We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel, super location, super staff”
Review of Hotel Vela d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vela d'Oro
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“super hotel, super location, super staff”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

A really smart, clean hotel perfectly situated on the lake with the Cisano ferry jetty right in front of the hotel. The staff are warm and friendly. The room was good althougth I understand if you get a room on the road side it can be noisey, this was not a problem for us. It is about a 20 min walk into Bardolino, arround 3/4 hour to Verona and 11/2 hours to Venice. there are local vineyards close by which you can visit. We visited Zeni which had an interesting museum and free wine tasting. We toured the lake visiting Malchesine, Limione, where they filmed the begining of the James Bond film Quantam of Solace, so nice to drive the road and imagine. The boat trips arround the lake are wonderfull went to Maderno and Sirmione where a power boat race was being held. At the front of the hotel on the lake are a range of restraunts with views and sunsets it would be hard to beat anywhere in the world. Especially good are la Densa and Al Germano.
Extra pluses Wi- fi and free secure parking. Swimming pool is located about 100 yards from the hotel.
Would I come here again, most definitly and especially to see Aida performed at the Roman arena in Verona an absoulte must.

Room Tip: Get a room lakeside avoid being on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    63
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
59
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in July 2011. It's right on the lake shore and offers stunning views if you manage to get a bedroom looking out onto the lake - many come with a private balcony. There is a lovely swimming pool, gardens and a tennis court about 200 metres away from the hotel which is a great place to spend a lazy day. Staff excellent and speak many languages. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent_England_Sjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, CA.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This is a lakefront hotel with gorgeous views of Lake Garda which is just steps away (about 30 feet). Direct access to the beach is nearby.
There is a rooftop terrace with tables/chairs/lounges with a beautiful view of the yacht harbor on Lake Garda. Our room opened onto a terrace that led to the shared terrace. Several beachfront restaurants within a few steps of the hotel. Close by, bicycles and motorcycles can be rented. Free private parking. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. In fact, I left some important papers including maps and hotel confirmations in the room and didn't discover it until we were well on our way to Florence. Vela d'Oro mailed the documents to our hotel in Rome and everything was waiting for us upon our arrival. They did not charge us for the postage which was much appreciated. We can't say enough about their service and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 356PorscheGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Went to lake garda in Sept. for 4 nights what an amazing place. Hotel is in an excellent location overlooking the lake, so peaceful. It is approx. a 20 minute walk into Bardolino. Lots of ducks and swans in the lake. Breakfast was included and it was basic but fine. We did not eat in hotel in evening. The pool is about a 3 min walk from hotel in an elevated position overlooking the lake. Very well done in a park setting - the girl who was the lifeguard carried out all duties and she was wonderful. But the pool was soo
cold. There are no beaches here just jetty's and very little stone beach which is tiny. Weather very mixed. There is a Church across the road from hotel and the bell goes on the hour every hour even during the night - but you get use to it. We hired a car great for getting around and sight seeing.
Please note that you must leave in plenty of time for Airport as the traffic in the evening going towards Milan is unreal - we left 4.5 hours before our flight and arrived when flight was boarding the traffic was bumper to bumper - so be ware. Enjoy this wonderful romantic peaceful place - we will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and I travelled to Lake Garda as part of an organised tour from June 13th-20th.

Positives:
Good location - lake-side setting - try to get a room at the back or side for a nice lake view and peace and quiet (the front of the hotel faces a busy road);
Good breakfast;
Rooms clean and comfortable with aircon;
Staff helpful and polite;
Access to good sized, clean pool;
Free internet access at reception

Negatives:
Evening Meal - provided by restaurant attached to the building - not much variety - very plain food;
No real bar area indoors;
Clock/bell tower - strikes/rings on the hour - always woke me around 5am!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shells99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. antrim
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

stayed at the hotel 6/13 june 2010. holiday booked via travelmail and was halfboard.
the hotel is in a lovely location in a quiet area. it is in easy walking distance of other towns and a ferry service is just yards from the hotel.
the hotel and rooms were very clean and staff friendly and helpful. our room was quite small with a side lake view and a small balconey. other rooms varied in size, some with lake view, some overlooking the road. each room had a free safe/ceiling fan and air conditioning. the large, clean pool was 5 mins walk from the hotel and set in its own gardens. a life guard was on duty most of the day and there were ample loungers both around the pool and in the garden.

the hotel itself only does b@b and there was a good choice for breakfast.
the evening meal was in the attached resturant, which is under different management.
there was a very limited choice of meal, which was served in a back room, separate from the "paying diners". even the tables were not set to the same standard.
a lot of the persons on our trip decided to eat elsewhere at added expence.

highly recommend the hotel and area, but avoid the half board option.

avoid venice - its a complete ripoff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistermac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. However on our first night in room 143 although we were extremely tired after travelling we could not sleep as we were looking straight down to main road and traffic whizzed by all night long. Also in this lovely big room there was like a column in the middle of the room. Maybe it contained pipes because also through the night it was like running water in the room any time a toilet was flushed or tap on.
We had to stay a second night as staff could not change us until third night. We got a smaller room which we did not mind as it had a fantastic view of the lake but had no fridge and the TV was tiny and up at ceiling level. The walls in this room 203 were paper thin and so we could hear all conversation plus TV next door and so although location was excellent, sleep is also very important. Tea/Coffee making facilities would be nice as in most European hotels

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaysItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
845 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#3 of 43 in Bardolino
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
1.0 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#23 of 43 in Bardolino
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vela d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vela d'Oro

Property: Hotel Vela d'Oro
Address: Via Peschiera 2, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vela d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated on the lake front, in the middle of the tourist centre of Cisano, between Bardolino and Lazise, easy reachable by the wonderful promenade.The hotel has 55 rooms with all comforts. Exclusively reserved to our guests there is a magnificent park with ancient trees, swimming pool in front of the lake, lift, big private car-parking, large selection buffet breakfast and an elegant restaurant (separately managed). In the neighbors there are the nicest Italian amusement parks as Gardaland and Canevaworld, and Natural Parks as “Sigurtà” Garden and Safari-Zoo.Excursions can be booked directly at our reception desk. The bus stop to the mains cities around the lake and the historical city of Verona, is in front of the hotel. Anyway, for a nice trip on the Lake Garda, the ship stop is working from 1st June until 30th September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vela d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vela D'Oro Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing