We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great position”
Review of Sportsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Sportsman has a great position, sraight on the lakeside and even with it's own beach area actually edging into the Lake. You have a lovely walk alongside the lake either to Bardolino to your left or Garda to your right. Both are a gentle 15 minute stroll and both towns are delightful with lots of restaurants and bars on the waters edge. At dinner, the food in the hotel was good with plenty of choice, also served quickly by friendly waiters/waitresses. It was lovely having breakfast outside in the Hotel's garden, a good start to the day. We had a room overlooking the lake, well worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a like view room
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bpd1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Sportsman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

My wife and i spent 4 nights in this hotel in June 2011. The hotel is actually located mid-way between Bardolino and Garda on the lakeside walk that links the two towns. From the hotel it is approximately 15 minutes walk each way to either Bardolino or Garda.
The hotal is made up of a main building and a separate building with two floors of apartments which are all quite spacious. We stayed in one of the apartments in the upper floor of this building which looked out directly onto the lake. the view was fabuloous and we had a large verandah with tables and chairs and sunbeds.
Breakfast was downsatairs in the garden restaurant and the quality, variety and standard of food was very good. In the main building there is a more formal restaurant where dinner was served at night but we did not eat there but instead went to restaurants in Bardolino. We did not have enough time to explore both Bardolino and Garda and we intend to go back soon. Two restuarants worth mentioning in Bardolino are "Casanovas" and "restaurant Biri".

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Hotel was excellent. Rooms were clean with good quality fittings (Grohe taps in bathroom etc.). Private beach was fabulous too!
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Service at breakfast was swift and efficient and the Matre D' must get a special mention for being especially useful. Food was of a god standard and plenty of variety.
Staff at reception were only too happy to help. They photocopied bus and train timetables as required and told you bus numbers etc.
The hotel location was good for us but it took us (bearing in mind we're both in our 20s) about 30 mins at a brisk walk to get to the centre of Bardolino and about the same to get to Garda. The hotel does have a free shuttle bus to Bardolino and there is a service bus stop just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Timbot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

For our first visit to Italy and Lake Garda, we chose to stay on the South East of the Lake. The Sportsman Hotel turned out to be a perfect choice for us, approximately 45 minutes from Verona Airport and situated on a lovely, quiet lakeside path between Garda, approximately a 15 minute and Bardolino, approximately a 20 minute stroll. Whilst the exterior of the hotel may appear to be a bit uneventful, inside it was a different story. The hotel has its own outdoor pool, a small private beach area and boardwalk just across the path from the hotel. There is also a lovely sheltered private garden in which to relax!
We received a very warm welcome from Jarka, the receptionist, and were shown to our spotlessly clean room which had a balcony and direct views of Lake Garda that just left us speechless - che bello! There was plenty of storage space in the room with toiletries, bathrobes and separate towels for the pool/beach provided.
Every aspect of service in this hotel is first class and all of the staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is top class. A buffet breakfast was provided with a wide selection of cereals, fruit, meats, cheese, breads as well as bacon, mushrooms, scrambled egg & sausages. Our booking was for half board and we enjoyed delicious and varied evening meals. We were not able to attend the Gala dinner on Sunday evening as we took a sunset cruise to Lazise, but it sounded wonderful and the barbecue in the hotel garden was very enjoyable!
We were lucky enough to get places on the complimentary lake trip, offered by the hotel, on the schooner San Nicolo which was absolutely marvellous. We tried to fit in as many excursions as possible including Venice, the Lake Tour and the Dolomites and would have happily stayed for another week just soaking up the atmosphere – oh well, we’ll just have to come back again and when we do it will be to the Sportsman Hotel! Excellent food, excellent accommodation, excellent staff! We would like to thank Marco, Jarka, Ilaria, head waiter Antonio, our waitress for the week Valentina, to name just a few, for making this a perfect holiday! Grazie mille!

Room Tip: Try for a direct lake view - to die for!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

When you see consistently good reviews you are sometimes sceptical but in this case it lived up to all our expectations. Excellent food and accommodation, nice setting and the staff on the whole were a credit to the hotel. Prices reasonable too so don't think you have to walk to Bardolino or Garda for cheaper drink and food it's competitively priced. Whilst the boat is a lovely way to travel up and down the Lake the bus is much cheaper and of course quicker. Bus stops at the top of the drive. Don't try to make your own way to Venice it's not easy. Ttake an excursion with no hassle and you get loads of free time in the city. Take bus to Verona well worth a visit to this compact and interesting town. Oh and don't mis the Dolomite trip either. There's so much to see we'll have to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peteratko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

uninspired architecture and public areas don't detract from this excellent hotel in a lovely location. Large modern bedrooms which are spotlessly clean, fabulous food, and excellent friendly staff. Situated in a quiet spot right on the lake - easy walk into both Bardolino and Garda. Would return

Room Tip: beach facing rooms are quiet/have juliet balconies
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

If you want busy night life and entertainment don't go to this hotel. However if you want any of the following this is the place to go.
1. Spotlessly clean hotel with wonderful courteous staff.
2. A very acceptable continental breakfast and wonderful 5 course dinner with proper italian food. Not a chip in sight.
3 A very reasonably priced wine list with some great Italian wines.
4. A lovely garden for a snack lunch. Try one of their pizzas with a lovely bottle of chilled Lamberti Soave. Superb.
5. Great walks along the lakeside to either Garda or Bardolino.
6. Access in Bardolino to the best ice cream in Italy.
7 Buy return bus tickets to Verona ( among other places) at the hotel for 7 euros return and jump of thre bus at the entrance top the hotel
5.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LiamBelfast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#2 of 43 in Bardolino
415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
754 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
1.4 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Hotel

Address: Via Gardesana Dell'Acqua 17, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bardolino
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
#18 Family Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: $117 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sportsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sportsman is located halfway between Garda and Bardolino, directly on the lake, in an enviable, calm and peaceful location. It is the perfect destination for guests who wish to relax or do sport. The hotel boasts a bar, restaurant, lounge, tv room, terrace, swimming pool, private beach, wifi, air conditioning in all rooms, heating and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing