We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$229
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nettuno Hotel(Bardolino)
$207
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$271
$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Hotel 4 Stagioni(Bardolino)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort(Bardolino)
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$268
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue(Bardolino)
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Pietro(Bardolino)
$207
$200
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Color Hotel(Bardolino)
$279
$252
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
159
59
14
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
59
14
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachlake viewlake tripmaitre dehotel putscross trainerbbq nighthour cruisehalf boardcourse dinnerbreakfast is servedexcellent hotelbeach towelslakeside pathhotel poolmeal timessailing ship
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 234 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We had a lot of trouble deciding what location to stay in while visiting Lake Garda for the first time. Hotel Sportsman is a very good value hotel between Bardolino and Garda. In previous reviews there was conflicting information about how far the hotel was from the towns. We timed our walks and it was 15 minutes to Garda and 20 minutes to Bardolino at a reasonable pace. The location was perfect for us as when we wanted to explore the lake both Garda and Bardolino had excellent ferry service to all of the lake. We had a lake front room that was of reasonable size with a terrace, the rooms are not plush but are very adequate. We had a meal in the restaurant one night however nearly every one in the restaurant seemed to be on full board and the meal was served at such a quick speed it did not make for leisurely dining. Other nights we walked or drove to Garda and Bardolino and found great places to eat. For your reference Garda is quite a small town and Bardolino would be twice as big. The markets at Garda were great and most of the stalls had quality talian made goods at reasonable prices

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed last year at the Nettuno Hotel and could not get a room for our proposed stay this August, so we chose the Sportsman.How lucky were we!! What a good choice. The room was very good. Cleaned daily, spacious and very comfortable. We chose the half board option and we found this good value. Good menu, really good food and service was excellent. The maitre de, Antonio, was excellent in a lovely understated way. Always made us feel welcome. All the staff were extremely helpful and approachable. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble.
The private 'beach' area at the lake is an added bonus along with the good sized pool and spacious grounds. It is centrally located equi distant from Bardellino and Garda. Cannot praise the hotel and staff highly enough. Would highly recommend the Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lrcoleraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This was our first time in Italy and we absolutely loved it. Bardolino and Garda are both great places for shopping, cafes and night life and the Hotel Sportsman is well placed right between the two.
As this was our Honeymoon we required somewhere a bit special and the Hotel Sportsman was just that. The hotel was spotless, the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the private beach and pool area were very well kept and although there were always lots of guests there was always a few spare sun loungers to do a bit of sun bathing.
The room was very well maintained and there was clean bedding and towels every day. We had a Lake view room and what a view! The Lake is beautiful especially at sunset.

The food was very good, a nice selection of well cooked and tasty food. I want to particularly highlight the fantastic job Antonio the Maitre d' does, he made us feel very welcome and ensured our stay was very very special.

We booked our holiday through Thompson and took advantage of the day trips on offer, we took the Lake Tour - right round the whole lake by bus stopping off on the way in a few of the villages on the way round for lunch, coffee and shopping- The Opera in Verona, we saw Carmen and it was amazing - and Venice by night, a beatuful city. Our only disappointment was that we didnt get to go on the boat trip on the lake organised by the Hotel, there are only 20 places and we did not book quickly enough.

We will definately go back to the Sportsman and have already recommended it to friends and family.

Super hotel, fantastic place to stay, wonderful Honeymoon. :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen070810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

...I can't disagree with any of the positive reviews but this hotel just wasn't for me, more about that later. The food (5 courses with 4 choices on 2 of the courses) was outstanding, the service was impeccable and the hotel was immaculate.
It has the cleanest pool I have ever swum in and beach towels are provided. Even though it got very busy at the weekend loungers for 3 were never a problem. Drinks can be ordered from the barmaid who appears very 40 minutes or so. The same standard at the private beach (no bar service). This was raked and cleaned every morning and sunbeds re-positioned every evening. Swimming in the lake was wonderful.

The restaurant was first class with a service to match, the Maître d' runs a very tight ship and the staff are very attentive without being intrusive; the food however was not classically Italian and as such a disappointment. Wines were Italian and excellent, try the local stuff.

We were given a free upgrade to a lake view room which, although basic, was spotlessly clean and well serviced. The view was stunning. Ask for a second key to avoid disturbing your room-mates after a nightcap.

Walk to Garda, 20 mins leisurely to the centre of Town, it is much prettier than the walk to Bardolino. For that use the complimentary shuttle bus, make sure you book your return journey on the day. We booked the night before and were forgotten about when the receptionist changed.

Prices are high in Italy, a 400ml beer in this hotel is 4,70 Euro which is about £5.50 a pint! Although you can find bars a bit cheaper on the promenade that runs in front of the hotel. English is widely spoken to the point where it is impossible to practice Italian, they just want to get you served.

So what was wrong? For me this hotel lacked soul; no character, no personality. The staff noticeably relax on the MD's day off and the feeling lifts a little. Perhaps the predominantly German clientèle require this over-efficiency. It was, in fact, too perfect for me. It's like the difference between an Alfa and a BMW; the Alfa will not be perfect but it will have a heart . If you want a typically Italian experience this might not be for you. If you want 5 star service at a 4 star price you can't go far wrong at The Sportsman.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigMamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This is our 2nd year staying at the Sportsman,and we love it.The hotel is situated between Bardolino,25 minute walk,and Garda, only 15 minutes.There is a walkway and cycle path,which goes from Bardolino to Garda,so it's very safe for the kid's.It is 30 minutes away from Gardaland and the water park.The hotel is rite on the lake with it's own private beach,with a great pool at the side.Lovely,clean room,with air conditioning throughout.Beautiful dining room,with great food and wine.Try the Lenotti rose,and the red is called Le Olle-to die for!! Antonio and his staff are fantastic,and most of them were there last year.Very attentive,but not in your face! We are in the process of booking for holiday number 3,for next year,so that's how good we rate this hotel. Excellent!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews