We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i disagree with all the other reviews this was a GREAT experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Olivo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Olivo
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
south shields
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“i disagree with all the other reviews this was a GREAT experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

i have read all the bad reviews on this hotel and i totally disagree, the staff were friendly and helped you with anything, the rooms were clean and tidy. sheets and towels were changed everyday. None of the staff ever moved or touched any of our stuff.

When we first arrived it was about 2 o clock in the morning, all the family who own the hotel were there to welcome us, they give us free drinks and took our suitcases to our rooms. The staff throughout the 2 weeks were all friendly and helpfull, i would not recomend this holiday to people who like loud, party style holidays.
It was a totally different experience to our previous holiday to greece zante, you are expected to be quiet around the hotel, and through the mid day you were often told of for makeing to much noise around the pool, the walk from the hotel was a lovely short walk along the marina which was lovely.
It was a very relaxing peaceful holiday!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ilkley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

i read this report on the day before we flew out to the olivio and i wish i hade read it before i booked.
i can echo just about every word posted by the first family, in fact even more.
we had no camp bed so i went to reception, we were actually in a separate apartment building 300 yards down the road, with a little pool that was shared amongst 7 other apartments ( most of whom we owned by local Italians) more of this pool later, they speak no English , the daughter is learning, they charged me 120 euros and said they would deliver the cot, i trudged back to my room and my wife informed me that this was wrong as we had paid for 5 people, when they brought the cot i tried to explain but they couldn’t understand, so we rang the rep who was lovely and she said she would ring them. we met the rep in reception the following morning and after a heated argument with the owners she got our money back , she said , and i quote " some people are very very awkward to deal with "meaning the owners.

later that day we came back to the room and the cot had been replaced with a camp bed, and we had a little note left in broken English asking us NOT to leave electric on!, the fridge had been turned down and, get this, someone had pulled all the cables out of the tv and taken the scart lead rendering the tv use less( not a big deal for us, but petty to say the least) and not what you expect especially as its advertised as having sky tv, and a phone which we now had neither.

Like the first family we just wanted a chilled out break, we have been 4 times to this region and stayed in others apartments with no issues.

Next day we wandered up to the hotel pool, my wife went to reception to ask for an umbrella shade and she was told we were not allowed to use that pool, !!!!! i was fuming and went and called the rep, the small pool outside our apartment was a bonus but not what we expected as our only pool , and it says in the brochure that we have all the uses of the main hotel.

the rep rang the hotel and called me back apologizing and said it was ok, to use the hotel pool, my wife wasn’t keen on going back because it was really stuffy round the pool, any sound was greeted by disgusted looks from some of the other childless residents, and after the embarrassment the first time, but we had paid a lot of money and the small pool was not sufficient.

we returned the next day , there were kids in there with inflatable’s so we went to buy some for our girls ( 3, 13 and 16 year olds btw) when we got in the pool with them and started playing about , as you do on holiday, the lady owner rushed out and told us to get them out of the pool, everyone did except me, i ignored her and she ran of, i paddled my Lillo to the edge, just in time to see the husband hiding behind a tree, i climbed out and gestured for him to ring the rep, he went mental and threatened me the best he could by shaking his fist and smashing his fist into his hand, then he ran of.

i was livid by this point and once my wife calmed me down we went to ring the rep , i told her we did not want to stay here, the owners were like bloody faulty towers without the humor.

the rep couldn’t do much, as everywhere was full, i calmed down , the rep saw the owners and everyone apologized,

but from point on we never went near the main pool or reception, we didnt let it ruin our holiday but it could have,

i truly hope we don’t come across as some family of chavs who would have found "bovver " were ever we went, we have never ever ever had any trouble any where and we have been most places. my daughters are just normal kids who want to play in a pool and have fun whilst we soak up some sun and read.

i genuinely believe the owners here are tight, someone ( we set little traps, sad but funny for us) kept coming in when we were out, turning the fridge down and generally nosing about. when we came to leave we were genuinely worried that they would find some excuse not to repay the deposit, they paid it all, we left and will never return there again, i am also going to complain to Ingham’s, because what we got was not what was advertised,

to anyone who is thinking of Italy, go , we adore it, so much i am learning the language, but avoid the "olivio"

Thanks

Mark

  • Liked — coing home to see if the owner had sprung our traps
  • Disliked — all of it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank harveyspicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2006

We have just returned from a 10 day stay with Inghams at the Hotel Villa Olivo in Bardolino. After reading the Irish peoples experience at the apartments, I was more than a little concerned.
We duly arrived to be met by the owner and her daughter who had a little English. Well they are Italian! They were always very pleasant throughout our stay. I agree that the breakfast was only adequate and a little boring. The orange juice was either thin or watered, and occasionally we wondered how fresh it all was. However, we all survived the experience by eating yoghurt, soft boiled eggs, rolls, meat, cheese, sultana bread, cake........
My biggest problem was with the towel service. They were changed but not daily and there appeared to be no regular basis for changing them. Some of the towels were well worn rough and pink. They smelt strongly of a bleach used to clean them. Our friends in the next room had newer white soft towels throughout, so maybe we were just unlucky. The hotel, rooms and surroundings were all very nice, the room being new and to a good standard. No problems with our toilet windows!
All in all, if you are booked to go don't worry. Towel service could be better and the breakfast more exciting but everywhere was clean and tidy. The pool didn't look dirty to us and nobody experienced ear problems! Enjoy your stay and do try the La Palafitte restaurant on the main road. A good and varied menu, cheap and delicious.

  • Liked — location and gardens
  • Disliked — towels
  • Tips/Secrets — ask regularly for clean towels
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ksouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

Date of holiday 1st – 15th July 2006

Let me first explain what type of holiday my family and I like, then I will explain the accommodation and lastly I will tell you of our experience of the Villa Olivo in Bardolino Italy (Lake Garda)

We are a family of 2 adults and three boys aged 9, 12 and 14. Our holidays are very simple, we go to an apartment, relax, enjoy the food, swim in the pool and soak up the sun, and that is it. (Sounds boring, but after a long hard working year it is just what the doctor ordered). That is what we wanted from this holiday as well.

The Villa Olivo consists of two types of accommodation: self-catering and a hotel which offers bed and breakfast. Those in the apartments could avail of the breakfast at a cost of 8 euros per person. (But after seeing what was being bought in the local Lidl for breakfast we were put off from having any during our 2-week stay). The grounds around the accommodation are well kept and have good quality olive trees, palm trees and grape vines. In the grounds there are two swimming pools: one 20 metres by 10 metres, and goes from shallow to about 2.5 metres, the other is a children’s pool and is shallow, about 0.3 of a metre. There are 40 beds around the pool.

We choose the Villa Olivo as it offered us the accommodation we wanted, which was a single apartment. In actual fact the apartment consisted of 4 rooms and two balconies. The main room was large and included the kitchen and living area; there were two good-sized bedrooms and a small bathroom. (The toilet was in front of a window and open viewing to the whole world, this was of some concern to all of us). The kitchen area had good facilities, cooker, oven, fridge and all the cups, saucers, pots and pans etc. The beds were fine and in well equipped rooms. There was no air conditioning.

Our experience.

We booked this accommodation through Inghams (what I am about to explain has nothing to do with this company as we have travelled very successfully with them for the past 8 years and will continue to do so in the future). On arrival at the Villa Olivo we were met by one of the owners, a woman who spoke virtually no English, we signed the forms, handed over our passports, 150-euro deposit and were shown to our room.

1The Sofa Bed: This is where we encountered our first problem: - The room was advertised as having a pull out sofa bed in the lounge area, which it didn’t, and as there were 5 of us this was a problem. The owner offered to make up the sofa into a bed and as our youngest is only 9 he was able to sleep on this for the two weeks. We later discovered that the sofa was in actual fact a broken sofa bed and was held together with cable ties.

2The fridge: The Fridge in the apartment was old and not working at the level it was set at, so I turned it up, went out and bought some food and stocked it up. The next day when we came back to the apartment for lunch I noticed that the fridge had been turned down and no one in our party did it. The Inghams rep came in to see us to see if we had settled in and mentioned that the owner had turned the fridge down as it freezes easily. Over the next few days we would turn the fridge up and some one would come in during the day and turn it down.

3Mysterious visitor: During the day someone would be in our apartment and there would be nothing done, we got the impression that the owner was just in to check out what we had in the apartment. This gave us cause for concern and we were unable to leave anything out for fear of what might happen to it.

4Dirty swimming pool: During the first few days the boys said that the pool was dirty and I did not notice, as the owner seemed to clean it. As the holiday progressed I began to notice a ring of dirt around the pool. From the beginning of the second week this was very noticeable. One of the boys was not able to go into the pool on the last two days as he acquired an ear infection; on the last day another one of the boys had a similar ear infection. When we got home both boys were taken to the doctor and he confirmed the infection.

5The Bins: Around the pool area there were a number of bins which were not emptied and by the time we were leaving the apartment one bin at the pool had a number of dirty nappies in it.

6Visitors: We had visitors from home up one day for lunch and within 2 minutes of them arriving the owner was up and she demanded that they left. I had to contact the rep and she phoned the owner to explain that the friends were only up for lunch. This was mighty embarrassing for us and made us feel very uncomfortable.

7Badminton: The accommodation offered NO entertainment during the day and our boys bought badminton rackets and this was their entertainment for some part of the day. The owner on more they one occasion moved them away from their location and indicated that they were making too much noise, as other people were sleeping.

8Noisy neighbours: Our boys were not allowed to make a noise playing a game of badminton, but the non English speaking neighbours (and they were not Italian) were allowed to make lots of noise and have their visitors in their rooms until very late at night.

9Checking out: When we checked in we were charged 150 euro as a returnable deposit, this is normal. On the checkout day the owner came to our apartment with another woman and went through every cupboard to make sure everything was in place. We had the place really clean, with all the sheets and towels stacked neatly, all the dishes cleaned and put away and the floor brushed. The owner charged us 50 euro for cleaning and 20 euro for use of the towels. In the brochure we were to be charged for a change of towels, which we did not get and there was no mention of the charge for cleaning. We paid this 50-euro; in fact we just did not receive the money back. When the rep picked us up, we explained what had happened and showed her the brochure. She went to speak to the owner and after about 10 minutes, she arrived back on the bus and gave us 30 euros back and. She explained that we should not have been charged this.

This is our experience of this accommodation and one which we will NEVER have to experience again as we will NEVER be back.

We got the impression of being treated as second-class citizens and I think it is for a number of reasons.

1:Because we spoke English
2:Because we were staying in the apartments and not the hotel.
3:Because we had children.

If you are thinking of staying at this accommodation please consider this report.

All the best.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank rpc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ca' Mura
Hotel Ca' Mura
#25 of 43 in Bardolino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca' Masawalsa
Hotel Ca' Masawalsa
#38 of 43 in Bardolino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bel Sito
Hotel Bel Sito
#1 of 1 in Cisano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Katy
Hotel Villa Katy
#7 of 43 in Bardolino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vela d'Oro
Hotel Vela d'Oro
#17 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Olivo

Property: Hotel Villa Olivo
Address: Via Campagnola 13 - 15, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Olivo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bardolino Hotel Villa OlivoJust few steps from the lakeside and the centre of Bardolino, one of the most popular tourist destinations on the Verona shore of Lake Garda, you will find our Hotel Villa Olivo: wonderfully surrounded by olive groves and vineyards, in a very sunny and peaceful position. The building is well integrated into the landscape, embraced by 5000 m² of beautiful gardens and enriched by colourful plants and flowers as well as a picturesque little pond.Our rooms are cosy and very spacious and the dependance is completely independent. All of our accommodations are equipped with any comfort which will make your stay even more pleasant. On the ground floor there is nice breakfast room featuring a wonderful view on the garden. There are also a bar and the terrace where to enjoy a little snack a nice garden and the swimming pools for some relaxing moments. Common spaces are also provided with a Wi-Fi internet connection.You can park your car on the huge, covered parking area with video-surveillance and maybe take the chance and take advantage of out bike rental service for a nice tour around the lake. Enjoy the Garda Lake shores, the biggest Italian lake, or maybe the hilly inland, passing through vineyards and orchards, discovering ancient villages and stories telling you everything about these places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Olivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivo Hotel Bardolino
Hotel Villa Olivo Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing