We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place to see in the center of Benevento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arco di Traiano

Arco di Traiano
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Benevento
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
204 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice place to see in the center of Benevento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It was going through maintenance when we visited, but it was lovely to see how an old monument gets preserved so well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    117
    17
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A visit to Arco di Traiano in Benevento!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My relatives took me to Benevento for a few hours to visit this old beautiful town. We mainly walked on the main strip where there's lots of shops, caffes and then at the end of the road I saw this beautiful sculpted Arco di Traiano - magnificent to see. Glad I got to visit Benevento.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A most surprising sight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

When you look at this arch it takes you right into Roman times - you can almost hear the swords clashing. It is beautifuly looked after, and the low trees that flank it provide welcome shade on hot days and a refuge from the wind and rain in the winter. Standing in front of the arch on one side you look over the hills and can imagine what it must have been like in those times, scouring the landscape for the enemy, while on the other you look towards the Corso and Benevento proper.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank frances_anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

good history great to see a land mark still standing after all this time

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mariosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Credit to Benevento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Very rare item, one of the very few Roman triumphal arches left in very good condition and must be preserved.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alanbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arco di Traiano also viewed

Benevento, Province of Benevento
Benevento, Province of Benevento
 
Benevento, Province of Benevento
Benevento, Province of Benevento
 

Been to Arco di Traiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing