We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed accomodation in an ideal location”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bolsena
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The reviews said that this hotel was well located, relatively inexpensive and clean and these are all spot on. The rooms are fine for size with as much room as is needed. The pool was much better than we expected being spacious and with plenty sunbeds for everyone. The location could not be better, not just on the front but a short walk up a tree lined avenue from the old town. Our room overlooked the pool and was very quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked to be in beautiful condition but if you want a larger room then you need to...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerekH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 250 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

This beautiful hotel is right in the center of Bolsena, at the main roundabout and constitutes one side of the main square.

Elegant, well-maintained and stylish in the classical European style on the ground floor, its rooms are likewise pleasant, if a slightly less spacious. We were in a standard double; if you need more space, go for one of their higher-category rooms.

The room had, however, plenty of space for two, and both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Staff was courteous and helpful, the pool area and pool were both clean, tidy and pleasant.

We didn’t choose to pay for breakfast; €10/each is more than fair for a leisurely brunch but we weren’t certain we could eat so much.

I would highly recommend this hotel; we stayed in one of their companion hotels a few years back (Hotel Columbus) and the difference in quality is noticeable, with only a minor difference in price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

A "must be" - perfect service! Fair price! Best location in town.
One of the few hotels that stay open in off-season.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbcTsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Spent 2 nights at Hotel Royal after touring around Italy. we found it to be a nice hotel, breakfast was standard fare that we got at any of the hotels in Italy. Staff were courteous, room was clean and a good size, AC worked well. Would recommend this hotel, it really is in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queen37NiagaraCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Royal in August 2011 and we were disapointed with the value for money overall. It is classed as a 4* and the standard of decor is quite nice but other elements really let it down. The rooms are quite dark (tinted glass & black out blinds to help keep the room cool), and quite small. We had a triple room and that's all it had really: 3 beds, a wardrobe and desk. No balconies at all this hotel with the exception of room 309. Makes it feel a bit cramped & claustrophobic because you cant get outside. There is a reaaly huge terrace on the second floor which no-one seemed to use apart from us. The lounge wasn't used either & although the hotal claimed that the bar was open 8am til 10pm it was never manned. The reception staff were polite and efficient but I wouldn't describe them as warm. They did get friendlier the longer we were there though. Breakfast is a big disapointment at this hotel. Very sparse choice for a 4* & at 7 euros per person was well over-priced. No bar by the pool either! THe hotel doesn't have it's own restaurant. You have to go to it's sister hotel, The Columbus, over the road which is a 3*. The food is 3* quality and quite pricey. If you are booking a 4* hotel but have to dine at the 3* over the road you are bound to fell disapointed and a bit conned! We only ate there once. Unfortunately all the restaurants in the area serve up the same menu with very little variation. The best value in town can be found at All' Antica on Corso della Republica. On the plus side the Hotel Royal is in a great location in a fairly quiet resort. The air conditioning was great (& essential), it was very hot!

Room Tip: If outside space is important to you ask for room 309 or stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noodledoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

A lovely hotel. Our room overlooked the garden and swimming pool. This place has style.
The receptionist was charming.
We had a lovely room. It was great to relax by the pool after our long drive. The restaurant next door was good and the service excellent.
The Royal hotel is a great place for a relaxing weekend

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigitteMenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We were there in November and it was the only place open. Bolsena is more of a summer town, but otherwise, it was a nice hotel. If you are driving they have gated parking in the back which was a big plus. Right at the lake too, so nice views if you have the right room.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank 6pcs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolsena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#1 of 9 in Bolsena
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#4 of 9 in Bolsena
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ai Platani Hotel
Ai Platani Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bolsena
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ludwig Boutique Hotel
Ludwig Boutique Hotel
#8 of 9 in Bolsena
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Naiadi
Hotel Le Naiadi
#3 of 9 in Bolsena
284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lido
Hotel Restaurant Lido
#6 of 9 in Bolsena
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Piazzale Dante Alighieri 8/10, 01023 Bolsena, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Bolsena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bolsena
Price Range: $96 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bolsena
Hotel Royal Bolsena, Italy - Province Of Viterbo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing