We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several elements are not up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel des Geneys Splendid
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Bardonecchia
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I wouldn't say this hotel is worth the price. The location is lovely, a very calm place. Unfortunately, the building is very old and some renovation works would definitely be beneficial. As concerns food, I was impressed by the extremely poor quality and little care put in the making of the dishes. Moreover I found very impolite of the owners to have their meals with oysters and other refined foods right beside their guests having much different food.
To be detailed, given the position the bus service to camp smith should absolutely be improved, 9 and 9.30 am in the morning Is not enough at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigfede92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Geneys Splendid
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 182 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from a week skiing staying at this hotel. The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful and special thanks to Cristina the entertainment co-ordinator. She always had a welcoming smile and organised 'stretching classes' in the morning to prepare us for a days skiing!!! It was fun and I am sure it was good for us? Gave us a guided tour of the old town and helped us organise a day trip to Turin. Bingo was fun, as was the table tennis competition. The hotel was very clean and the food was good and plentiful. To have a mini bus to the slopes organised by the hotel made it a pleasure to get to Campo Smith in the morning. Thanks to all staff who made our holiday memorable for all the right reasons - hope to see you again some day.

Room Tip: Room 106 bathroom is not for the fuller figure!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great Hotel, Comfortable, large bedrooms, good shower. The worlds friendliest staff from Christina(Fitness and animation) Bar and restaurant, front desk staff, all very friendly and helpful.

The owners really make you feel welcome, The hotel is in a good spot for Campo Smith or Jafferau and there is a shuttle service from the hotel in the morningand evening.

Foods OK, the local police force also so have there evening meal in the hotel as well, usually about 8 of Bardonecchia's finest.
Also handily placed for the main street with its wine bars and redstaurants.

Would I go back, yes definately,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

just came back from spending a week in the hotel, the rooms were comfortable and very clean the hotel has very friendly staff such as joseph who dropped you off at the ski resort everyday and christina who was very friendly and organised all he entertainment and welcomed us to the hotel and entertained the kids very well too, pino was the barman who was also very friendly and always saying hello its a family run buisness and i would reccomend this hotel the only this whih was disappointing was the food i ordered beef one night and it came raw but overall a very nice and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just returned from a ski week staying at this hotel. It is second generation family run and is one of the most friendly hotels we have ever stayed in. Everyone from the owner to the restaurant staff were wonderful.The barman,Pino was especially helpful,and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel bus to the ski lift was a real bonus. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gordon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent around 10 days at the hotel from Christmas day up until early january.
As soon as we arrived, it felt as if we were arriving to a friend's home, where everyone makes you feel welcomed. The attention we received was delightful too. Staff members are very approachable, friendly and hospitable. They took us to Campo Smith to organise our skiing lessons, and hire of the skies too, all out of their kind hearts with no extra fees.
The hotel is close to the town centre and walking distance from Campo Smith making it an even better stay.
The rooms are clean, well proportioned, and the meals are very well sized, varied and well cooked as well. The dessert they had at the new year's eve dinner was amazing. Top class it was.
If you are staying with kids,the hotel has an adorable entertainer. The entertainer is very good at keeping the kids busy, with all sorts of games, music and dancing. In fact, adults often got involved with the dancing after dinner, and it was all like a big family. Very homely. I really enjoyed my stay at the Des Geneys. If I ever return to Bardonecchia, I will most definitely stay there again and recommend it to other tourists.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel is cheap, poorly furnished and uncomfortable. The brochure depicts a hotel of style and elegance - this is no such establishment. The breakfast is meagre and of poor quality. The garden is unkempt and unpleasant to be in. The swinging garden furniture is old and torn and the wooden furniture is without cushions. The staff here make no attempt to ensure their guests comfort.

Room Tip: no airconditioning - uncomfortable cheap rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grumpylady-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardonecchia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 23 in Bardonecchia
145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Residence Cianfuran Bardonecchia
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ca Fiore
Hotel Ca Fiore
#1 of 23 in Bardonecchia
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jafferau
Hotel Jafferau
#23 of 23 in Bardonecchia
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sommeiller
Hotel Sommeiller
#20 of 23 in Bardonecchia
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Betulla
Hotel Betulla
#14 of 23 in Bardonecchia
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Geneys Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Geneys Splendid

Address: Via Luigi Einaudi 21, 10052, Bardonecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bardonecchia
Price Range: $97 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Geneys Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Geneys Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Geneys Splendid Bardonecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing