We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware road noise”
Review of Hotel Idania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Idania
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Reviewed May 25, 2014

just returned from a week in this very nice hotel.if you are thinking of staying here
beware! our room was at the front on the side it was incredibly noisy and picked-up all the
noise from the road.Insist on a room at the rear.no complaints about the staff or the quality,
only the noise.

Room Tip: unless you can sleep through anything insist on a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BarryHartmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 247 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

unfortunately some reviewers have had a bad experience.We started going to the Idania 12 years ago when we lived in scotland .We now have retired to Italy and STILL go to the Idania for a holiday.Rooms good size and well equipped.Owners have always been nothing but efficient and friendly.The recent reviews are obviously badly biased .There comments are not about the Hotel Idania we know.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scozia_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recently back from a 11 night stay at the idania cannot say that i will treasure the stay. my partner and i both had money and jewellry taken from our locked room and locked safe then on the following day we found out we were not alone, 3 other couples had also suffered the same treatment we have recently heard back from thomson after making them aware of the situation they were of the same opinion as the hotel management very sorry but "TOUGH" as for bardolino lovely shame about the idania glenn beware

Room Tip: none on the third floor glenn beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank glenn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have written to thomson holidays after reading the last few reviews, we are booked there next June, regarding the robberies recently.
They have replied saying this turned out to be an isolated incident and is being fully investigated by all concerned.
It must have been very disturbing for all the victims and obviously they will not consider this hotel again, but hopefully this will have the effect of a tightening of hotel security.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
9  Thank AlanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for 11 nights in September. Very basic room. You had to give way to each other to walk round the bed. The bathroom especially was desperately in need of refurbishment and unless you were VERY careful the shower flooded. The food was also basic, with left over vegetables being served up the following evening. You had to decide what you wanted to eat for dinner whilst eating breakfast. It was mind blowingly tedious to have to queue for quite some time to get hot drinks at breakfast from the coffee machine. Moral amongst staff seemed to be low, very difficult to get a smile out of a lot of them. Whilst we were there 4 rooms were robbed. How is it that locked safes from inside locked rooms can be stolen from? The only possible conclusion is staff or former members of staff. The owners say they trust their staff, but have a high turnover so how can they be sure and why do they have a high turnover of staff? It is absolutely appalling that the owners can question the honesty of guests. Their security is a joke. Reception was frequently left un-manned and it would have been the simplest thing to take any number of keys. I have never stayed anywhere as bad and certainly will never return. Don't visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MandI90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I plus three other couples were robbed at this hotel and the owner has the temerity to say that neither they or their employees could have taken cash and valuables from the room safe.
Clearly someone with master keys to the rooms and safes stole from four different rooms.
The response of the owner practically says that all those involved were lying.
I am taking legal action against the hotel for breach of their duty of care.
I paid all costs incurred at the hotel on departure and resent the implication that I didn't.
When four rooms were robbed the hotel did not inform other guests of the risk nor did they tighten security.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Returned from Bardolino on 7 September after a 10 day break at the Idania Hotel. We were there for the first time last year and decided to holiday again there this year. We enjoyed it as much as last time. The Hotel feels laid back with plenty of very comfortable seating areas..... places to read or snooze!! We had room 118 on the first floor which was great. We don't have any complaints about this Hotel and hope to holiday there again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lillibet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#20 of 43 in Bardolino
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ca' Mura
Hotel Ca' Mura
#28 of 43 in Bardolino
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
B City Hotel
B City Hotel
#24 of 43 in Bardolino
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 4 Stagioni
Hotel 4 Stagioni
#7 of 43 in Bardolino
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Idania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Idania

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 18, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: $118 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Idania 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Idania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idania Hotel Bardolino
Hotel Idania Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing