We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was les than expected!”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Bibione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very small rooms - tennis and football court was very expensive to rent.
Lokation was good but the beachservice was very bad. Was kick away for the hotels privat Beach because we only was allowed to stay at one specific chair even if there was 50 others available.
The food was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roesdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyF82, Web Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Roesdahl,
we thank you for this review.
We are sorry that you had problems with the beach service. As we had already said you during your stay, the beach service does not depend directly from the hotel but only from the local association, which manage it.
As you can remember, we did everything we could make in order to help you: the hotel owner and we phoned several times the beach service association informing them of your complaint.
We are really sorry that you received an unfriendly beach service and for this reason you could not fully enjoy your holiday in our hotel.
Anyway, we hope to see you again by us!

The Staff of Hotel Excelsior****
Apogia Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

We spent a week as a group of 13, 8 adults and 5 kids at the Excelsior. Hotel is located right on the beach and very close to the town centre. Bibione town is lovely and well looked after. Beach is clean and loads of animation and play areas for the kids. The sea is also great as it is not deep.
The hotel itself is lovely. Yes the swiming pool is next door but it never bothered us as the walk to is only crossing the road. Stayed in big hotels before where you had a lot longer to walk to pool. There was always free sunbeds, not once the whole week we had an issue whataver time of the day we arrived at. Bar prices were also good.
Restaurant and service were good. Limited English but its mostly a german hotel so didnt bother us. We had a people on gluten free diet and they both thought this was the best they ever had. A big basket of 8 different things at breakfats and separate menu for them at evening. Food was lovely. I definitely had better breaksfasts before but it was more then enough on offer. Dinner was a salad buffet and you had to order the pasta course, main and dessert. I didnt have a bad thing all week. Everything was nicely cooked and presented. If I had complaint about food it would be the portion sizes of dessert were really small. I dont need much but they were way too small. ( not that I needed it after 3 courses)
The rooms very alright, bit small for a family of 4 but would be enough for two max 3 people. We had the comfort room with a big balcony so that with the room gave us enough space.
All in all great hotel and would definitely recommend it. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyF82, Web Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear LG1983

thank you very much for your good review on Tripadvisor!

We are happy to know that you all spent a good holiday in our hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our kitchen and our special menu for gluten-free diet, in fact it is one of our strengths, and your words make us very proud.

We hope to see you again in our Hotel in Bibione!!!

The Team of Hotel Excelsior****
Apogia Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I spent 2 nights at this hotel with my husband the second week of June. We arrived around noon and were told that we could not check in before 1 pm, as per hotel policy. So we decided to wait on the terrace outside but when we went back to the reception at 1 pm we were told that our room was not ready yet and they could not told us exactly at what time it would eventually be. To make it short, we could check-in only at 2.30 pm and nobody took any care of us during the almost 3 hours that we spent waiting for our room to be finally ready. Now, considering that on the day you check out you must leave the room within 10 am, I think that the hotel has some problems in terms of organization, but also in terms of customer care.
The other disappointing issue is that in the hotel web site it is clearly said that the hotel has a swimming pool and sunbathing area, but this is not true. This hotel only has a quite small terrace with no more than 20 sunbeds (in a hotel with over 100 rooms!) and a tiny pool. For the real swimming pool you have to go to the besides twin hotel, but of course the sunbeds are largely not enough.
On the room rate it is included the use of 1 parasol and 2 sunbeds on the beach. But the only service provided by the hotel is giving you a card with the number of the spot assigned to you. After that, you are on your own: you have to find your parasol, open and close it (luckily there was a kind gentleman helping me!) and even clean up the garbage that the someone left behind. And don't forget to bring your own beach towels, because the hotel is not providing them!
Meals are extremely cheap if you included them in the room rate. But the restaurant hours are very limited (for dinner it is open only from 7 to 8.30 pm!!) and consequentely always crowded. The quality of food is also really bad, so my advise is to get only breakfast, which is a limited buffet but acceptable if you are finished before 9.30, when food is not replaced and waiters start to retire everything.
On the positive aspects, we had a superior room on the top floor and it was nice: newly refurbished in a basic but comfortable way, hardwood floors, a pleasant balcony with sea view, big clean bathroom (altough offering low-quality towels, poor amenities and totally lacking of batrobes, slippers, etc.).
WiFi is free but the signal is really poor.
Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel: the price is maybe ok for the room, but certainly not for the service you get.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyF82, Web Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Stefi1970,

First of all we want to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We always take care of the opinions and complains of our guests, because for us it is a starting point to understand our mistakes and where we can and must improve in order to offer our guests a better service.

According to your review, we would like to argue some of your disappointing issues here:
- Check-in: we are sorry to find out only by reading your words that you had to wait about 3 hours for your room, and that you complain the fact that nobody of us took care of you during your waiting. In terms of hotel policy we could reply you that the check-in is possible STARTING FROM 1 pm and not AT 1 o’clock pm; however the housekeeping staff works hard in order to clean and prepare the rooms as soon as possible for the new guests; in case of weekend of “big changes” (lot of arrivals and departures) it may happen that the rooms are ready not exactly around 1 pm but a little bit later. In addition, it is a worldwide hotel policy that the check-in is from 1 pm of the day of arrival (in many other hotels also later) and the check-out is at 10 am of the day of departure, normally a late check-out is also considered an extra service (upon extra charge).
- Swimming pool and sun terrace: about this point, we can only write the true: the big swimming pool and the big sun terrace that are located at the neighbor-sister-hotel, Hotel Bellevue, BELONG to Hotel Excelsior as well as the tennis courts and the small swimming pool that are located at Hotel Excelsior BELONG to the neighbor-sister-hotel, Hotel Bellevue.
- Beach service: in the room price is included the free use of the sun umbrella and sun beds at our private beach; we are sorry to know that the beach service was not up to your expectation, but the “beach service” does not depend on our hotel staff, but exclusively on the staff that works for the beach.
- We are also very sorry if you were not happy with our kitchen, we have a professional and qualified dedicated kitchen team, who work hard for the well-being and the satisfaction of all our guests. We offer a rich breakfast buffet: in addition to the meats (ham, sausage, salami and bacon) and cheese (hard and soft cheese), we offer a wide selection of yoghurt, muesli, fruit (both dried fruit and fresh fruit), cakes, various whole grains and other breads, brioches, eggs with bacon, fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, etc. etc.

We remain at disposal for any further information.
Best regards

Hotel Excelsior****
Apogia Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We liked this hotel and the resort.
Great location right on the beach, we paid for a sea view and weren't disappointed.

Service was great, breakfast was good. Wish though that they had proper orange juice instead of instant mix from a machine.

Room was nice and well cleaned.

We had a really nice time here and will be going back to this resort and this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mamusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jasmin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mabu250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Web marketing manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bibione hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bembo
Hotel Bembo
#5 of 74 in Bibione
166 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#24 of 74 in Bibione
117 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#8 of 74 in Bibione
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bibione Palace Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#9 of 74 in Bibione
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel Regina
Palace Hotel Regina
#50 of 74 in Bibione
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Croce del sud 2, 30028 Bibione, San Michele Al Tagliamento, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > San Michele Al Tagliamento > Bibione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bibione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bibione
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bibione
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bibione
Price Range: $133 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Bibione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing