We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location at the lake.”
Review of Hotel Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Holiday
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bolsena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a room with a terrace overlooking the lake which was nice. The room itself was good, but nothing special. We paid 240 euro for 2 nights. Friendly staff at the reception. Normal breakfast. We did not have dinner there. Hotel doesn't accept AMEX. No wifi in rooms. Can be a bit noisy as the lake attracts many youngsters. Be aware of the 'zansare' which are numerous at a location like that. Bolsena is quite turistic.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyre2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 215 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

... there are things that don't quite hit the spot. On the positive side the location of the lake front, the pool and the breakfasts are really good.

Its the little things that leave me dissatisfied and which a 4 star hotel shouldn't really get wrong. For example the TV has very poor reception (and according to the reception will be fixed next year when they get a new aerial) and the WiFi is charged for and only available in the reception area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markpjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

What a wonderful place Bolsena is. Hotel Holiday perfectly placed by the lakeside and convenient for the town of Bolsena. Hotel clean and friendly. Reception girls Mara and Iloria were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. In the restaurant Edie the waitress was a delight. She offered unobtrusive service in a quiet and serene way. Always there when needed with help and advice not only on the dishes on the menu but also on what there was to do in the resort. The wines on offer were excellent especially the white Est Est and the red local Merlot. We had a lovely relaxing holiday from June 4th to 15th 2011 made perfect by the brilliant staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor terrace good as are the balcony rooms overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sewella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Set on the edge of the lake, about 1 km from the old town, this is a good value modern hotel. Its close to restaurants and bars on the lakeside and has a nice garden and swimming pool of its own. Room was clean and of a reasonable size, though not big. Pool was excellent, very clean and well maintained. Plenty of car parking. Breakfast nice. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening. Did have a couple of drinks in the bar on a couple of occasions and they give very generous measures of Limoncello !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captain_Keithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Our recent stay at the Holiday Hotel was very enjoyable. The hotel is right by the lake in a quiet location. A 10-15 minute walk away from the delightful old medieval town. We would recommend paying extra for a full lake view. The rooms were clean and comfortable- perhaps the decor a little dated- communal room very comfortable. The bar area was open at all times for refreshments. A special mention to Martha on the reception desk- she was delightful and eager to make our stay trouble free. Elvera who was in the dining room, also needs a special mention. She works extremely hard and helped us with our poor Italian! Both are assets to the hotel.
The whole resort of Bolsena is delightful and at the moment free from mass tourism. We would recommend taking precautions against mosquitoes- we were bitten badly!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maverick49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Vacationing in Italy and happened upon this hotel on the web (for Bolsena Lake). Our selves and another couple were actually the only ones there for the first night. Both couples were given lake front rooms. Room had a beautiful view, with balconies, quiet, comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly and efficient. We liked it so much we booked it for three nights. On the following nights a bus tour group would come in around 6pm. Older couples who were tired and quiet. Rooms to the rear have balconies and mountain veiws. Nice walkways across the street lakeside. Close to the town and you can walked there if you choose. Very nice continental breakfasts (fruits,juices,cereal,eggs,coffee etc)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mainers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and I choose this hotel for our silver wedding anniversary holiday. We like a holiday to be foreign if you know what I mean, not too many English people so you can experience a taste of the country you are staying in. We weren't disappointed many Italians, Germans and Dutch holiday here. The hotel itself was set right opposite the lake with a wonderful view, just far enough from the main town to be peaceful but not isolated at all. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, we went on a trip one day and breakfast was served to us before we left, 6am! The food was super lots of fish caught daily very fresh and always served with a smile. If you are looking for a busy lake with water buses and lots of people this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for a peaceful relaxing time than I wouldn't hesitate to reccommend this hotel and this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolsena hotels
0.4 mi away
Ai Platani Hotel
Ai Platani Hotel
#4 of 9 in Bolsena
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#2 of 9 in Bolsena
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ludwig Boutique Hotel
Ludwig Boutique Hotel
#8 of 9 in Bolsena
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#5 of 9 in Bolsena
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Naiadi
Hotel Le Naiadi
#3 of 9 in Bolsena
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden sul Lago
Hotel Eden sul Lago
#6 of 9 in Bolsena
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday

Address: Viale Armando Diaz 38, 01023 Bolsena, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Bolsena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bolsena
Price Range: $91 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holiday 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil and green location, Hotel Holiday Sul Lago is a 4-star establishment situated on the panoramic shores of Lake Bolsena. Hotel Holiday offers lakeside accommodation with a luxurious swimming pool and 23 spacious and comfortable rooms. Suitable for every traveller, the hotel provides dedicated pool space and play areas for children, a large garden and a guarded car park. In the hotel’s panoramic restaurant, enjoy regional and international cuisine. The restaurant’s indoor dining hall and outdoor terrace make it a suitable venue for meetings, banquets and various events. Hotel Holiday Sul Lago makes a great base to visit nearby attractions and cities. Take day trips to Orvieto, Bomarzo, Saturnia, Siena and Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Bolsena
Hotel Holiday Bolsena, Italy - Province Of Viterbo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing