We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Holiday
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Royal(Bolsena)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Restaurant Lido(Bolsena)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ai Platani Hotel Bolsena Lake(Bolsena)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Naiadi(Bolsena)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
$149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VesConte B&B(Bolsena)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
120
80
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
80
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelexcellent positionwalking holidaylake bolsenaone nightlakeside hotelstayed nightsother hotelsgood sizestayed longervia francigenawonderful placeweddingrometownnotchfare
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 217 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Magical setting on the edge of the lake, with absolutely superb views.
The edge was taken off our stay by the Officious instructions - strictly forbidden to take room towels to pool - need to rent or buy! And the need to wear a cap in the pool -available €4!
Otherwise the hotel is fine. Make sure you make the effort to walk around the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had simply a lovely visit at Hotel Holiday. The views of the lake are perfect, food was great, and the service (especially Edie, a beautiful woman who took such good care of us) impeccable. Everyone was so eager to serve and provide all the resources we needed. It is a perfect location for walking and the gorgeous old city and castle on the hill is a great place to walk and investigate. I would highly recommend this Hotel and Bolsena.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

There's not a lot wrong with the hotel really. The lounge could maybe do with another sofa and there are no doubt some who think that there should be pictures on the walls and maybe sun loungers will be over subscribed when the hotel is full but, on the whole, it is a pleasant enough building in a good state of repair and perpetually kept clean and tidy. Our bedroom - 201 - was of a good size with ample storage space and en suite facilities that could not be improved upon. By normal commercial standards a four star rating is probably about right but staying there is certainly a five star experience.

We had a room referred to as having a balcony with part lake view. This confused us a bit but then we learnt that it was only a "part view" because there was a tree in the way - there's honesty for you - though some might think, as we did, that the tree enhanced the view. The balcony is big enough to take a double bed and actually had a table and four chairs. There were three more rooms like ours, 202. 101 and 102.

The location of the room is superb as can be seen from the photos. There is a road between the hotel and the lake shore but is doesn't carry through traffic and is very quiet, particularly at night. Being on the lakeside means that there is about a fifteen minute slightly uphill walk to get to Bolsena town centre. However, there is an hourly bus service - excluding siesta time - from just outside the hotel. The return fare is 1 euro for a journey which has to be completed inside two hours. Alternatively the single fare is 75 cents. On the journey the bus soon gets very close to the town centre and then shoots of to do a tour of the neighbouring countryside which, at first, gave us concern that we were on the wrong bus - but we got there eventually.

Three people make up front of house staff. Mara and Ilaria look after reception and serve from the bar and assist in the restaurant while Edie is in charge of the restaurant and it seems takes care of anything else that needs to be done. Mara speaks adequate English but Ilaria is still on the learning curve. Edie speaks English fluently. Everyone we met on the staff was friendly, pleasant and helpful.

Given that the only thing hot at breakfast time was the water (you make your own tea or coffee) it's probably fair to regard breakfast as Continental. Even so it was far from basic. There was fresh fruit and tinned fruit, cereals, yoghurt, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, fruit juice and a selection of beads and pastries.

Dinner involved four courses with plenty of choice. As an example on our first night we started with "Rolls of ham with fresh cheese" followed by a choice of "Etruscan lasagna, Tagliolini with salmon, Cream of mushrooms or Salad with frankfurter and fried eggs". The main course was a choice of "Lamb cutlets, Fillet of perch, Eggs with mazzarella or Assorted cured meats". Desert would usually be sponge or pastry based and sometimes with cream. The main course was usually served with sauteed potatoes but there was always a substantial buffet of cold vegetables. All the portions were ample without being overpowering and the food was presented attractively. There was a good selection of mainly - as you would expect - Italian wines, most costing 15 euro but a few at 12 euro.

There is a very extensive menu available for lunch which we didn't try.

Because of it's location the hotel is very popular for wedding receptions so some slight disruption might have to be expected on these occasions - well, it seems not everybody loves an Italian wedding.

On our leaving day we overslept and cleared our bedroom with five minutes to spare before our transport was due. By this time the dining room was closed but, without being asked, the hotel insisted that we take a packed breakfast to eat on our way to the airport. As I said at the beginning, a five star experience.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms, they back onto the reception area for functions and, if there is one, put you in the thick of it. Same apply but to a lesser extent to rooms overlooking the pool. Rooms 101,102,201 and 202 are worth paying extra for.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Displaced-tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our comments are very similar to those expressed before; it seems that everyone is made to feel very welcome and special. Our Inghams holiday started with the usual crowds at Rome airport but our transfer to Bolsena went according to plan with Gala loading her bike onto the taxi at Viterbo en route to the hotel. On arrival it turned out we were the only English people in the hotel-in fact being very early in the season the hotel was far from full. However that gave us time to try out some rather basic Italian which caused some confusion and amusement. The staff were top class and cannot be praised highly enough. They were not only friendly and helpful but attended to every need promptly and cheerfully. By the end of our week we were quite sad to leave as it felt as if the staff had become good friends. The night porter was great too and the cleaner was first class with a tremendous smile. The weather varies quite a bit in Bolsena generally as the lake has its own micro climate so the first three days were wet and cold but the remainder of the week was hot with temperatures about 28 degrees. The location of the hotel is excellent being just across the road from the lake with minimal traffic going past. It is a short walk from the hotel to the town and the small harbour but well worth a trip into the old town with its medieval hillside layout. If you do not have transport of your own or are not using excursions laid on by your travel company be prepared to either walk (many very pleasant walks around the area eg via Francigena) or make use of the buses - but do check the time the last bus leaves your destination or you may have a long walk or expensive taxi fare...there is only one taxi in Bolsena apparently! Rome is about 100km or just over and can be reached either by an excursion or by local bus to Viterbo and then train into the city. Siena is about the same distance the other way but a bus trip would take two and a half hours each way; it can be done but why when you have so many beautiful historic cities much closer to Bolsena...Montefiascone, Viterbo, Aquapendente etc
For a holiday somewhat off the beaten track in a part of Italy not yet discovered by the English(please don't tell too many of them) Bolsena is the place to go and Hotel Holiday is the place to stay. Be prepared to try out some Italian!
Mille grazia to all the staff..you were absolutely wonderful!

Room Tip: We had a side room overlooking the swimming pool which was not being used at this early part of the season and were perfectly happy with it. There were views of the lake and harbour as well as of the old town.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

our stay at the holiday was our 6 visit.The service at the hotel is superb from the top to bottom.These people cannot do enough for you.The rooms are good ,with the front facing ,having a view which will live in your memory.I can reccomend you book direct with the owner signora masi as the best price lies there.

Room Tip: front facing best 102 101 201 202 although hard to book due to popularity
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews