We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Dronfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I always use trip advisor before booking a stay and was really impressed with the Hotel Gardenia previous guests comments. The reality didn't disappoint and the thing that stood out for us was certainly the five star customer service.

From a drink on the house at arrival, to the very helpful guide to the area and recommendations to all the best places a visit to a tourist information centre was never needed.

The breakfast was outstanding and served until 11am which was great if you needed a holiday lie in and there was always a full selection, including an offer of cooked eggs and prosecco if you should fancy.

The food everywhere we ate was fabulous. It is Italy after all but the pizzeria over the road from the hotel was reccommended to us by the staff and we went there a number of times!

The room was fairly small and simple but great for our budget. If I was to book again I would definitely book a lake view. Also just to note, the pool is not heated which in high season may be a refreshing break but in May it was slightly 'fresh' but we still went in everyday.

I cannot express how at home we were made to feel by the staff and we would love to go back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimothyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    57
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
211
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

After an initial 4 night stay in the height of Summer 2013, we returned for a full week during the more comfortable month of May. Our second visit was no disappointment and proved that our first visit, and that of so many other guests, was no fluke.
Great service was again a feature of Hotel Gardenia and I am pleased to report that we experienced unfailingly good service in restaurants, shops, gelateria etc in the wider area throughout our time at Lake Garda.
It really is difficult to identify any area for improvement at the Gardenia and we returned to the UK today totally refreshed and relaxed - and planning a return next May! Thank you for all your hard work to make everything appear effortless; it is much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morpethian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

From the minute you walk in the door of the hotel you are made to feel so welcome. The staff are multi-lingual and so helpful and informative for all guests. The staff basically gave us our itinerary for the week and everywhere they recommended was brilliant - they definitely know the area well! The room was lovely, nothing too fancy, but perfect for what we needed and the mini bar was reasonably priced too. Breakfast each morning was incredible - everything you want is available, even a glass of prosecco if you fancy it! The hotel is perfectly placed to explore the Lake and surrounding towns, get a ferry across the Lake or travel to Verona. Bardolino is a lovely little town and our favourite that we visited. The hotel is a short walk from town along the lake - it is a lovely (and safe) walk even late at night.
It wasn't warm enough for us to use the pool, but it is fairly private even if it is on the roadside. If it was warmer I imagine we would have spent some time poolside!
I can't recommend this hotel anymore...wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We'll kept hotel very freindly staff. Nice scenic walk from hotel to bardolino along the lake.

Will return as we were made feel very welcome. Pool is a bit small but lake so close that it does not matter. Nearby by local winery was good recommended by the staff. Always gave us ideas on interesting thing to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toreilly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for the first time in August. Overall, we liked the hotel. We had a superior room with a lake view. The room was spacious with a good sized balcony and it was always cleaned to a very high standard. The mini bar was very well priced.

The hotel is located a 15 minute walk outside of the town centre. The walk is flat and can be done either along the lake or along the main road. In the evenings, we had no problem with it but during the day it could be very hot returning from a day trip (temperatures were in the high 30s when we stayed). This might be a problem for some.

There are two pools available for use which are very relaxing but during busy periods it may be difficult to find spare sun beds.

We had massages in the spa which were very nice.

The main downside for us was breakfast. It was always very busy and staff took a long time to ask for our coffee orders. We were never asked whether we wanted to order anything else but we noticed other tables around us being asked for these additional orders. The selections often ran out as well. We were always addressed in German which is fine as the majority of the clientele are German but we felt that after a 10 day stay, the staff could have remembered that it was not our first language.

We would recommend it to others but we prefer other places we have stayed at in the centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eight7eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was our third stay at the Hotel Gardenia and it was just as good as before and the staff are so friendly and welcoming it feels like home from home. The bedrooms and public rooms are always immaculately clean and well maintained.
The position just outside Bardolino is perfect for us as we enjoyed the ten minute stroll along the lake shore to visit the varied shops and restaurants

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We love the staff and the friendly atmosphere, Comfy well maintained rooms (we always book one with a lakeside view) Very good choice for breakfast and plenty of it. Nicely located, within easy walking distance along the lakeside to Bardolino and very near Le Palafitte Restaurant and Pizzaria for good value and tasty food and wine!. Ferry trips from Bardolino take you to many different lakeside resorts, always something new to discvover. Lifts to and from the airport can be arranged via the hotel too. We love it and will be booking for 2014. Had to pick November 12 for 'when did you travel', but was actually June 2012, we try to come every other year. Bill and Joan, Rochester, Kent UK.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billandjoan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#4 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bel Sito
Hotel Bel Sito
#1 of 1 in Cisano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme

Property: Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Address: Piazza Serenissima 12, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gardenia is tranquilly positioned near the centre of Bardolino and just 80 m from the lake shore. A friendly atmosphere, completed with every comfort – combining an attractive italian design with the warmest hospitality, for a relaxing holiday on Lake Garda. The 2 new swimming pools (1 with salted water) with deck chairs and sun umbrellas, heated whirlpool and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gardenia And Villa Charme
Hotel Gardenia Charme
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing