We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cycling week in Bormio”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stelvio Pass

Stelvio Pass
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Cycling week in Bormio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

highest pass in italy
very beautiful scenery
very tough to climb from both sides same day
pitty for all the commerce on the top

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    178
    29
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“7 am job!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Well we did about 10 different passes in alps this time and left this one for the last, as the best... well it was rated, by somebody (top gear...?!) and let me tell you, if you wanna clean nice drive then leave the latest at 7 am! we stayed at the hot spot of a hotel, 46th corner, trafoi town (it's perfect place to start the climb up to the top) and thought we had it covered! oh my god we were wrong!! everyone was in the way, bikes, big cars, cyclists, etc... 7.30-8am is the latest you should leave if you wanna good drive with a nice car of course! otherwise, dont bother...klausen, furka, fluella, even umbrail, and some other passes are much better, more quite and good road surfaces!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Aggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tough climb.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great climb out of Bormio, tough coming back the other way but so iconic! Pack warm kit for the descent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Epic climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

5400 feet in just 14.5 miles. Snow at the top; giant waterfalls; cows with cowbells ringing throughout the day. Epic!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank confedunce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“check it off your bucket list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The people who ride this pass on bicycles are heroes! We rode on a motorcycle and it was a great experience. We went from Bormio to Stelvio and think this is the better direction, as the climb up from Bormio is a two step climb while the climb down the other side is basically one shot and visible from the top.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank elvistoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stelvio Pass also viewed

Bormio, Province of Sondrio
Bormio, Province of Sondrio
 
Bormio, Province of Sondrio
Bormio, Province of Sondrio
 

Been to Stelvio Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing