We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pretty hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed here for a week in August. We are a family with children aged 10 and 14, so I emailed the hotel to ask about family rooms or interconnecting rooms. Riccardo, one of the brothers, emailed back with photographs of a lovely 2 bedroom apartment just across the road from the hotel. We booked it and we were delighted with our accommodation. It was very modern and clean with a furnished balcony overlooking the lake. We had maid service everyday so it was nice to have our beds made and fresh towels.The shower was new and good quality. The apartment did not have a kitchen but that didn't bother us at all because we chose to have the delicious breakfast in the very pretty main hotel. At lunch time if we were about we went to the nearby lidl and bought fresh bread rolls, cheese, etc. All very reasonably priced. And in the evening we usually went to the local restaurant, Le Palafitte, for great pizzas. The hotel is located about a 10-15 minute walk from the picturesque resort of Bardolino. The path is wide and even and just at the waters edge. We spent a couple of days sunbathing on the shore and having a dip in the lake. I wished I had taken some of those water plimsoles so you don't feel the pebbles. We just wore crocs. The hotel has two pools, both small but immaculate with good tiles around the edge. There is a jacuzzi which is warmer than the pools but not hot. We always managed to find sun beds and a parasol. Other guests here were polite and quiet. The staff and brothers were always around to help with any requests. They were polite, professional, calm and happy. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their English was excellent. The owners have thought about every detail in the hotel, everything worked properly, was kept clean and was restocked. We would love to return to this hotel again!

Room Tip: The owners have a variety of properties and rooms. Email them directly with any special requests. Th...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Yasmin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 355 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed for a week at this hotel. We had a brilliant holiday! The hotel is immaculate. Breakfast was delicious. They will cook your eggs any way you want them and they are lovely! Fresh fruit every day, and the fact they serve breakfast until 11am means you can have a lie in on holiday! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They were all very friendly and even had a search party looking for my grandaughter Ionas' bunny! They found him for her. We travelled as a family and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Well done to Ricardo, his family, and all his staff. They are a credit to you!! We will return.

Room Tip: The air conditioning room worked very well in the heat. We had no complaints as far as our room was...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in August 2014 for one week. We stayed in two "superior" rooms on the 3rd floor (east facing). The rooms were very clean and the owners (3 brothers) and their staff were excellent and very helpful.

The hotel is set well back from the main lake side road so avoids traffic noise.

Bardolino is a very good location with good ferry & bus services to other parts of the lake (especially the southern half). It also had a good transfer time from Verona airport. The path alongside the lake allows easy access to Garda & Lazise + walk to the beautiful (but expensive) Vila san Vigilio 1 KM from Garda.

The pleasant walk along the lake side into town takes about 10 minutes. There are numerous cafes and restaurants in town to sit all tastes and budgets.

We used both pools during our stay (the other is in the nearby villa just across from the hotel).
The breakfast was very high quality and plentiful.

The hotel arranged transfers from & to the airport at Verona and this was very efficient.

We had a very pleasant stay and we would highly recommend this family run hotel. The owners take real pride in their business and the well being of their guests. We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool & lake are more expensive. We had rooms @ the rear (east facing) and t...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AJTandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We spent a week here without a car and it is quite a long walk into Bardolino and back. The predominant tourist nationality is German but it really grated to be greeted in German by all the staff at breakfast everyday ...we speak no German and it was annoying to have this daily.

But those two moans aside this is a nice, clean, well furnished hotel with friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet and lovely views of the lake. Pools and sun beds were often busy and the areas are crowded but the nearby lake compensated!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sandraWantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We concur with all recent reviews. This an exceptional hotel: wonderfully attentive service, comfortable and spotless bedrooms and bathrooms, plenty of parking, great location for the Lake and resort. The breakfast selection was superb with the option of ordering an omelette, freshly-cooked, espresso and cappucino upon request as well as the usual breakfast drinks.
A happy staff who obviously love their work.

Great value.

We must return.

Room Tip: All lake view rooms have a great-sized balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KentHalfcentury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

For a 3* hotel, Hotel Gardenia and Villa Charme is exceptional in everyday. Staff are professional and courteous. From start to finish ( which included emails answered promptly before we even arrived) we could not fault the service of the staff and owners. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was delicious and the short 10 min walk to bardolino is one of the most picturesque walks into town I've ever had from a hotel. We loved the pool for the Villa Charme, always had service ( beers and ice cream!) around the pool and on the weekend, was even treated to a fashion show around the pool. Air con was perfect, €3.50 for a small bottle of prosecco from the minibar was a bargain. Would definitely stay there again. We were gutted to leave and return back to Blighty.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moggymooncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Everything was just great from the welcome drink to leaving for home. The staff and owners were friendly, very accommodating - and there was always plenty of them around at the key times. The breakfast was great, plenty of it, good selection (some bacon and sausage would make it perfect) The rooms (and the hotel in general) was spotless. And the pools were never overcrowded.
All in all, a great time had by the whole family.

If I was being ultra picky, the temperature of the pool was a tad on the cold side - but, as it was hot in the sun so any pool would probably be chilly.

Room Tip: The better ones have balconies, but you need to book early as this is a relatively small hotel and t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#2 of 43 in Bardolino
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme

Address: Piazza Serenissima 12, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: $106 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gardenia is tranquilly positioned near the centre of Bardolino and just 80 m from the lake shore. A friendly atmosphere, completed with every comfort – combining an attractive italian design with the warmest hospitality, for a relaxing holiday on Lake Garda. The 2 new swimming pools (1 with salted water) with deck chairs and sun umbrellas, heated whirlpool and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gardenia And Villa Charme
Hotel Gardenia Charme
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing