We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Experience, but lacking in comfort”
Review of Hotel Al Castello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Al Castello
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Authentic Experience, but lacking in comfort”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you are American, this may be a tough choice for you. The beds are like sleeping on a buffet table - very hard. Both nights were very hot - hot enough that we couldn't sleep. We were on the top floor and we all know heat rises. So when we asked for the [advertised] air conditioning we were told it will be cooler tomorrow & that the Inn keeper controls it. Not a good answer, in my opinion. I also do not like being locked out and having to ring the bell after midnight. The drinks and snack items we requested were great & when we didn't use the breakfast, he removed the E.6 daily charge, which was nice. Toiletries supplied were so-so. They came in little packs like ketchup. Did not use them. It is very clean & the tables set out front are quite nice. It is also in the best location, which is why I chose it in the first place. Would not stay there in hot weather again. Also, don't count on the advertised WiFi either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winelover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
24
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
metro DC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stayed in Al Castello recently for 3 nights. What a swell place! Al Castello is two blocks away from the heart of town, which bustles with energy. The hotel itself has plenty of character, is pristine, and has a handy cafe in the front. We partook of many cappuccinos and alcoholic beverages. The family who manages it is courteous and helpful--ask them to suggest local places to eat! The piazza can be noisy on weekend evenings, but you won't mind after your excellent dinner and multiple grappas.

While in Bassano, we drove up to Monte Grappa, visited lovely Asolo and Marostica, toured the weekly market (Thursday AM), and learned about grappa making and traditions at the Nardinis' taverna. We also did a day trip to Lake Garda--took the funicular halfway up from Malcesine and then walked back down. A knee-buster, but worth it! (We recommend skipping Sirmione, which is waaay overcrowded with visiting Germans.)

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2006

We stayed at Al Castello during our holiday in Italy in june/july 2004. Bassano del Grappa is a charming and tiny Italian village in Northern Italy and the hotel exceeded our expectations. We had two doublerooms, they were neat and clean at all times. The rooms were spacey and in excellent condition. The beds were uncomfortable, but they always are in Southern Europe. Really nice bathrooms. We had windows with a nice view. The location was excellent, short distances to restaurants, shops and the lot.
It seemed like the hotel was run by a mother and his son (not sure though) and they were really friendly and service-minded. They serve breakfast in a small, simple diningroom (I think we paid 8 Euro per person). We were served croissants and rolls, with jam and butter, fresh fruit and the different varities of coffee and hot chocolate. The hot chocolate is excellent.. I will recommend both Al Castello and Bassano del Grappa. Bassano del Grappa is not as touristy as the more well-known places in Northern Italy and relatively short distances to Venice, Verona and Milan. There are a few restaurants, ask the receptionst at the hotel for advice.
The locals speak very little English, some none at all. The menus at the dining places are in Italian (one place didn't even have a written menu).. Bring your dictionary! Bassano is a nice town with cafes, shops (both designer shops and cheap unbranded shoes/clothes/accessories) and nice buildings. Bon voyage!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank glamourprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 1, 2005

I have just returned from my first trip to Italy. We stayed at Al Castello hotel (82 euros per night). This is a lovely small hotel, which lived up to my expectations of a typical Italian hotel. Set in an excellent location overlooking one of the small squares. Our room (10) was tastefully decorated, and had two windows and a 'tiny' balcony decked with flowers. The room was spotless and extremely comfortable. The air conditioning was much appreciated, although could have been more powerful. Breakfast was available for 6 euros but there are plenty of local bars serving breakfast, or a local bakery. There are tables and chairs set up under a large canopy outside the hotel, where we enjoyed a refreshing beer (or two), after a long day sight seeing - very reasonably priced too!!! I would highly recommend this accommodation. Whilst staying at Al Castello, we took a train ride (7.50 euros return) to Venice (1hr 20 mins approx). Once in Venice we purchased all day tickets for the water bus for 10.50 euros. I'm sure you will find that this is by far the cheapest way to visit Venice! We also drove up Monte Grappa - the view at the top is absolutely magnificent and well worth the 27 km drive up to 1745 metres! We drove to Sirmione on Lake Garda. This is a gorgeous place well worth a visit. For 4 euros you can climb to the top of the tower in the castle and get an excellent view over Lake Garda. Market day in Basanno del Grappa is Thursday - the town really comes alive then and there are plenty of bargains to be had. A trip down the road to Marostica (8 kms) is a must. This is a lovely town with a castle and wall set high up on the hill. I hope to return to Italy again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2004

This is a great little hotel with a clean room and friendly staff. We had three adults in one room and there wasn't much space, but the room was charming. The breakfast was an extra 6 euro, so we hit the local bakery instead. And the parking was a little tight, but the propietor helped us park every night right in front of the hotel. The hotel is in a great location... backs up to the castle and is at the top of a street full of shops and cafes. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
10 Thank CindyOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bassano Del Grappa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bonotto Hotel Belvedere
Bonotto Hotel Belvedere
#3 of 11 in Bassano Del Grappa
278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alla Corte Spa & Wellness Relax
Hotel Alla Corte Spa & Wellness ...
#1 of 11 in Bassano Del Grappa
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Ca' Sette
Villa Ca' Sette
#6 of 11 in Bassano Del Grappa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bonotto Hotel Palladio
Bonotto Hotel Palladio
#5 of 11 in Bassano Del Grappa
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#2 of 11 in Bassano Del Grappa
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alla Favorita
Alla Favorita
#8 of 11 in Bassano Del Grappa
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Castello

Property: Hotel Al Castello
Address: Bonamigo 19, 36061 Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Vicenza > Bassano Del Grappa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bassano Del Grappa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In The Heart Of The City Historical, Near The Medieval Castle And Near Palladian Old Bridge, The Castle Hotel Offers Its Customers A Romantic Atmosphere Of A Former Palace Bassanese. His Bar Is A Refined Meeting Point For Taste Of Wine And Grappe Veneto. Our Hotel Is Has All The More Modern Comfort Maintaining The Identity Of The Art In Style Characteristic Of Our Territory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Al Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Castello Bassano Del Grappa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing