We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I agree with the reviewer - Graham M”
Review of Savoy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Bibione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

O.K. so its eay just to agree wit someone else's review but I only feel that I can add to what has already been said. The resort was so beautiful and there were never more than 6 people in the pool.Rooms were very average. My biggest regret was that I hadn't taken the children when they were much younger as the ease of moving from pool to beach to riding bikes along a beautiful pedestrianised prom was something that would have made our holiday so easy when we (and they ) were younger. As it was, the place was a little quiet for young teenagers. Breakfast was my favourite meal. The evening meals I enjoyed, though it felt more German than Italian. The rest of the family were not as keen and we missed walking into town to choose different restaurants. No one spoke to us all week but hey ho, we are not the type to chum up with "that fun loving couple from yorkshire" or whatever. Quite a long drive from the airport too. Would I return? Yes to Bibione when I am retired with young Grandchildren but I wouldn't pay the prices i paid Thompson for the Savoy Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scallop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 307 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Hotel is perfect located and enjoy a nice view.
Rooms are nice , preferred Therme side .
Perfect kitchen and very professional service.
Really good wines, try Pinot Grigio Villa Russiz !!!

In the summer time , better to be away , too much people and very hot but May or September,
if without kids , perfect to relax .
No really segment target , too many families with small kids, not my stuff.
Otherwise perfect for anice WE or a superb Silvester party.
Perfect kitchen !!!

Room Tip: Best rooms are upper floor and Bibione Therne side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

It's strange to enjoy a holiday, even though the hotel was a disappointment. However, the weather was great, the location suited us, as we just wanted to relax, sit in the sun, read our books and swim, we liked the resort itself and aspects of the hotel worked for us.

The hotel calls itself 5 star (Thompson Holiday brochure agrees with this rating). It definitely isn't. We stay in lots of 4 & 5 star hotels in the UK and abroad and this wasn't one of them. We had booked a deluxe room. The first room we were given was small, the shower had 2 sliding doors which didn't work properly and instead of a shower cubicle, there was a mat to stand on.

The balcony (we had booked a sea view) overlooked a high rise apartment block, so that whenever you opened the sliding doors or drew back the net curtains, anyone on their balcony could see straight into your room. You could see the sea from one corner of the balcony. Otherwise, all you could see were the apartments. My request to move was handled badly and I was made to feel a nuisance. In the end, I kicked up enough fuss that they moved us the following day to a much bigger room on the other side of the hotel, even though they had assured me that all rooms were the same. Rooms on this side were overlooking lawns, trees and the sea. The bathroom had a proper shower cubicle and was much better equipped. They had obviously lied to me.

The biggest disappointment for us was the food, especially dinner. Yes, it was plentiful and no, it wasn't quality. We love Italian food because of the simplicity of the dishes made with such amazing ingredients. It's one of the reasons we chose to go there. Instead, the antipasti were unappetising and overly complicated, pasta was hit and miss and the main courses were often dry and overcooked or not particularly tasty. (For example, lasagne seemed to be made with minced, cooked veal, possibly left over from the previous evening's roast, dry and lacking in everything which makes a good lasagne). Added to that, service was not good. Younger waiters were mostly friendly, others less so. Staff (who spoke no English at all) served the pasta and meat from a serving hatch and almost threw it on the plate whilst talking to their fellow 'chefs'. Descriptions were hard to understand unless you spoke Italian or German, as the English translations didn't always make sense. There was a range of salad ingredients to make your own salad and these were better. Desserts were revolting - lots of overly sweet, inedible cakes, oozing with synthetic-tasting sauces. They even managed to kill profiteroles! On the plus side, there was always fruit and the cherries were fantastic, as was the melon. Dinner was from 7pm - 8.30pm and there was a sense of waiters hurrying you up, removing one person's finished meal whilst the other was still eating. The Maitre d' was present insomuch as he walked around talking to diners, not present in that he didn't appear to be overseeing staff and although friendly to everyone around us, pointedly ignored us every evening. Perhaps he was embarrassed that he didn't speak English or just didn't like us!

Breakfasts were much better, as was the relaxed atmosphere. The choice was greater and although the rolls weren't as fresh as one would expect, there were so many other things to choose from, that their absence from our plates wasn't a problem. If you managed to find the prosecco, hidden away in a corner, you could enjoy a wonderfully cold glass of wine, or Bucks Fizz mixed with the freshly squeezed orange juice. Coffee was plentiful and we sat and watched the world go by enjoying copious cups.

Housekeeping was managed very well, as the hotel is spotless throughout. Bed linen is changed daily, which although wonderful, isn't so ecologically sound and we would have rather they spent the money on better food ingredients and changed the beds less frequently. But that's just our choice and not everyone would agree.

The hotel is well designed, with places to sit and relax inside and outside. The pool is great and the location is fantastic , though the pool bar is disappointing, with one particularly surly waiter, who smoked behind the bar (the waitress was great). All that separates the hotel and the beach is a car-free promenade, which is wonderful and great if you are there with children, I would imagine. Each room is allocated a numbered place on the beach, with two sunbeds an umbrella and a table, which is very good. If you use the beach, be sure to ask for your pitch as soon as you arrive, as the hotel doesn't offer it automatically at check-in and we didn't ask for it until day 4, when the best spots were taken by then.

Management could really benefit from some training. They are less than helpful, though again, maybe this is because they don't speak much English (the hotel caters for Italians and German speaking guests). So when we checked in, the information they gave us was so minimal that we took three ins and out of the lifts to discover that you need to swipe your key on a pad inside the lift before it will take you upstairs! Not the end of the world, but as we had just checked in and reception was empty, the receptionists just sat and watched us walk in and out until we went and asked them why we couldn't get the lift to work. And that attituded sums up our experience, sadly.

Bibione itself is a good resort, with a main street of shops, cafes and people enjoying themselves. It feels very safe and very friendly. Near the hotel is a great beach cafe, where the food is good and the service excellent - the hotel could learn from them!

Visit Atmosphere restaurant for excellent pasta and Bar Germania for great service. Avoid Bar Cortina, where we were shouted at in German by the owner, as we had bought ice creams in cones from her and then made the mistake of sitting down in her cafe to eat them...... apparently you can't sit down if you have cones, even if she sells them to you! But most cafes are lovely and very friendly.

This isn't a resort to visit if you don' t speak a smattering of Italian, unless you speak German, which is their second language. Or unless you don't mind that. We don't normally do packages but the Thompson rep (Lesley) was very friendly and although we didn't need to book any trips, she was as helpful as she could be.

And that sums it all up for us. Previous reviews have waxed lyrical about the food, so I can only imagine it used to be good. Of our fourteen nights, we only enjoyed the food in two or three of them. The rest of the time it was average or below average.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sunshinemilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Hotel was really nice, clean, with gorgeous breakfast, nice and clean beach. Perfect stay in Bibione.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuzana82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel over a long weekend. Overall our experience at this hotel was very positive, with just a few glitches. On the plus side, the hotel is very clean. We found our rooms cleaned a couple of times a day. It is right on the beach with a magnificient pool also. Check in was easy and the location is very close to the main shopping street of Bibione, a seemingly never ending plaza of high end clothing shops, ice cream cafes, and pizzaries. The hotel is also connected to the Bibione Thermae, a spa complex with pool/Turkish baths/saunas, etc.

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay, but had a couple of issues to note. The first is that we found the restaurants unsuitable. One was very expensive with a set price of 75 euros a piece, and the other was just a standard buffet that we also found expensive. The breakfast buffet which was included was just very average compared to other resorts in which we have stayed. It was very much like you would find in a German breakfast buffet , possibly due to the very large numbers of German tourists who frequent the hotel The fresh squeezed orange juice was a nice touch though. One night we asked for a restaurant recommendation in town and the place they sent us to was quite possibly the worst restaurant we have ever been to. We literally could not eat anything they served us. The maitr'e de also seemed embarrassed and suggested that with no guests (BTW the economy is killing the area this year - Bibione itself was a ghost town) the restaurant simply couldn't afford to stock much fresh food. However, no refund was given and it was excessively expensive.

The only other thing we had an issue with is that the hotel checkout is at 1000, and they would not let us extend. That is quite a bit earlier than other hotels in which we have stayed. We ended up checking out and spending the day at the spa and pool, but had a bad experience with the staff there that marred the end of the trip. As the spa is only peripherally related to the hotel, that issue isn't worth detailing and doesn't detract from our experience at the hotel itself.

Overall, we would stay at this hotel again as we liked the rooms, location, pool and beach and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank callmeishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank Aga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze Panoramic costicchiano ma vale assolutamente la pena, l'unicità della spiaggia ed una...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bibione hotels
0.6 mi away
Bibione Palace Suite Hotel
0.9 mi away
Palace Hotel Regina
Palace Hotel Regina
#48 of 73 in Bibione
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Michele
San Michele
#4 of 73 in Bibione
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Amburgo
Hotel Amburgo
#35 of 73 in Bibione
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Las Vegas
Hotel Las Vegas
#1 of 73 in Bibione
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma de Majorca
Hotel Palma de Majorca
#16 of 73 in Bibione
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Beach Hotel

Address: Corso Europa 51, 30028 Bibione, San Michele Al Tagliamento, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > San Michele Al Tagliamento > Bibione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Bibione
Price Range: $204 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Savoy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing