We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have Caterham, will travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stelvio Pass

Stelvio Pass
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Have Caterham, will travel”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

As a confirmed Petrol head I always enjoy my visits to Stelvio, this was my third go at it, my second in my own Caterham. Wonderful

http://youtu.be/Du_dU3vogrc

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank VinnieVX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    945
    178
    29
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Planning The Trip”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Anyone that has travelled from the UK advise on the best route over? Euro tunnel - France - Switz or Ferry - Germany - Italy also any must have places to rest your head on route?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We drove from Interlaken to drive down then up this pass. We left at 9am and got back at 12:30am and it was worth it, a million times over it was worth it. And I only did it in a Ford Focus.

Once we reached the pass from the Swiss side (at the top) it took 40 mins to drive down. The views as you drive this pass are superb. It is quite a test of endurance, both for driver and car. 48 hairpins is quite a distance and over 1000 vertical meters in height difference between the top and the bottom. My brakes were hot at the bottom!

Then we drove back up. Another 40 mins and pure driving joy.

There is food, drink, souvenirs and toilets at the top.

If you love driving you have to drive this road at least once in your life!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantasic Views at 3000 meters + World War 1 history”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Lovely area for a day walk at over 3000 meters - make sure to have lots of time and bring warm clothes it can get very cold very fast - best is you can drive up to the high hiking area - maps are not perfect for the longer walk need to improvise a bit to maximize the walks - great for pictures. Lots of old fortifications from World War 1 that is very interesting – one of the better day walks I have done

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrLifeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

It lived up to its reputation. Just do it !
We did it in an open top MX5, and liked it so much went back the next day and did it all again , both ways

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AandDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stelvio Pass also viewed

Bormio, Province of Sondrio
Bormio, Province of Sondrio
 
Bormio, Province of Sondrio
Bormio, Province of Sondrio
 

Been to Stelvio Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing