We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but clean”
Review of Hotel Speranza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Speranza
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Like the last reviewer,we stayed as part of a group.We were lucky to have a front facing room with a balcony.Well,lucky comes at a price.Though billed as pedestrianised,there are times - usually very early in the day or late at night when vehicles shoot up &down as though they were at Brands Hatch!And of course,folk strolling up from the lakeside chatting nineteen to the dozen - how dare they!
Being a wee hotel,there's very little sitting out space,only 4 small tables,so as our group came back at the end of the evening,there was only enough seating for about 12.
The hotel was simple but clean & tidy.Towels changed daily,sheets twice while we were there.A complaint we had with our room was the size of the shower- 24sq.inches!not a lot of room to stretch there!(or am I too big?don't answer that!)I understand that others had much larger showers all the same.
The food was a bit of a disappointment.I know we shouldn't expect the same as at home but it was just a tad too simple for most tastes.4 wee slices of tomatoes and mozzarella cheese as a main course.And the pudding?better without it,go out for an ice cream is a better bet.
By the way,I read somewhere that a swimming pool was being built at the back of the hotel.No sign,is it a victim of the recession?Shame.
The town of Bardolino is lovely,plenty of (expensive)shops to admire.Pleasant lakeside walks,lovely at night all lit up.And of course,there's the ferries to all the other places,Limone,Riva,Sirmione to name a few.
And,if not on a tour,buses go to Verona,for example,and you can do the walking or bus tours there and do the Romeo & Juliet thing on the famous balcony too!(you & dozens of others too!)Enjoy!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weemaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 66 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

Basic hotel in a so called pedestrian street. There's less traffic on the M1 !

Stayed as part of a tour group in late August 2011. A very basic hotel, but clean and comfortable. The down side was the food and being woken every moring around 5.45am by delivery vehicles and the 'council' putting lights up for an arts festival and then taking them down 3 days later...again at 5.45am. I dont think they know the meaning of turning an engine off.

The hotel is ideally situated as it is approx a 5 minute stroll down to the promenade and the same to the local bus stop from which you can take the local bus up to Riva del Garda or down to Verona.

We had the most gorgeous ice cerams whilst we there from the ice cream shop nearest to the hotel - we did try different shops but kept coming back to this one (you have to try the Limone!)

As i said the real let down, for me, was the food in the hotel. There was a cold continental breakfast of ham, cheese, fruit salad (tinned), bread, jams and cereals. We were not offered croissants but i did notice that other guests were. The evening meal consisted of a small salad selection, a starter, a main course and a small desert. The starter and main course was a choice of 2 dishes which you had to choose at breakfast and usually consisted of a soup or very small pasta dish and the main course either a meat or vegetarian dish with 1 portion of a vegetable. A typical menu was, tomato soup or a small pasta dish followed by the meat or vegetarian option. The desert being along the lines of a slice of dry cake with squirty cream and a slice od peach on top. One evening they excelled themselves.. we had Tomato & Mozarella as a main course - 4 slices of tomato and 4 slices of mozarella ! I think a majority of guests went out for Pizza that night.

The hotel is on a busy throughfare, so if you have a room on the front you have no chance of a quiet night, as people and vehicles come and go at all hours. As well as the main hotel there are 9 rooms located in a building opposite. Again these have the same problem if you are located at the front.

Contrary to other postings i have read, there is no pool at this hotel, the building work to the rear of the hotel is for a car park and for those that like to keep up with social networking, there is no internet access at this hotel (well there is, but they wont allow you to connect to it, even though you can log into it)

As the hotel is in the pedestrianised area, you will not be able to take your vehicle to the hotel. It will have to be left at the end of the road in the public parking spaces and walk to hotel - about 2 mins walk.

Overall the hotel was ok, with the exception of the food. It was clean & comfortable and fine as a base to tour the area. Bardolino is a lovely little town where you can enjoy a peaceful walk along the promenade any time of day and night.
Would i stay here again?.................. No, i would choose somewhere with a pool as the temperature was in the high 30's and i like to chill out.

Room Tip: For a peacful nights sleep ask for a room to rear of property, not overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel is in the absolute perfect location in the Lake Garda resort of Bardolino, which has by far more to offer than neighbouring Garda. Bardolino is cleaner, has more restaurants & shops (yes i have stayed in Garda)

On arrival we were greeted warmly. The room was of adequate size, clean but the decor was a little tired...however DO NOT let this put you off! We had roon 101 with a balcony with flowers! The rooms with balconies had shutters on them which shut out all light which gave us both excellent nights sleep.

The breakfast included was the same everyday, which got a bit boring toward the end of the week, however what was served was fresh (i saw the staff cutting ham&salami in the kitchen) and the young lady who served us all week was courtious and gave me an extra tea bag in my teapot! (fussy english tea drinker!)

We will be returning to this hotel next year. At the time of our visit they were building a pool......i hope its finished by the time we return!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dubbledeckdrivinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Do not exect a smart hotel with lots of facilities, but the hotel is friendly and excellently located. The owners and staff were helpful and welcoming and we greatly enjoyed our stay.

The rooms are of average size. The furniture is a little bit tatty and the decoration is plain, but the bed is comfortable and we felt at home. There is a wall safe in the room. The rooms at the front have balconies that overlook the street - it's not noisy at all being semi-pedestrianised - and were worth the extra when we stayed. It's good fun to sit there and watch the world go by. However, the building site currently at the back of the hotel should be transformed by next year (2011) into an area with a swimming pool which would make the back rooms more attractive

The breakfast was unexceptional, with all the usual continental breakfast stuff but not much variety. We did not have the evening meals.

The location is very good and Bardolino is a lovely place to wander around. The hotel is less than ten minutes walk to anywhere in the centre of Bardolino and only a hundred yards to the nearest restaurant. There are scores of places to eat within a few minutes walk of the hotel, most of high quality. The ferry port is also about five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DorsetDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Hotel Speranza very clean and comfortable, meals well presented and a varied choice of starters and main courses.lovely italian recipies.
Hotel well situated approx. 3mins from the lake.

Stayed: September 2008
2  Thank MEGANAMELIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Well, i was pleasantly surprised, having read the previous reviewer's comments, i was assured that it was a good hotel. However, it exceeded my expectations. It was beautifully situated, on a gorgeous, archeytpal Italian back street. It was bustling, but in that safe, italian community way. It really was blissful, we felt secure and comfortable. When we got there, i immediately took photos galore of the street it was on - stunning. If you get a front room, you might get a balcony overlooking the street. If you get a back room, as we did, you get a scenic, country view. Either way, a beautiful view! The staff were very friendly, particularly the manager. He was a lovely wee man. When we got accidently abandoned in Venice by a tour guide and had to make our way home very late, he was so worried for our safety and looked emotional at our return! If i do visit the area again, and i'm not staying in the Speranza, i'll make a point of popping in to see him. You feel like a real guest there. Do not confuse this hotel Speranza with the one in Sirmione. Our Bardolino one looks much nicer. Would unhesitatingly go there again, and hope to. Highly recommended. Good food, friendly, beautiful, very clean, conveniently cited, great transportation hub, i recommend Bardolino over everywhere we visited (Garda town = tacky chav hole, Sirmione = stunning, but Bardolino = a great home base) and The Hotel Speranza in particular.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dave-itt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oslo, Norway
111
Reviewed February 25, 2005

Spent a week at La Speranza in the summer of 2003, and will certainly go back! We were a rather large group, and the staff took such good care of us and were always attentive and patient with all our requests. We loved the food. It is also superbly situated in a nice little street. Not being right by the lake is not a problem as it is only a few minutes walk away and you pass a lot of nice little bars, restaurants and shops on the way. The rooms are clean and the standard is certainly above what you'd expect from a 2-star hotel. Highly recommended place to stay!

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.2 mi away
Taormina Hotel
Taormina Hotel
#30 of 43 in Bardolino
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ca' Mura
Hotel Ca' Mura
#26 of 43 in Bardolino
89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vela d'Oro
Hotel Vela d'Oro
#20 of 43 in Bardolino
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Ca' Masawalsa
Hotel Ca' Masawalsa
#37 of 43 in Bardolino
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#21 of 43 in Bardolino
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Speranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Speranza

Address: Borgo Giuseppe Garibaldi 51, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Price Range: $149 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Speranza 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Speranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speranza Hotel Bardolino
Hotel Speranza Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing