We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Marina, Bardolino”
Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marina
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a really excellent hotel. Spotless inside with aircon, wi-fi, comfortable beds, spacious bathroom and small balcony. We asked for a room at the rear rather than overlooking the road. It was quiet apart from one night when a late arrival, who probably lives in a cave, decided doors must be slammed to close. Breakfast is simple and adequate. For this visit we chose B&B and eat where and when we wanted. Restaurants in Bardolino are pricey. They all do pizzas. We don't do pizzas. The couple who run this family owned hotel are very obliging and speak good English, so happy to join in conversation. I would have liked a fridge in the room as it was really hot at the end of July.
The location is about 4 minutes walk from the main tourist street via a choice of routes. Bardolino is a small town so everything just a stroll away. Strange rules apply like you can sit on the grass at the Lakeside but can't lie down. The police appear from nowhere to make you sit up. You can however completely block the pavement so the pedestrian has to walk in the road. Can't see it catching on in the UK but then we don't make the rules. Garda is just up the road. Masochists who like to fry in the mid-season heat walk between the two places rather than pay a couple of Euros to use the frequent buses. The Info centre at Garda is limited when info required. From Bardolino you can catch the bus to Venice and Verona but no one knows how to get to Milan. Info centre can't tell you what goes on across the lake either. Its in another state. Ferries continue to increase in price.
We've been to Lake Garda 4 times and visited most places around the Lake. Bardolino is highly recommended and we would definitely recommend Hotel Marina.

Room Tip: we were happy with our choice of room at the back, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Telling the true we have choosen this hotel because it was cheap. I was in couple and we say agreed to safe some money and accept to have an hotel not in front of the lake. So our expectation were very low. As a matter of surprise, we were very very happy. Just to make sure that people undestand why I will go in details. First of all we found the place very easy to join. Despite they are a two (simply two stars) they treat us very special. The couple that owns the place are a friendly, the guy wait us at midnight.
POS ELEMENTS
-The place was clean, room big and the windows protect from external noisy.
- We really love to go to the receptio and have people speaking with us with a smile. it is a family hotel run by people that you can see that they love their job.
- We never had the feeling that they try to sell us more thing, everything was included even the wi-fi was included. Sorru to highlight that my I am very annoyed when I want to relax and people are there to sell every seconds... 'give me a brake'
NEG ELEMENTS
- Ok, no frigobar in the room (at least I did not find it)
- The breackfast was nice but not 'over the top', dipsite that I have to say that I love to have a nap in my table instead of cheap paper.

AT the end we extend our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolo_lolo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great hotel for the money - we went mid August and paid a very small amount for our package holiday, so despite very good reviews, we were slightly nervous about whether the hotel would be any good. We saw as soon as we arrived that the other reviews are correct and this is a great place to stay. The hotel is family run and the staff were very friendly, and the room was clean, suitably spacious and with a very nice and seemingly new suite in the shower / WC room. The location was great - it took literally 1 minute to walk into Bardolino village. Rooms have a small balcony, some of which (like ours) overlooked the main road so it could be a little noisy in the day with the door open, but equally it was quiet enough at night, and there was double glazing and air conditioning so that you could shut the door to the balcony for peace and quiet. We were both very very happy with our choice of hotel, and would highly recommend it.

Bardolino itself was a wonderful place to stay, with plenty of bars and restaurants to keep us busy, but with a nice chilled atmosphere and no marauding drunken teenagers - it seemed to attract a mature crowd and I would recommend it for couples 30+. The lake is beautiful with plenty of little (pebble) beaches to lie on and take a dip. The weather when we went (mid August) was hot, but with a constant cool breeze from the lake meaning it never felt too hot or humid. We used the ferry to visit some other villages around the lake and found Bardolino and nearby Garda to be our favourites as they were less crowded than Lazise or Sirmione. We shall certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TellinStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have been staying at the Hotel Marina for ten years & have never been disappointed. Each year there are more improvements. The main reason for our loyalty is that the owner, Giampiero, speaks very good English & is extremely helpful - nothing is too much trouble for him. He is assisted by Oscar who also has good English & his wife, Nicoletta who supervises breakfast. The rooms are cleaned every day & provided with clean towels. There is a safe, a large television with English channels & free Wifi, which was very important to me this year with my new iPad. The rooms also have air conditioning which was very welcome as we had 2 weeks of glorious weather.
The hotel is in a convenient location next to a park. We request a room at the rear so we don't hear the weekend noise. We eat in the Agli Oleandri, Piazza Betteloni & drink in Franco's bar opposite, which has the cheapest & nicest wine. Also, the Yacht bar has friendly staff & cooling fans.
We love Bardolino highly recommend the Hotel Marina.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Italytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very good location, close to the village of Bardolino. Couple that runs the place is superfriendly! When we didn't find parking, they always found a sollution, even in their own garage. They also were very good with information when you asked them. Breakfast was good, tables are numbered like the roomnumbers so you always have a table. Room and bathroom was clean and simple. Street is a bit noisy in the weekend, but there are roll-down shutters so good nights of sleep. We defenitly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This was our first trip to Bardolino for a friend's wedding, we loved it ! Marina is a lovely, clean, family run hotel. We had a our room cleaned everyday, along with fresh towels. The location is great, and good value for money. Amazing restaurants all within walking distance. The owner was very helpful in advising us on how we could get to Verona and Venice. We liked the Breakfast but it was the same each day which was a shame. We booked transfers through the hotel and this was a good efficient service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

What a great holiday and a perfect hotel, just back from Bardolino last Thursday. This was an excellent family run hotel. The hotel has been in the same family hands for over 50 years and has a reputation second to none. The family and friendly staff made our stay very easy and ideal for a good location to Lake Garda. The rooms were cleaned every day and spotless.

The location could not be better only minutes level stroll to the old centre of Bardolino and the ferry landing. If we required anything all you had to do was ask. We ate at an excellent restaurant the 'La Strombata' just minutes walk away.

Would highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pretipink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#20 of 43 in Bardolino
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#12 of 43 in Bardolino
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel al Sole
Hotel al Sole
#11 of 43 in Bardolino
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Katy
Hotel Villa Katy
#8 of 43 in Bardolino
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bardolino
862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
#15 of 43 in Bardolino
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 15, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bardolino
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: $104 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Gardesana Orientale road, next to a public park, the hotel is just outside Bardolino's historical town centre, an entirely pedestrian area and just 300 metres away from Lake Garda. Hotel Marina The hotel has 25 rooms, all equipped with en-suite bathrooms (shower or bathtub), heating and air conditioning with independent control, a phone with a direct line, satellite TV and a safe. The fact that the hotel is family-run contributes to the warm and welcoming atmosphere of the Hotel Marina and offers the ideal conditions for anyone looking for a quiet holiday with a homely atmosphere and yet with the mod-cons of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing