We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, 10min walk to lake, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2009

This my second year at the Gardenia and the family that operate the hotel are most helpful and speak a variety of languages to help all their guests. Sometimes going back to somewhere is not just as you would have remembered but the Gardenia was just a good and the room we were in had been recently refurbished / decorated to keep it of a high standard and fresh look. The breakfasts are lovely and the mini fridge in the room was great with soft drinks favourably priced. The hotel is located 15min walk along the lake from Bardolino and with good choice of places to eat and drink in the centre - ice creams are too nice to go to Italy on a diet !. General up keep of hotel is good which always clean with fresh towels daily and room made up. Front of house staff are lovely team and will always help with advice on travel around lake / shopping etc. Resort is ideal for those with young children as lake walks are long good paths ideal for prams , bikes or elderly that dont appreciate steep climbs. Hotel has a pool which was lovely as week I was there is was 27 degrees and was nice to take it ease by the pool in the sun with Jasmine plants all around pool. You can also order lunchtime snacks and drinks for by the pool as sunbathing can be exhausting ! If you book direct with hotel they can also schedule a pick up from airport for a reasonable cost. I stay in a wide range of hotels and am choosey about where I decide to go and have been in Garda 3 years ago but Bardolino and the Gardenia are a much superior combo. Already thinking of when I can book time off to go back this year.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 356 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

I really enjoyed my time here. The hotel is very comfortable, and nicely located – you cross the road from the hotel, walk about 50m, and then you're on a beautiful promenade that goes all the way to the centre of Bardolino. It is a 15-20 minute walk though, and I suppose that isn't for everyone. The breakfast was really good, the staff really helpful, and the rooms were quiet and very recently furnished.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhotelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Bardolino. The management and the staff were so friendly and welcoming that it was a bit of wrench to leave even after only 4 days ! On the day of the wedding we were attending, we asked the owner to book us a taxi to get to the Town Hall, he insisted on taking us himself at no charge. Where else in the world would you experience such customer service. It's a nice and pleasant stroll into the town from Gardenia (about 15 mins) just enough distance to walk off all the pasta !
We will certainly be back to Gardenia very soon !

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank redrizey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We have just returned from a 4 day break in Lake Garda, this hotel is about a 15 minute nice walk along the lake into Bardolino. The hotel itself is lovely the hospitallity is fantasitic and the hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms and receptions areas are all spotlessly clean. The breakfast is very good and the service excellent. If I returned to Lake Garda i would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reynoldsg236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Booked hotel directly and flights to Milan Bergamo with Jet2. Had a week in apartments owned by them, (The Armony), and 4 nights in hotel for myself, husband and 15 yr old daughter.

The Armony was a 2 bedroom apartment with lake view and just 2 mins down road from hotel, there is a pool and it was very nice.and relaxing.

The hotel was brilliant, as everyone says, the staff couldn't be more helpful. It's about 20 mins walk to centre of Bardolino, you can also walk to Lazise or Garda or catch the ferry around the lake. Verona and Venice are possible for a day trip.

My husband and I had a lake view room on the 3rd floor with a balcony and panoramic view. Breakfast is excellent, no evening meals but it's nice to eat around the town.

I researched thoroughly and decided Bardolino was the prettiest town of a reasonable size and centrally placed for excursions. While we were there (July) you could see the storms to the north where it is more mountainous. We had a couple of heavy thunderstorms so take a brolly.

My husband and myself loved everything about it but our teenage daughter was a bit bored as she would have preferred a sandy beach instead of the lido.

I don't think it's possible for mature people to be disappointed with the resort or the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelbugmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We have just returned from our 4th trip to Lake Garda. This year we got married in the area and stayed for the 1st time in Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel for our stay. Every single member of staff was excellent: really friendly and helpful. In fact I have never stayed in a hotel where all the staff have been faultless. They were of very attentive. We couldn't find a fault with the hotel. The breakfast was delicious with a great variety of food. We would recommend this hotel. It is a real find!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Brenzonewedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

This hotel is a wonderful example of how a small hotel should be run. Every member of the hotel staff had the welfare of the customer as their number one priority. Everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed in one of the rooms at the front of the hotel with a balcony and although the main road is about 60m away it was not a problem. The room was kept spotlessly clean and the towels and bedding were changed regularly. When we stayed the temperature was in the region of 35C so the room air conditioning was an essential. The breakfast was very good; not "full english" but a lot better than most continental breakfasts. The only slight issue is that pool is on the small side but there is another pool at the adjacent Villa Charm, that can be used if the hotel one becomes too crowded.
I would recommend this hotel as an excellent base to explore Lake Garda.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHIJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 4 Stagioni
Hotel 4 Stagioni
#8 of 43 in Bardolino
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#20 of 43 in Bardolino
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bardolino
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme

Address: Piazza Serenissima 12, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: $124 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gardenia is tranquilly positioned near the centre of Bardolino and just 80 m from the lake shore. A friendly atmosphere, completed with every comfort – combining an attractive italian design with the warmest hospitality, for a relaxing holiday on Lake Garda. The 2 new swimming pools (1 with salted water) with deck chairs and sun umbrellas, heated whirlpool and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gardenia And Villa Charme
Hotel Gardenia Charme
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing