We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY FANTASTIC”
Review of Hotel Vela d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vela d'Oro
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“SIMPLY FANTASTIC”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Located between Bardolino and very nice Lazise in front of the Garda lake along the promenade. Two kilometers walking distance along the very nice promenade to the cosy city of Bardolino. Hotel boss and staff very helpful and nice people. Very good continental buffet breakfast. Coffee machines are together with the desplayed food which makes it sometimes difficult to have coffee without queueing. Coffee is of a good quality, tea can be better. The adjacent restaurant itself doesn't belong to the hotel but seems to be. The food in the restaurant is correct but nothing special although they have very good wines on the list at affordable prices.
Wifi for free works very well everywhere in the hotel also insde the room. Just ask for login and password.
Some rooms with balcony other without but both of them are comfortable. Large flat screen inside the rooms. Airco OK. It is a little bit more than a three stars hotel.
Locked open air parking next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms at the first floor with balcony are on the sunny side of the building overlooking the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    61
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
56
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay there very much. Very friendly and helpfull staff at the reception, really felt welcome. The pool is situated with a nice view to the lake in a private park about 100m along the beach front. Enjoyed the walk along the water front to bardolino. Will for sure go again. They were also very child friendly (always made my daughter feel very welcome).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beafiedler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We are a family of two adults with two teenage children and have just returned from a week at this hotel. If you are looking for a good quality 3 star hotel, the Vela D'oro will not disappoint. It is spotlessly clean and offers excellent service. It is family run and that is evident throughout and so nice to not feel you are just another guest in a large corporate hotel group. The facilities are exactly as described.
This hotel is ideal if you want to be able to access many of the Lake towns and attractions easily, but not stay in a too busy area. Previous reviewers have described what is immediately available in the area and within walking distance. The walks along the promenades to the next towns are all flat and easy walking. This is an ideal place to stay if you do not want to hire a car, just walk, jump on a ferry or a bus.
Lovely church opposite, which chimes, very Italian and quaint.
Recommended excursion if you enjoy sailing is the half day trip on the San Nicolo ketch, good value and very relaxing.
Small tip for the hotel - breakfast lovely and plentiful, but would be nice if varied on some days e.g different type of croissants, fruit. Did get a bit samey after a week.
Would almost certainly return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book a room with Lake view and balcony to get the best from the hotel, views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11dancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I really liked this place, our room was on the corned and had lake views on two sides. They even managed to produce soft boilded eggs for everyone at breakfast, instead of the usual bullets. The staff were all likeable people and I would stay here again. The Hotel is in a small group of buildings right on the water, a little outside Bardolino so you will need transport. There is a carpark and a short distance away a private garden with pool. The lake was a relaxing place but the traffic (in July) was bad coming up from Venice, so allow more time.

Room Tip: Get one with lake view or you will regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1000000Rosscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hard to find words to really do justice to Hotel Vela D'Oro. Our stay there was all too brief and was in very marked contrast to the previous week or so spent at a busier holilday village type complex (which was good too, just much much louder & busier). It's located 2 kms from Bardolino in Cisano and is conveniently located for access to villages all around the lake, either on foot if you want a 20 min stroll in either direction to Lazise or Bardolino, or by car or by water boat - which stops at pier just outside hotel. It has a lovely tidy and friendly feel that deserves more than a three star rating and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Car park adjacent to premises and while the pool/garden area is more like 400 than 100 metres away, the facility itself is all the better for that, an enclosed pool on a raised level overlooking the lake bordered by well maintained gardens with plenty of sun beds available. The village church bell runs a few minutes fast but that or some level of street noise shouldn't disturb your overall sense of tranquility too much. Air con in rooms a little on noisy side and shower cubicle definitely for single person use but these are minor quibbles that shouldn't detract. Free internet access on PC in lobby area and wi fi access also. Five restaurants in direct vicinity of hotel, La Darsenza recommended and many more if you decide to venture further. Worth booking rooms with balcony and lake view and there's a sun terrace on first floor level as well. Definitely going back!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and side view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macseknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the first 10 days in June. It was our first time in lake garda and after lots of research we had high hope not only for the lakes but also for this hotel - it did NOT disappoint !!!
We arrived at the hotel 6pm, the sun was out and setting looked like a picture post card. The staff greeted us with a warm welcome that continued throughout our stay. We are a family of 4 with 2 children aged 13 and 8 years old. Throughout our stay we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble for Carolina, Alex and the other members of staff ( even the maids were lovely and friendly) Caroline is a lovely genuine lady that showed us kindness beyond her role. She was lovely to our children, who enjoyed a game of pool in an evening and occasionally used the computer. The pictures of the hotel do not do it justice. The hotel is immaculate and typically Italian with beautiful oil painting of the lake all over the hotel. The room are equipped to a high standard - very comfortable beds and good quality furniture. The hotel is situated right on the lake between the towns of Bardolino and Lazise in a small quiet town of Cisano , this small harbour town has 4/5 restaurants but is so beautiful and gives excellent access to visit other parts of the lake. The hotel has it's own carpark opposite the hotel, it also has wifi downstairs, a bar and a free pool table. The swimming pool is 150 yards from the hotel, at the other side of the habour. It is set in it's own gardens that are beautiful and well kept. What we loved about the hotel was that it was typically Italian and extremely quiet on an evening. Most evenings we enjoyed a scenic walk along the lake to busy Bardolino where there was an abundance of fabulous restaurants and ice-cream parlours. It was a lovely 25min walk that was enjoyable and also beneficial after our meal and ice-cream! The walk to Lazise was a little longer, perhaps 40 mins, so we only did this once (because of the complaints off the children). We hired a car, which we picked up from the airport and found it useful for visits to the supermarket and also to see other parts of the lake. One day we visited Riva, which took about 1hr, then went onto Limone ( well worth a visit). Overall this hotel, staff & location will be extremely hard to beat and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkRichardsonno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights with my husband, my sister and her husband and my parents.
The hotel itself was great, we asked for quiet rooms, and all of our's opened out onto the sun terrace. All of the rooms were very clean and of a high standard.
The staff were very helpful, in particular Carolina. She introduced herself to us as she had organised our booking, and always remembered what room we were in when we were collecting rooms keys, a nice touch that makes you feel at home.
The young lady on reception (and I must apologise that we never took her name) was equally helpful with our on going requests, and her english was excellent.
The swimming pool is a stunning as the pictures on the web, and they have a lifeguard on duty which would be great for those with children. The only thing that was slightly disappointing was the tinned fruit for breakfast, but the rest of the selection was good.
The hotel is between 2 larger towns, and it was nice to take a stroll in either direction to have meals elsewhere. I would have to say though, that the restaurant's around it, are very good and we often did not stray any further afield after a days sightseeing. The restaurant seemingly attached to the hotel, is excellent and I would definately recommend going there - my dad is still talking about the tiramisu!
You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room around the sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylou007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#4 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Sito
Hotel Bel Sito
#1 of 1 in Cisano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
1.0 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#23 of 43 in Bardolino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vela d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vela d'Oro

Property: Hotel Vela d'Oro
Address: Via Peschiera 2, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vela d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated on the lake front, in the middle of the tourist centre of Cisano, between Bardolino and Lazise, easy reachable by the wonderful promenade.The hotel has 55 rooms with all comforts. Exclusively reserved to our guests there is a magnificent park with ancient trees, swimming pool in front of the lake, lift, big private car-parking, large selection buffet breakfast and an elegant restaurant (separately managed). In the neighbors there are the nicest Italian amusement parks as Gardaland and Canevaworld, and Natural Parks as “Sigurtà” Garden and Safari-Zoo.Excursions can be booked directly at our reception desk. The bus stop to the mains cities around the lake and the historical city of Verona, is in front of the hotel. Anyway, for a nice trip on the Lake Garda, the ship stop is working from 1st June until 30th September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vela d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vela D'Oro Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing