We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Different, charming - definitely not "ski-in-ski-out"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet della Guida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalet della Guida
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Bardonecchia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Different, charming - definitely not "ski-in-ski-out"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Outstanding but definitely outward bound for skiing. Totally different. Not if you want ski-in-ski-out. Getting the tiny 4x4 to shuttle us up from the rented 8 seater with the bags set the scene. Beautiful spacious chalet rooms, restaurant one hundred metres away - but mind your step at night in the snow. Totally out of the way. Seems like a commune rather than a business and the people - mostly women - were lovely. English was a problem (the check in was a hoot), although Huggie Bear the boss man who was there day two who spoke good English. We went to ski, we got the snow, and we had to use snow chains four out of the seven days - on and off, twice a day. One day full blizzard conditions on the slopes. Not for the feint hearted. Bardonecchia is OK for a day's skiing - mostly for Torino week-enders - although we only tried one side of the road. Sestriere and Claviere is bigger - although the Italian signage is confusing. Fantastic snow so fantastic holiday, but more an adventure than a skiing trip. I loved the place - but would I go back? Maybe in two years time, not next year - when I would prefer to ski-in-ski-out for a break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koeberg1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
27
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

i had visited the chalet during the end of june. the land scape is just beautiful, overlooking the valleys and surrounded by mountains, the feeling is fresh and light. we had some beautiful yoga sessions by the stream.and enjoyed the serenity.
the food at the restaurant is just great! loved it! the rooms are really cozy! the people who run the place are really sweet and welcoming, and was wonderful getting to know them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid-living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

we spent 3 days at Chalet della Guida (20-22 June 2013) - the location is only 5 minute from Bardonecchia by car in a very sweet and cute "frazione". the structure is a tipycal local mountain building but with internal modern and perfectly arranged rooms and flats.
our small flat was simply wonderful with a small kitchen equipped with all useful stuff
all rooms and bathrooms are always always perfectly cleaned and tidied up
the owner and all other people (internal staff) are in the meantime friendly, familiar but also professional and concentrated on the client.
to summarize: the perfection of a 5 stars hotel in a small Chalet
the surrounding area is amazing and pretty beautiful: mountains, unspoiled nature, some small falls that jump down and give to the horizon the imagine of a "tale's picture".
we have already booked next stay for us and our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CateBPI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Chalet della Guida for one full week at the beginning of March 2013 - 2 adults 1 6-years boy and a dog.
We took this leave to ski on the slopes of nearby Bardonecchia.
The residence is a nice structure, rooms are really good, confortable in size and recently renewed.
The owners and the personnell are all friendly warm and very helpful in case of extra requests of any kind.
The location is stunning, in a small charming village, half buried in the snow and completely immersed in the alpine nature, with sight on beatiful landscapes.
The drive to Bardonecchia is short, even if the road is quite a narrow mountain road but after 1 or 2 trips you get used to it and then it is great fun.
We took our meals to the excellent restaurant 'L Fouie for which we are writing separare review.
By all aspects this was a great choice and we warmly recommend this place to all true mountain lovers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almada, Portugal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Outstanding landscape! 100% unspoiled nature! Top luxury: to be almost alone in the mountain! Very, very nice and warm people! Very nice and tasty food! What can we ask more?! My 8 yr old boy was in haven with all that snow (we are not used to it). To return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZetoSCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braila, Romania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Last week we spent three days at Chalet della Guida, and we were very impressed by this beautiful place. It's located at about 1600 meters altitude in a beautiful valley. The old mountain houses, the location of this village, the tranquility of this place, the mountains... everithing there takes you into a magical world. The residence is very clean and peaceful, and the rooms reward you, with a beautiful view. The furniture is rustical, typical to mountains vilages, and the beds are confortable. The restaurant also is a nice place where you can eat very good traditional dishes. The personal is nice and helpful. From Bardonecchia is very simple to arive to Rochemolles at residence.Early in the morning or in the evening you can see or hear the stags, deers, marmots, howks or eagles. About 5 km up into mountain is a beautiful lake. From the same route you can go to see the refuge where you find other little lakes, and you can go from there into the heart of mountains, to see a lots of waterfalls and the glaciers. For those that loves the nature, the mountains and tranquility I recommend this place with all my soul.Once seen this place, will never get out from your soul. We will definitely return at Chalet della Guida.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLRaphael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I spent only one night at the Chalet della Guida on March 17, 2012, as we were on our way to more southern destinations.
It was enough for being seduced by the authenticity of the location in an old village of a small valley above Sestriere, and we were treated with utmost courtesy and attention although being just passers-by.
The chalet (restored with simplicity but comfortable and impeccably clean) is a typical sample of local mountain dry stone dwellings. The room had everything you need and nothing superfluous.
We will not forget the geniality of the lady manager, nor of her chef - a tiny sardinian lady who prepares delicious local dishes at the chalet's detached restaurant.
Definitely a place where we wish we could go again !
The last comment will be about access to the chalet : do not plan to arrive at night if narrow mountain lanes make you nervous ; this is a very secluded place, a quality that means the driving from the village of Bardonecchia necessitates some attention.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardonecchia hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Cianfuran Bardonecchia
3.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 23 in Bardonecchia
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ca Fiore
Hotel Ca Fiore
#1 of 23 in Bardonecchia
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Residence Villa Frejus
Residence Villa Frejus
#15 of 23 in Bardonecchia
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
4.0 mi away
Residence Campo Smith
Residence Campo Smith
#12 of 23 in Bardonecchia
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rosa Serenella
Hotel Rosa Serenella
#8 of 23 in Bardonecchia
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet della Guida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet della Guida

Property: Chalet della Guida
Address: Borgata Rochemolles, 49, 10052 Bardonecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Bardonecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet della Guida 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence Chalet della Guida is situated in the ancient village of Rochemolles, 5 km to Bardonecchia. The village has preserved during the centuries its mountain allure and offers you a breathtaking scenery. The residence has 10 apartments, one-room and two-rooms apartments, furnished simply and functionally, in a mountain style. All equipped with kitchenette (all accessories and micro wave), satellite TV, Wi-Fi, shower/WC and hairdryer. You will find a ski and mountain bike deposit. Near the Chalet you will find a typical restaurant cooking local dishes and offering special prices for the guests of the residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chalet della Guida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing