We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
160
60
14
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
60
14
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachlake viewlake tripmaitre dehotel putscross trainerbbq nightcourse dinnerhour cruisehalf boardbeach bagbreakfast is servedexcellent hotellakeside pathhotel poolbike ridemeal times
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 236 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2011

If you want busy night life and entertainment don't go to this hotel. However if you want any of the following this is the place to go.
1. Spotlessly clean hotel with wonderful courteous staff.
2. A very acceptable continental breakfast and wonderful 5 course dinner with proper italian food. Not a chip in sight.
3 A very reasonably priced wine list with some great Italian wines.
4. A lovely garden for a snack lunch. Try one of their pizzas with a lovely bottle of chilled Lamberti Soave. Superb.
5. Great walks along the lakeside to either Garda or Bardolino.
6. Access in Bardolino to the best ice cream in Italy.
7 Buy return bus tickets to Verona ( among other places) at the hotel for 7 euros return and jump of thre bus at the entrance top the hotel
5.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LiamBelfast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and i went to this hotel in the middle of May on a twin centre holiday.

It is ideally situated 15 minutes flat walk to Garda and 20 minutes flat walk to Bardolino. The bus stops on the main road outside the hotel, making it very easy to reach different towns around the lake and also to visit Verona very cheaply.The bus tickets are obtained from the hotel reception .We found the reception staff to be very helpful, they will provide bus, train and ferry time tables. There is a hotel courtesy bus to Bardolino available on request.

Our large hotel room was very clean and comfortable, plenty of storage space with views over the hills at the back.

The breakfast was buffet style , with lots of choice including fresh fruit, cooked or continental. Breakfast could be eaten either inside or outside in the garden area.The delicious five course evening meal is served in the main restaurant and is very efficiently run.

The hotel has a nice private outdoor pool, and a small private beach area with plenty of sunbeds at both.

We find it hard to find any fault with this hotel other than they can't make tea and coffee.It has a very relaxed atmosphere and the staff can't do enough for you.

We loved our holiday at Lake Garda, there was plenty to do in Garda and Bardolino. There was a weekly maket at both places. which we found to be interesting. We visited Lasize which is a lovely little town. We also went to Sirmione and went up the castle for lovely views.(not open Mondays). This end of the lake is ideally situated for visiting places. the ferries and buses were very easy to use. It is only an hour and a half by coach to Venice. We spent our second week at Limone. This is the most scenic end of the lake, and was more peaceful and relaxing. We visited Malcesine from Limone and went up the cable car which is well worth doing if you like spectacular scenery.

We would recommend the Sportsman to anyone looking for a comfortable base with excellent food in a nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 6hikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We had a lot of trouble deciding what location to stay in while visiting Lake Garda for the first time. Hotel Sportsman is a very good value hotel between Bardolino and Garda. In previous reviews there was conflicting information about how far the hotel was from the towns. We timed our walks and it was 15 minutes to Garda and 20 minutes to Bardolino at a reasonable pace. The location was perfect for us as when we wanted to explore the lake both Garda and Bardolino had excellent ferry service to all of the lake. We had a lake front room that was of reasonable size with a terrace, the rooms are not plush but are very adequate. We had a meal in the restaurant one night however nearly every one in the restaurant seemed to be on full board and the meal was served at such a quick speed it did not make for leisurely dining. Other nights we walked or drove to Garda and Bardolino and found great places to eat. For your reference Garda is quite a small town and Bardolino would be twice as big. The markets at Garda were great and most of the stalls had quality talian made goods at reasonable prices

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed last year at the Nettuno Hotel and could not get a room for our proposed stay this August, so we chose the Sportsman.How lucky were we!! What a good choice. The room was very good. Cleaned daily, spacious and very comfortable. We chose the half board option and we found this good value. Good menu, really good food and service was excellent. The maitre de, Antonio, was excellent in a lovely understated way. Always made us feel welcome. All the staff were extremely helpful and approachable. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble.
The private 'beach' area at the lake is an added bonus along with the good sized pool and spacious grounds. It is centrally located equi distant from Bardellino and Garda. Cannot praise the hotel and staff highly enough. Would highly recommend the Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lrcoleraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This was our first time in Italy and we absolutely loved it. Bardolino and Garda are both great places for shopping, cafes and night life and the Hotel Sportsman is well placed right between the two.
As this was our Honeymoon we required somewhere a bit special and the Hotel Sportsman was just that. The hotel was spotless, the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the private beach and pool area were very well kept and although there were always lots of guests there was always a few spare sun loungers to do a bit of sun bathing.
The room was very well maintained and there was clean bedding and towels every day. We had a Lake view room and what a view! The Lake is beautiful especially at sunset.

The food was very good, a nice selection of well cooked and tasty food. I want to particularly highlight the fantastic job Antonio the Maitre d' does, he made us feel very welcome and ensured our stay was very very special.

We booked our holiday through Thompson and took advantage of the day trips on offer, we took the Lake Tour - right round the whole lake by bus stopping off on the way in a few of the villages on the way round for lunch, coffee and shopping- The Opera in Verona, we saw Carmen and it was amazing - and Venice by night, a beatuful city. Our only disappointment was that we didnt get to go on the boat trip on the lake organised by the Hotel, there are only 20 places and we did not book quickly enough.

We will definately go back to the Sportsman and have already recommended it to friends and family.

Super hotel, fantastic place to stay, wonderful Honeymoon. :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen070810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews