We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Hotel”
Review of Hotel al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel al Sole
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife,young son and I have just returned from Bardolino and couldn't reccommend this hotel high enough.We were celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary and will definitely be looking to book this hotel when we go back in 5 years time.The Pennacchio family and staff couldn't have been more helpful especially with our 11 month old son who they all doted over,I only know their name as they somehow knew or found out about our anniversary and came to our room with a bottle of Prosecco which was a lovely touch.We had a lovely view from our 2nd floor room looking towards the lake and The Rock separating Garda town and Bardolino with a balcony where we were able to watch the sunset from.Our continental breakfast was a lovely way to start off our day and the swimming pool was adequate too so all in all my only complaint is that our week went in far too quick.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamigliaGreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay The staff and hotel are great.The bedroom we had was very clean and tidy on the second floor with views of the Lake the airconditioning works well if you dont leave balcony door open, small balcony with 2 chairs which is adequate all the staff are great and nothing is too much trouble The lake is 5 mins away across a busy road but there is a zebra crossing The hotels Pool is small but adequate with plenty of sunbeds can get full though
the whirlpool is great you can also hire bikes and get light meals and drinks at reasonable
cost Bardolino is really nice and clean and always something going on pleanty of restuarants and bars recommend the ferries there a great way to see the lake .
Should mention Breakfast is continental and we thought it was vert nice .
Would certainly recommend the Al Sole we will be back thats for sure ......

Room Tip: We Recommend 2nd floor lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dharris2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We've just returned from spending one week at this hotel and we really enjoyed it. Hotel is roughly 5 mins from the lake. You do have to cross a busy road but after that it's just a lovely dander down to the lake. Our room was really good, very clean, air conditioning, with a lovely view of the pool. Hotel very clean, staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, plenty of choice. The bus stop is just round the corner so very handy. We hired bikes for the day and the bikes were good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We booked a 4 night last minute deal to Al Sole and will definitely be returning to this hotel! Firstly, we though the location wasn't bad! If you walk down the main road towards the church and turn right at the church, this leads you to the start of the many restaurants and shops that Bardolino has to offer. This walk takes 5 minutes. There is another way to walk into town, but we thought that this was by far the fastest way even if you do have to walk along the main road for a short distance.

The hotel itself is decorated in typical Italian style, and although our room was very basic, it was a good size and very clean. The air conditioning worked very well contrary to some reviews on here! The pool is small but very, very pretty. It is set in amidst some lovely olive and lemon trees. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful.

I would have rated this hotel excellent, however, the one down side to the hotel was that the coffee and orange juice at breakfast were out of a drinks dispenser and didn't taste too good! Please do not let this put you off staying at this lovely little hotel however!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katelikesjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is situated approx 5 minutes from the lake ( downhill across the zebra crossing, skirting around the Nettuno hotel, maybe even stopping off there for a coffee)
Breakfast is adequate, but as other reviewers have commented could do with fresh coffee rather than the machine. Otherwise there is a good choice available.
The pool is very good for a quick cool down with a jacuzzi at the shallow end.
The rooms are clean and beds comfortable and bathroom as one would expect at a 3star establishment.... small but more than adequate.
Best to request rooms overlooking the pool which have the large balconies.
If you bring your own bikes the hotel offers secure storage in their own garage. Otherwise the Al Sole offer "city bikes" good for short journeys.... maybe to Lazise , Garda and Torre Di Benaco ...... if going further better to upgrade the bike at the local bike shop Olimpic .....which is 5 minutes away.

Would I recommend the hotel..... yes, if you want a good b&b close to town (10 mins) and the lake.
If you prefer half board, I'd try the Nettuno ....which is on the lake and a pleasant walk along the promenade into town.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AaronCaddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Al Sole is located in a fairly quiet location about a 10 minute walk from the lake front and the shops. It is a good base for visiting the Lake Garda area and beyond. Our room was clean and had a comfortable bed, a tiny balcony with a lake view, good air conditioning and a TV with hundreds of channels including BBC1 and BBC2. The room would have been even better, though, had it contained a small fridge. The bedding and towels were changed daily. The staff were very friendly and helpful and, in the main, spoke good English (although, as a non-Italian speaker, I did have to resort to French on just one occasion). There was WiFi available in the lounge area. A good continental breakfast was available as a self-serve buffet which could be eaten either inside or outside. The hotel did not serve other meals, but there was a good restaurant (Al Capitel) only 50m away. We will recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We found room 204 to be good. The balcony was very small and there was no room for a table, but it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have stayed at many hotels in Bardolino but this was our first time at the Al Sole. The overall experience mirrored other comments i.e. very friendly staff, lovely clean room and,like others, we had no problem finding sunbeds. The only negative for us was the unexpectedly busy side road which runs alongside the hotel and pool area but immerse yourself in a good book and this will not be an issue!We would have absolutely no hesitation in returning to the Al Sole in future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#12 of 43 in Bardolino
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#20 of 43 in Bardolino
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
456 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Sole

Address: Via San Colombano 5, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
#11 Family Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: $92 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Sole Hotel
Hotel Al Sole Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing