We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Locanda Scialapopolo
Ranked #2 of 266 Restaurants in Benevento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $28
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 11, 2019

The owners are very friendly and nice. All the meals were delicious, with fresh ingredients, well prepared. Our dog has also been welcomed very well. They offer him, slices of ham and a big bowl of water. If you are in the region, make a stop there.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 552 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2019

This restaurant is a hidden gem. It's a bit hard to find but make sure you take the time to do so. We were there with a group of 14 and the staff could not have been more attentive. The evening was not just a meal - it was a dining experience which I am sure is representative of the traditions of Benevento. The small space created a wonderfully intimate atmosphere. The food itself was fabulous and they took great care to ensure that those in our party who were gluten free were equally taken care of and confident that their food was safe to eat. Our party was English speaking only while the proprietors speak only Italian, but this didn't really present a problem. As the chef told me via Google Translate, "Language divides us but the table unites us". What a delightful way to spend an evening. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gadgetguy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019

My family is from the Benevento region and I’ve spent the last week touring the region with my mom finding hidden gems about our ancestry. This restaurant was the best in the entire region. Simple yet sophisticated food. Great setting outside of the main touristy area. Family run restaurant with lots of charm. Loved our experience and our meal here and we hope to be back! So glad we came here and couldn’t ask for a better meal!!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank LightPacker475322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

Excellent and tasty food, sweet and funny people!
Penna a candela con verza e salsiccia paesana ,pastiera beneventana.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Gonzaloarregin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

We find out this restaurant via TripAdvisor and booked our launch here during our quick tour of Benevento.
The place is really small and not in the center of the city but it is a really typical one and when you enter it seems to go back to the 70’s :-)
The host is really super kind and want to be sure that your meal will be really good.
He said that the menu will change every week so if you came here again you will find new dishes every time!
All the ingredients are really super fresh and of good quality, they cooked in a really traditional way with passion and love, and it is, in my opinion, the most important thing! We decided to taste two different apetizers , two different kind of pasta and two typical meal dishes...everything was really delicious and week cooked!
I really want to come back again if one time I will be again in Benevento! I hope that the dishes pics will be more interesting and meaningful than my review!
Thanks a lot for everything

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank federicor398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Scialapopolo also viewed

Benevento, Province of Benevento
Benevento, Province of Benevento
 
Benevento, Province of Benevento
Benevento, Province of Benevento
 
Benevento, Province of Benevento
Benevento, Province of Benevento
 

Been to Locanda Scialapopolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing