most having a balcony to enjoy the views of snow capped mountains.

Now some comments relevant to the cycling fraternity:

I am envious of the bike storage and workshop area. We have not come across anything like it in our travels. Keycard access provides good security for those wanting to bring their carbon fibre indulgence on tour.

The hotel also offers a washing facility where they will take a washing bag of guest cycling clothes every day for cleaning. What a great idea! The owners understand that by doing the little extras they leave guests with a good impression of the hotel.

I would defintely choose to stay here again in future. In fact, I would make sure I could get a room at Hotel Gentzianella before I booked my flights to Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel on a long weekend cycling and was really impressed by it. The rooms were good and all seemed to have balconies with views of the surrounding mountains. There is a great bike room and they even wash your kit overnight. The food is excellent - delicious, healthy and plentiful. However this would all count for nothing with such great staff - they are all so friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They may not be able to cycle you up the hills but the hotel is a great place to relax after a day in the saddle. I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bormio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baita dei Pini
Hotel Baita dei Pini
#4 of 41 in Bormio
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Larice Bianco
Hotel Larice Bianco
#1 of 41 in Bormio
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Rini
Agriturismo Rini
#3 of 41 in Bormio
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Funivia
Hotel Funivia
#5 of 41 in Bormio
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Lorenzo
Hotel San Lorenzo
#6 of 41 in Bormio
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meuble Sertorelli Reit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Genzianella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Genzianella

Property: Hotel La Genzianella
Address: Via Zandilla 6, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bormio
#1 Family Hotel in Bormio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bormio
#2 Business Hotel in Bormio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Genzianella 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just few steps from the centre of Bormio and the Bormio 2000 cable-car, this elegant hotel welcomes you in a warm atmosphere blending art of living and Alpine tradition. La Genzianella offers a tastefully decorated guest rooms, all elegantly furnished and equipped with modern amenities and facilities. Great care and attention are taken in the preparation of the hotel menu to make your dining at the Genzianella a wonderful culinary experience. La Genzianella is an official Bike Hotel Alta Rezia and offers special bike facilities for bikers, such as safe storage room and free laundry service for sportswear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Genzianella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Genzianella Hotel
La Genzianella Bormio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing