We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel. Why stay anywhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Genzianella
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at La Genzianella in July 2012 as part of a cycling tour. This was the second time for some members of our travelling group. La Genzianella is the pride of its owners and shows in the presentation and operation of the hotel. Rooms and facilities are well appointed, clean and modern. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The bike room is enormous and well equipped. I couldn't fault La Genzianella on any level and can't wait to return. Well done La Genzianella.

Room Tip: All rooms have stair and lift access. The hotel is set back off the road and is quiet. Travellers wi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Genzianella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

We made a return trip to La Genzianella in June of 2012 and it was as memorable as our first trip a year earlier.
In the summer Bormio is a home for cyclists -- the Stelvio, Gavia, and Mortirolo climbs, to name a few, are right out the front door. There are a handful of hotels in town that cater to cyclists but I cannot imagine any place matching La Genzianella.
The setting, staff, rooms, and food -- everything --- is excellent. The facilities for cyclists are great - safe and secure bike room; tools; overnight turn around of laundry; great and plentiful meals. There are also city bikes available for a fun ride around town for those interested in a less serious type of cycling.
In particular I have to compliment the wonderful staff. We had issues with the delivery of our bikes due to Italian customs but they were extremely patient and instrumental in helping us resolve the situation. (Note: DO NOT attempt to ship your bikes from the US to Italy unless you enjoy dealing with Italian bureaucracy.)
This was our second trip to La Genzianella but we are already looking forward to our next trip. Many thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanDeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

After my 5th visit there are many reasons to come back to visit the family at Hotel La Genzianella. The friendliness of the staff, their local knowledge and professionalism, mixes easily with the family atmosphere and their willingness to accommodate all ages. From waking to enjoy a superb buffet breakfast, to enjoying the local surrounds on the complimentary bikes, or perhaps a walk, with breathtaking views of the local valleys. An indulgent trip to the local spas, a touch of shopping or mountain biking, is then finished with a four course dinner with fresh local produce, always ensures we head to bed happy!
I would thoroughly reccomend a stay for couples, families, bikers, skiers, etc as we have enjoyed all of these over the past few years. Summer or winter, hotel La Genzianella gets 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lysh_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay ath the Hotel La Genzianella, run by a wonderful family with friendly, welcoming staff. After some difficult & long days out cycling in the mountains, we would come back to the hotel with it's welcoming surrounds & friendly staff who were always interested in how our day had been. And as for the evening meals, well it was fine dining at it's best....YUM!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Can only confirm the praise that other reviewers have heaped on this hotel. We were touring the main mountain passes of Switzerland and Italy by car and stayed in some excellent hotels but this was the best. We were made so welcome, the accommodation was excellent, the food delicious and all at a very reasonable price. What more could anyone want?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed with a group of 22 (!) cyclist and all the other reviews are totally coorect: simply the best
Family and staff: thank you

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurko1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our stay at La Genzianella was beyond our expectations. From the moment we arrived, we felt so welcome and the Andreola family couldn't have been better hosts. They were always available to answer questions, make recommendations and ensure that we were comfortable. We stayed with our 12-year old daughter in a Family Charme suite, which was perfect. Everything is top notch and they take great pride in keeping the hotel and grounds in pristine condition. We truly enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and amazing dinners, along with great local wines. Bormio is one of our new favorite places and we hope to go back again! We went the Bormio Terme and the Bagni Vecchi and highly recommend both.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiefromdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bormio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baita dei Pini
Hotel Baita dei Pini
#4 of 41 in Bormio
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Funivia
Hotel Funivia
#7 of 41 in Bormio
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Larice Bianco
Hotel Larice Bianco
#2 of 41 in Bormio
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Rini
Agriturismo Rini
#3 of 41 in Bormio
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Lorenzo
Hotel San Lorenzo
#6 of 41 in Bormio
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meuble Sertorelli Reit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Genzianella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Genzianella

Address: Via Zandilla 6, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bormio
#1 Family Hotel in Bormio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bormio
#2 Business Hotel in Bormio
Price Range: $114 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Genzianella 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just few steps from the centre of Bormio and the Bormio 2000 cable-car, this elegant hotel welcomes you in a warm atmosphere blending art of living and Alpine tradition. La Genzianella offers a tastefully decorated guest rooms, all elegantly furnished and equipped with modern amenities and facilities. Great care and attention are taken in the preparation of the hotel menu to make your dining at the Genzianella a wonderful culinary experience. La Genzianella is an official Bike Hotel Alta Rezia and offers special bike facilities for bikers, such as safe storage room and laundry service for sportswear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Genzianella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Genzianella Hotel
La Genzianella Bormio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing