We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for first time skiing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Campo Smith
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Bardonecchia
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent base for first time skiing holiday”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had an excellent week in Campo Smith, right next to chairlift, bar / restaurant on site. Half hour walk to nearest supermarket if self catering, not a huge choice of restaurants close by but Bars / restaurants at Campo Smith had a varied menu and reasonable prices. Our only problem was only 3 towels provided for a family of 4 for a week - took reception 2 days to understand that we would need more and would not be stealing them ! Did however, eventually get 4 "packs" of towels that we should have had along with an apology. Apartment very basic but adequate for a self catering holiday. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    87
    36
    21
    14
See reviews for
115
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Ideally situated right next to the piste/Smith chairlift, and opposite Cipo's Bar (the apperitivos not to be missed!), together with a handy ski locker included, this was exactly what we wanted. Having read other reviews, we knew that service may not exactly be that great, or upkeep of the place, but despite this the price and location was so good, we booked.

Warning: if travelling with Neilson (who were excellent - cannot praise highly enough, especially for their Apres schedule), you are not told that you cannot check in until around 5pm - we arrived at lunchtime, meaning that although we could dump our bags in reception, we couldn;t get into our room for several hours - on the upside, we had time for a good explore of the old town - well worth doing.

Once we were in, we were pleasantly surprised - spacious (we were a party of 3, but opted for a larger balcony apartment, and an underoccupancy fee - worth doing) and airy, with an excellent provision of crockery, although only one extremely blunt cleaver for any sort of cooking knife! The bed situation consisted of a larger double, and a sofa with pullout underneath - all very comfortable, but not sure how it would have fitted another person in really!

By the end of the week, much of the paving in the courtyard outside was loose and uneven - a diaster waiting to happen in ski boots! The reception staff spoke good English but were slightly chaotic (we thought there were only two of them, and when large parties arrived at once, they got a bit flustered!) and when we checked out at 6am, the guy on the desk was barely awake - we had to prompt him for the tourist tax we needed to pay (yes, be aware of this too - only came to about 15E in total for the three of us). We also had to ask about the ski locker - a 5E deposit, and situated down the steps next to Rossignol ski hire.

So, overall, a bargain, good accommodation (if you pay for the not quite so basic apartment), well situated, but be prepared to ask and prompt the staff as they probably won't remember!

Room Tip: upgrade to a balcony and pay an underoccupancy fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharoftheShire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We spent 1 week in campo smith, I will try to be very simple and direct:

Pros- easy for skiing, large room, lots of storages, modern architecture.

Cons- Noise from dragging furniture on top floor, not many restaurant near by, only one toilet roll for the week, very small shower room.

general overview - Bardo is a nice resort for beginner and intermediate skiers, not many option for advanced, nice and easy skiing, perfect snow, good ski instructors ( a bit disorganized and not very motivated to make maximum of 3 daily hours tuition, but friendly and helpful) perfect for children, good restaurants at the slopes, very modern, good food everywhere ( as always in Italy), perfect Italian hot chocolate, Cippos bar (outside hotel) has everything you need, wifi, good food, great staff, drinks, music and the perfect pizza. Chesal is the perfect restaurant in the slopes even a lift to take you to basement and toilet.

free shuttle to town (mind timetable as it stops around 5.30pm) but easy 15 minutes walk to shops, bars and bank.They do not take Amex anywhere in that town. not a party resort, very quiet and family friendly.

tip- take your kettle with you and save precious minutes on breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Flaviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed at campo smith from the 26 feb for 1 week. We do ski twice a year and this was the second time in Italy. The campo smith is on the slopes and great door step skiing. Sadly thats all it dose have the restaruarnts on the complex are poor. The town is a 30 minute walk and is like visiting a ghost town. The nearest supermarket is a 25 mins walk and there is no taxi service at all anywhere. Overall poor food and service with no atmosphere whatsoever. Resort and town expensive. Skiing good for begginers but gets boring for intermiadiates nothing to excite apart from one small black run above bosco. Our 10 year old skied the all the area and his first lesson was at xmas so the slopes are very flat. Also wkends are so crowded its a fight to get about. I could go on and on but will leave at that.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bardonecchia hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Three rooms from our Group were robbed. Kids lost ipads, phones and other valuables. Police showed that rooms with current locks can be opened in 3 seconds. Use safe in your room if available. Good location, but service and food are poor. Other places in Italy like Civietta or Three Valee are much better.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have just returned from the campo and thought we would share our thoughts, when we booked the holiday we booked an upgrade from a studio to a 1 bed apartment. It was on 3 levels with tons of storage/drying space and a balcony overlooking the slopes. As mentioned by most the cooking facilities are very basic with 4 electric hobs (no microwave,oven,toaster kettle etc) but we managed fine but the fridge was huge and the freezer adequate.The room was roasting hot and still warm even though we turned all the radiators off so perfect for drying the ski stuff but you will soon suss out and get the temp right for you. You only get 1 toilet roll so pack a couple in your case, apart from that although not big issues for us these things may help others.
On the day of arrival we arrived at 11.30 only to be told that all the rooms would'nt be ready till 5pm but they take your mobile number and call you if its ready earlier, not a prob for us as we grabbed all our gear got changed in the loo and headed out to the slopes.
The hotel is right at the bottom of the slope and ski school is all there too with the lift a minute away, the main strip is 15min walk away where all the shops and restaurants are or you can jump on the free ski bus that runs every 20 mins. There is no food shop at the campo so head into the main strip for all your supplies.
Right our only gripe with our whole trip was the noise in the room, you hear everything from talking,tvs,toilet breaks,noisy shoes/ski boots but the worst for us was the table and chairs being moved as people rearranged there rooms to get the sofa bed sorted, i mentioned this to reception as to put felt on the chair and table legs but i was met by a vacant stare so EARPLUGS are a must, luckily we read other reviews and took some and slept fine.
All in all a great trip on a budget and we would gladly go back in the future, we didnt use any of the leisure facilities but i think there is a added charge

Sorry if i waffled a bit and hope this helps people plan there holiday

Room Tip: upgrade to a slope facing balcony as the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The self catering apartments were excellent for location to ski slopes. The apartments were spacious and clean, although very limited kitchen equipment, no microwave, no oven just four warming rings,we were Lucky to have a kettle but our friends didn't. They only provide you with one small toilet roll so pack one in your case to give yourself time to get to the supermarket. There is a hair dryer and enough towels for a week. On the whole this is a great resort to ski for all abilities and there are plenty of restaurants to eat at within walking distance. Town takes about 20mins on foot there is a bus service but stops running after 5.30pm. The real downside to this accommodation is there is no wifi. We were told to go over to the bar called Cipos for free wifi but we could not get our iPad to work here either so we gave up. Staff in all campo smiths locations were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardonecchia hotels
1.9 mi away
Residence Cianfuran Bardonecchia
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 23 in Bardonecchia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico
Villaggio Olimpico
#3 of 23 in Bardonecchia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ca Fiore
Hotel Ca Fiore
#1 of 23 in Bardonecchia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chalet della Guida
Chalet della Guida
#4 of 23 in Bardonecchia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rive
Hotel Rive
#7 of 23 in Bardonecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Campo Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Campo Smith

Property: Residence Campo Smith
Address: Regione Molino 4, 10052 Bardonecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bardonecchia
#5 Spa Hotel in Bardonecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Campo Smith 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Campo Smith Residence is located in Bardonecchia, a mountain town in the heart of the Val di Susa, a few kilometres outside the city of Turin. In the Campo Smith Residence, you, have the freedom of fully funtioning holiday apartment combined with the comfort and amenities of a hotel, thanks to the "Apart-Hotel" formula, you can also request half-board style treatment. The apartment complex has a lobby, reception, bag storage, baby club, ski storage, a restaurant on the slops with 200 seats and a terraced bar/pizzeria. With a dynamic club-like atmosphere and a central position in the Campo Smith Village, only a few steps away from the ski-lifts and the Bardonecchia Bike Park, you are guarantee'd a vacation with lots of sports and fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Campo Smith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Campo Smith Hotel Bardonecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing