We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place.”
Review of Hotel Idania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Idania
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Ashton under lyne Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

An excelent hotel, clean, good food wine not overpriced close to Lake Garda and the promonade.It is easy to cross the road via the underpass and while at the underpass visit San Zeno winery, a small place but worth a visit, good wine and at a very good price, i can not think why it is not on the tourist trail,it should be!
I have only two minor complaints, no Lugana de Fratti on the wine list and would someone buy the local church a new set of bells? they sound a bucket with a hole in it ! All in all i would say this hotel is as good if not better than the Gritti.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    89
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
40
138
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Went back this year to the Idania, still very good. Food good, staff brilliant, rooms very clean, 5 minutes walk to Lake Garda, recommend any time. Swimming pool gets busy but chairs still available, on a main road but you can't really hear the traffic

Room Tip: Had a top floor room and had a lake view, large balcony, rooms very quiet, cannot hear next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned from a week's holiday in Bardolino staying at Idania Hotel. Bardolino is a pretty town with lots of really good resturants, narrow cobbled streets with a mixture of tourist and up market shops and of course the lake. There is plenty to do with all sorts of water sports available close by on the path to Garda- about 10 minutes walk away.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and has a lovely foyer and reception area. Staff are generally friendly and polite. There is an outdoor pool with sunbeds- but certainly there was a need to be down early with your towel to book a bed if you intended to spend the day around the hotel. In addition there is a table tennis table and footbal table. Breakfast was standard continental breakfast.We did not have evening meals in the hotel- the menu choice appeared limited and there are numerous really good restaurants in the town.There is the busy road in front of the hotel but certainly no noise filtered through at night.
The bedrooms however were disappointing. We had booked 2 superior bedrooms- both of which were fairly basic. The balconies were tiny and both received no sun at any time of the day. One of the rooms balcony was at right angles to another room so if all are sitting out at the same time you are looking into each other. There are nicer superior rooms but how these are allocated I don't know- perhaps to returning customers or perhaps just bad luck for us. If booking it is probably worth checking this out. The hair dryer is a tube which blows out some air- nothing more.It was nice to have TV with BBC channels available.
We had booked transfer with the hotel which was less than satisfactory. On arrival the taxi had a flat wheel, the spare looked rather suspect and the driver did not have the proper equipment to change the wheel- which meant an hour at the airport waiting for another taxi- which they seemed slightly hesitant to supply. The return transfer ... we were told a time for collection-and after 50 minutes of waiting, several phone calls, and having to get irate with the hotel staff- who at this stage were less than helpful and really did not want to know, despite having taken the money for the transfer- we finally were allocated a taxi and had a hasty journey to the airport. Our experience of the transfer - I would certainly not book it with the hotel. Overall the hotel is generally a good 3 star hotel- the rooms are basic - it would have been nice to have had a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one week in the Idania.

All staff encountered were very helpful and seemed to be enjoying their work.
Room was spotless. A choice of three main meals and quantity was good. Unlike other hotels where you have to get up early to get a hot shower hot water was available at all times. The room had an overhead fan which we needed as temperatures outside were in the mid 30s. We left it on all night at a low setting and were surprised at how quiet it was. Great pool and only 5 minutes or so from the lakeside.
Would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the left side (room 313) which gave us a great view over the countryside including t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgartshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the IDania for 4 nights at the end of July and had an enjoyable stay

Hotel staff were very pleasant and hard working.

Breakfast was as expected, continental with a couple of additions such as boiled eggs
Evening meals were quite nice, but not a lot of choice

We stayed in a standard room which was very basic, but spotless clean
Room had a flat screen TV, two twin beds pushed together with only one double wardrobe and one set of drawers, hence not enough storage space
Bathroom was in desperate need of a makeover must have had the same decor since the 1970's.
Large balcony was a bonus.

Public rooms were traditional italian and well kept
Did not use the pool area but this appeared to be very nice with plenty of sunbeds available.

Location of this hotel was excellent. Two minutes walk across the road and you were into the centre of beautiful Bardolino

Hotel iself is very pleasant but the standard room leaves a lot to be desired.

I would suggest if you intend to stay for a week or so, upgrade to a superior room as these appear to be of a higher standard

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JG-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 10 night stay at the Idania Hotel in Bardolino. Our check in was fast and straight forward to our room on the 3rd floor. We chose a standard room with a fan and balcony which was sufficient for our needs and as it did not have the sun for most of the day it stayed relatively cool even without air con. The room was on the small side but very clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was large and towels were changed whenever we requested them. Bedding was changed approx every 3 days. A small safe was also provided free in the room. We had a partial view of the lake and mountains from our large balcony.

We stayed on a half board basis but did find the food a bit bland and very similar every day. Breakfasts were the usual continental - bread rolls, jams, cold meats, cheese, cereals and fruits. Dinner choice had to be made at breakfast and was usually either a pasta or soup or a vegetarian option, followed by some meat/fish course. A salad and dessert buffet was also available. The pastas were nice but as the meat/fish courses were not very inspiring and lacked any form of vegetables. Occasionally cold vegetables were available with the salad buffet.

There are lots of nice places to sit in and around the hotel and the pool area was very clean and well maintained with plenty of sun beds where it was generally not necessary to put out towels early every morning. The main road does run by the side of the pool so traffic can of course be heard all the time but the area is well secluded so it wasn't a problem.

Bardolino is a lovely resort and easy for getting to other places on the lake either by local bus (station just across the road from the hotel) or by ferry which was about 5 minutes walk to the lakeside. There are lots of lovely shops, restaurants etc which stay open until about midnight. There were also some good open air concerts on in the square in the evening whilst we visted which were definitely worth seeing. Ask at the hotel reception for a welcome card as this will give a discount for using the ferry service. The bus tickets to Verona are 4 euros each and take just under an hour on air conditioned coaches. The tickets can be purchased on the bus but it is cheaper to get them at the Tobacconists and means less delay for getting on the bus. The buses/ferries are easy to use and a lot less expensive then organised tours from the tour operators.

Overall we had a great time and would definitely stay in Bardolino again. We much preferred it to Garda where we stayed last time we visited Lake Garda. The Idania has a lovely atmosphere with great staff but we would probably choose to stay on a bed and breakfast basis as there are so many lovely restaurants in the resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in a superior room for a week in June. Both the room and bathroom were large, extremely clean and comfortable. Lots of storage space, flat screen TV with BBC channels if required, air con and a lovely large balcony overlooking the hotel entrance which is on the side of the hotel away from the road. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, with lots of lovely seating areas for relaxing , the pool is very good with plenty of sunbeds and although the pool is on the roadside noise was never a problem . The hotel is family run and both the family and staff are friendly, extremely helpful and take pride in the hotel. We stayed B&B as we enjoy trying different restaurants, but will consider staying half board on our next visit as other guests we chatted to praised the evening food at the Idania. Breakfast was repetitive but plentiful so it was easy to vary the selection each day. As this was our first visit to Bardolino and Lake Garda (and I am the holiday planner/booker!) I was a little concerned that the hotel did not have a lake view and that it was on the main road ( which I hasten to add we never had a problem crossing), but after checking out the competition I would recommend the Idania everytime. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SusCie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#20 of 43 in Bardolino
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#23 of 43 in Bardolino
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Idania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Idania

Property: Hotel Idania
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 18, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Idania 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Idania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idania Hotel Bardolino
Hotel Idania Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing