We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski in ski out”
Review of Hotel Rive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rive
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bardonecchia
Reviewed February 6, 2012

booked this holiday through crystal - what a mistake. Long delay for luggage in Turin airport. but short transfer. Rooms not available until 5 pm but worth the wait, had a 3 floor apartment for 4 of us, large separate bedroom on lower level, good size bathroom, gallons of hot water, stunning mountain views from balcony and from bedroom, fresh crisp bed linen and towels, spotless and clean, modern kitchen but lacked oven or grill, sky tv. very warm to hot rooms, great after skiing all day in -15, complementry canapes with drinks, ski locker rooms on the piste, fantastic location right on the piste. the building itself looks very modern probably built for the 2006 olympics but great complex just lacking a onsite food store, approximately 15 mins walk to nearest supermarket with last bus back being 5.20 pm, snow condition perfect
good location for short transfers just dont book through tour company. overall well worth the 4* rating, would certainly go back .........

Room Tip: choose large 4 person apartment
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rive
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 248 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is the second visit to this hotel for skiing. It is a clean modern hotel with excellent access to the slopes. The food in the hotel is full of choice, even to those of us who do not eat red meat.
This time we had to wait 3 hrs on arrival for our room to be prepared, which was disappointing - we sat in reception watching everyone else book in and go to their rooms, so not sure why our room took longer to prepare.
The I Due Merli bar is great for drinks and socialising with the Crystal ski reps, but be warned, the owners children use the bar as a play area which can be very inconsiderate to those who just want a drink. This has happened both times during our stay.
All in all though we would return to this hotel as it meets all our requirements for a good skiing holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marshgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We were quite impressed by the size of the apartment. For a family of four in a self catering apartment, it was very adequate. Cooking facilities were okay although there was no oven, microwave or kettle. Apartment we stayed in was very clean, in good condition, towels and linen provided. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Spa, gym facilities and swimming pool was also very good although pool was small and you have to pay 8 euros per person to use it.

Location was good for skiing - right on the bottom of the slopes. Il Due Merle and Mezzaluna was great for drinks, basic reasonably priced food with very friendly staff.

We booked holiday through Thomson / Crystal. We arrived at the hotel mid day but apartments and rooms were not ready until 5pm but as long as rooms are cleaned properly when we checked in, the wait did not really matter. We left our luggage by main reception and had lunch at Mezzaluna while waiting.

However, if you are a light sleeper, traffic noise upstairs might disturb you as corridors are right on top of apartment rooms.

There is a free bus into town and other slopes but stopped running at 5pm which was a pain since people normally stop skiing at 4pm and don't think about shopping for provisions until 5pm. Shops were a mile away, a 15 minute walk and closed from 12noon to 3pm. That would be the only criticism about the trip. Bardonecchia has a train station with trains running into Turin every hour. From Turin, lots of trains into other parts of Italy. Great base for non skiiers tagging along on a ski holiday with family or friends.

Would recommend Best Western Hotel Rive Campo Smith Apartments for the right price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDav26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Just back from Christmas skiing and we have to write on here to say the biggest thank you to Marco, Vittorio, Andrea etc for making every evening the absolute best!
We were fed, watered and treated like "one of the family". The kids were made so welcome too and believed their drinks were free as they were supplied so readily!
If you are there this year, make it your local. Perfect position at the bottom of Campo Smith for recharging batteries at lunch time too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russnikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We selected this hotel in Bardonecchia as could hold the large group we were travelling with and for its vicinity to the ski slopes and lifts. Staff was cordial and the structure also had free parking (outdoors). We were in the "Campo Smith" part of the structure which had studio apartments rather than rooms. The studios were fairly dated but spacious and clean with plenty of warm water in the bathroom at all times and good heating. The beds were mostly pull-out sofa-beds which were ok for a long weekend. We didn't use the kitchenette but it looked decent. The breakfast was buffet had a good mix of hot and cold choices and the spa was pleasant (wonderful spa area but dated changing area).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tania_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Excellent all round holiday.

Only gripe was having to wait around on first day until the room was ready.

Hotel has very nice rooms and food is very good. Main advantage is that it is very close to the slopes and ski schools.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We arrived at Turin airport on time and our cases arrived almost immediately (unheard of for us) we made our way through to find the Neilson reps, who seemed surprised to see us so soon. We then sat on the transfer bus for an hour and a half whilst we waited for the other guests (not so good). When we finally arrived at the hotel (approx 12:30pm) we were told that we could not check in until 3pm so we dumped our cases in an unsecure room and went out to eat. Finally we checked in to our rooms, very impressed to say the least for a ski hotel. We had two adjacent rooms, which were spacious, warm and clean. I do agree though that the beds are rock hard and certainly did nothing for your aches after a days skiing. There were alot of noisy children in the hotel who would run and shout down the corridors plus mess around with the lifts so they stopped at every floor, which did get annoying. We only had one ight when there was no hot water and the water was brown. Meals in the restaurant were good although the service was quite slow, but the staff worked extremely hard and our waitress remembered our drinks order each night and was always pleasant. If you aren't keen on pasta and veal though you may find the menu limited. We never went hungry though and the desserts were lovely! The breakfast buffet was adequate with a choice of hot drinks served to your table. The free wi-fi was a bonus as it meant the kids could get there daily dose of facebook! Although the spa and pool were lovely I do think it was over priced at 12.50 euros per person and maybe a discount could have been given for families. It was a relaxing place though.
The slopes were well maintained although there was a shortage of snow which for a nervous skier like me caused a few problems although my husband and children had a great time. It is certainly the warmest and sunniest ski resort I have been to. My husband and children went on the ski leading morning with the Neilson rep (who was lovely and very knowledgeable) which was a very good way to orientate yourself with the slopes. I had an hours private lesson, not too impressed with the instructor as I had said I lacked confidence and had not skied for a year so he took me on quite a steep slope and I ended up having a nasty tumble which meant I could not ski for a couple of days. We used to have lunch at the bar attached to the hotel and it was reasonably priced with a good choice of food.
We were also there when the break ins occured and think that we were targeted as there was a couple of men knocking on doors shouting a womans name as though they couldn't remember which room they were in. They were also 'lurking' in the corridors too. Luckily for us we were in our rooms at the time, but my heart goes out to the guests who were not so lucky.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found all the staff from reception to cleaners to be polite and couteous and we would consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardonecchia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 23 in Bardonecchia
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ca Fiore
Hotel Ca Fiore
#1 of 23 in Bardonecchia
194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Cianfuran Bardonecchia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jafferau
Hotel Jafferau
#23 of 23 in Bardonecchia
404 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chalet della Guida
Chalet della Guida
#4 of 23 in Bardonecchia
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico
Villaggio Olimpico
#8 of 23 in Bardonecchia
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rive

Address: Regione Molino 4, 10052, Bardonecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bardonecchia
#2 Spa Hotel in Bardonecchia
Price Range: $110 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bardonecchia
Bardonecchia Best Western
Best Western Rive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing