We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vela d'Oro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villa Katy(Bardolino)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ventaglio(Bardolino)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Vito(Bardolino)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort(Bardolino)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Maximilian(Bardolino)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bardolino(Bardolino)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
65
69
11
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
69
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshores of lake gardahotel faceshotel is situatedhot and cold foodideal locationminute walkself servicefresh fruitplenty of sunbedsexcellent hotelgood sizesirmionetownsstrollfridgeferrycheese
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 147 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights with my husband, my sister and her husband and my parents.
The hotel itself was great, we asked for quiet rooms, and all of our's opened out onto the sun terrace. All of the rooms were very clean and of a high standard.
The staff were very helpful, in particular Carolina. She introduced herself to us as she had organised our booking, and always remembered what room we were in when we were collecting rooms keys, a nice touch that makes you feel at home.
The young lady on reception (and I must apologise that we never took her name) was equally helpful with our on going requests, and her english was excellent.
The swimming pool is a stunning as the pictures on the web, and they have a lifeguard on duty which would be great for those with children. The only thing that was slightly disappointing was the tinned fruit for breakfast, but the rest of the selection was good.
The hotel is between 2 larger towns, and it was nice to take a stroll in either direction to have meals elsewhere. I would have to say though, that the restaurant's around it, are very good and we often did not stray any further afield after a days sightseeing. The restaurant seemingly attached to the hotel, is excellent and I would definately recommend going there - my dad is still talking about the tiramisu!
You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room around the sun terrace.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopylou007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My boyfriend's family has been coming to this hotel for close to twenty years and last year I joined them for the first time. It is located on Lake Garda right at Cisano and 2 minutes from the water taxis that take you from village to village. The pool and amenities are very nice. Excellent restaurants all within walking distance (Daniele's is fantastico!) Breakfast at the hotel is hearty and has a good selection for every taste. Nightly prosecco on the roof terrace is a MUST (we brought our own). The wifi worked consistently and let me stay in touch with the office. The hotel staff are truly family and Carolina is brilliant. She helped us book opening night opera in Verona. I understand the rooms are getting a makeover which is a good thing as when I was there they were a bit dated and the beds hard. I very much look forward to coming and staying at this property again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here with my some members of my family for a long weekend in May
The hotel is in Cisano, midway between Bardolino and Lazise, both of which are about a half an hour stroll away alongside the very picturesque lakeside.
The rooms are very clean, and the bathrooms were small but perfectly functional. We didn't have a lake view as we booked late, but most of the rooms do have balconies.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, providing us with bus and train timetables to Venice and Verona, both of which are easily reached from the hotel via bus and train
The breakfast consisted of breads. cold meats, cheese, cereals, croissants, boiled eggs, yoghurts etc., it was laid out very attractively, everything was fresh and plentiful. The coffee was excellent.
There a few restaurants outside the hotel right on the lakeside and plenty of excellent ones in Bardolino and Lazise.
We managed perfectly well without a car, but it was quite difficult getting taxis back from Bardolino and Lazise late at night so take a local number with you to ring as the buses stop running quite early
The hotel has a lovely garden and pool which is a great assest after a hot day sightseeing
All in all I would recommend this hotel highly and would have no hesitation visiting again

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tltprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Vela d'Oro is a nice, cozy hotel on the shores of lake Garda. The location s great, just by the pier of Cisano. Cisano itself is a quiet place halfway between Bardolino and Lazise, two beautiful villages within walking distance from Cisano (~20m). While Bardolino and Lazise have much more to see than Cisano itself, they are also more busy and crowded, making Cisano an excellent compromise location. Some boats of the regular Garda service stop in the pier just in front of the hotel, making the boat service an excellent option to visit some emblematic places on the south of Garda (namely Sirmione, which is just about 30/40m away by boat), and avoiding the often crowded roads around the lake shore.

Vela d'Oro itself is a small and cozy hotel. It is hard to find one negative point about this hotel. Of course, this is a family type hotel and not a 5 star unit. But the staff is friendly, the service is excellent and efficient, the location and view over the lake are great, the garden and swimming pool are fantastic and the private parking quite convenient. The breakfast is continental type but it is great, with a good option of cheese, ham, rolls, croissants, cereals, yoghurts and eggs, making it more than reasonable. A single minor point about the breakfast is the lack of fresh fruit, which is mostly (all?) canned. The service in the breakfast room is also worth a quite positive reference: while we have been here for one week at the high season and the hotel was reasonably crowded, the breakfast tables were permanently clean and ready to be used. The time between the the guests leaving and the table being is renewed was minimal, avoiding the messy feeling that one often experiences in breakfast rooms at peak hours.

Our room was brand new and fitted with air conditioned, a ceiling fan, a fridge and a large balcony with one table and chairs and amazing views over the lake. It would be impossible to ask for more. A minor negative point goes for the douche cabin, which is a little bit on the small side.

On the lake shore just near the hotel there is a good assortment of restaurants with beautiful lake views at a quite affordable price, therefore there is plenty of eating options around. Given the number of good options around, we never experienced the hotel restaurant, which was slightly more expensive.

In short, Vela d'Oro is a fantastic and cozy place to stay. Congratulations to Caroline and all her staff for providing an excellent service in such an amazing place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FernandoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for a week bed and breakfast. It's approximately 25 minutes walk to Bardolino centre. The pool is in a lovely setting. The staff were helpful and friendly. We booked direct via email and got a reasonable rate for a triple room with balcony on the roof terrace. The air con in the room could have been a bit cooler as temperatures while we were there were 32 degrees and the air con was set at 17.5. We would definitely return to this hotel should we return to Lake Garda. There was a local carnival weekend when we arrived with good live music entertainment within walking distance. There is a bus stop outside the hotel and you can catch the ferry at the jetty at a couple of times during the day. Bardolino and Lazise are within walking distance so this is a great base. There are a few places to eat alongside the hotel, all reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on the lakeside to get a room with a lovely view
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews