We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grateful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monsignor Della Casa Country Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hendaye
1 review
“A grateful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Wonderful stay last April. Kind people and nice place. Beautiful and cozy appartment, clean and with good facilities. Cool ! quiet place and close to Florence, easy acces by train from Borgo sta, no car needed !

Room Tip: Giotto calm and spacious for 5 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    61
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
119
153
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just wanted to express our sincere appreciation for such a glorious stay at Monsignor! From the moment we arrived, until our departure, staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. Our villa was so charming, was well heated (we were there in the middle of Winter), clean and gorgeously presented down to the final details. Wood was of ample supply for the fire if desired. Information on activities nearby was well provided and explained. We were so happy to have stayed, we highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to stay in the region and hope to visit again in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband, daughter and I have recently returned from a wonderful holiday in Tuscany where we spent 8 nights at Monsignor Della Casa Country Resort.
This was our first visit to this resort and we would definitely recommend it.
We were delighted to find the resort and our house were as shown and detailed on the web site. The web site pictures give a good reflection of the beauty of the resort and of the accommodation. Our accommodation was a beautiful spacious Tuscan decorated house (Beato Angelico) which was very clean (and cleaned well with fresh towels, linen and bottled water provided each day). It was well appointed and had it's own garden with sun loungers, table and chairs.
The resort has an excellent restaurant which provided delicious food and wine with an additional menu of local food each night. Unfortunately it is closed 2 nights of the week but there is a good supermarket a short drive away in Borgo San Lorenzo. There is also a station here with parking and a good train service to Florence.
We found all the staff to be very friendly and very helpful. They gave us details of places to visit and activities including cookery classes, wine tasting, and cycle maps. (The resort provides bikes and helmets).
There is a good spa and well equipped gym, outdoor swimming pools and tennis courts. The surrounding countryside is picturesque and ideal for walking and cycling.
We would definitely visit this resort again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived with 'great' expectations having seen wonderful pictures and a general 'luxury' resort feel. Therefore, our expectations were not met.

This is a 'nice' resort. Somewhere that you will enjoy if you like the rustic feel; not too fussy on being so hot you can't sleep; don't mind some overpriced food options and just want to use it as a base to go and visit some lovely cities.

Apologies if that sounds a little negative when you read other reviews, however, the villas require updating and they are so hot that you have to leave them in complete darkness all day long (which isn't really much fun!)

The villas with 'private' pools are overlooked by the restaurant and therefore in the evening, if you want to relax, you are observed by those in the restaurant and inevitably the adults let their kids go wherever they want - and the pool is a natural attraction. This means that you don't get the 'privacy' of a private villa!

As I mentioned earlier, it gets very, very hot and there is no airconditioning. The family didn't sleep for a week which of course led to quite a bit of grumpiness - not ideal on holiday. There is air-conditioning in some of the apartments - it is therefore obviously acknowledged that it is required.

These guys get booked up very in advance with many return visitors. The staff are lovely and very friendly but the resort itself is just not up to the standards my family expect. You have to pay extra to have villas cleaned (when they are already priced at quite a premium for their very out of the way location) and sheets were not changed which is very difficult in such oppressive heat.

In summary, to those who have had a fab time - I believe their reviews totally. It just wasn't so 'fab' for us.

Room Tip: If you want a 'private' villa with a pool, make sure you ask for one away from the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelavectweens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I, along with our 2 daughters aged 11 and 14 stayed here from the 18th August 2012 for 2 weeks. We had the Guardia apartment which was spacious, spotless and lovely. The only point I would make is that the accommodation is on 2 floors and our first week was very hot and there is no air con in this apartment so a bit hot at night in the upstairs bedroom!

The resort is small enough to feel intimate, but there are enough people around to give it atmosphere and ambiance. The staff are attentive, well trained and eager to help. The food in the restaurant is great value and super quality. There was a good mix of people with English, French, German and Dutch families and all very friendly!

The location is deal and we explored. Florence, Pisa, Lucca and drove through Chianti to Sienna (wonderful).

We did not want to leave and would not hesitate to return! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All accommodation looked really good, being stone built converted barns and the like. Just go for as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here for one week in June 2012 - comfortable clean and spacious rooms with beautiful outdoor seating - excellent restaurant on site (only open 5 nights!) and fantastic breakfasts if required. Two pools one of which very tranquil (no kids) and great setting - spa and gym on site too although these must be booked!! An hour from Florence. Staff very friendly just wonderful hospitality. Lovely old villages to explore within a few minutes drive. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1507HWalshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The moment to step out of your car you experience wonderful country hospitality.
From the lovely fresh linen to the traditional meals in the restaurant, the staff are friendly and helpful. Make sure you stay at least 3 nights and take the train into Florence.

Room Tip: Rooms vary to suit all from hotel style to family units which are self catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255100Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgo San Lorenzo
Locanda degli artisti
#2 of 2 in Borgo San Lorenzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Relais Pian d'Ercole
#1 of 1 in Montebonello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsignor Della Casa Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsignor Della Casa Country Resort

Property: Monsignor Della Casa Country Resort
Address: Via di Mucciano 7 | Borgo San Lorenzo, 50032, Borgo San Lorenzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Borgo San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Borgo San Lorenzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monsignor Della Casa Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 27km north of Florence, in Mugello valley, a Country Resort furnished in the most classical Tuscan style where you can enjoy swimming-pools, tennis court, Tuscan kitchen at its Restaurant and you can relax in its Spa with Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam bath and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monsignor Della Casa Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monsignor Della Casa Country Hotel Borgo San Lorenzo
Monsignor Della Casa Country Resort Borgo San Lorenzo, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing