We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife booked this for a short business trip and it was a welcome change from the usual larger hotels, which whilst having usually better facilities have no personality and proves that sometimes smaller is better. A warm welcome upon arrival and nice clean rooms with wonderful views. I only have one negative and that is that tea making facilities would be appreciated but the Hotel Gardenia is not alone in not providing these facilities. Also whilst most hotels advertise the availability of WIFI in truth the signal is only obtainable in the main reception, which was the case here.

However we enjoyed our stay here and we loved the stress free area and the wonderful food. There's a fab little eatery over the road from the hotel where you can eat inside or outside with a good selection of food to suit all tastes or you can walk along the lake side until you reach an array of cafe's and restaurants. We were so lucky as even late October the weather was gorgeous so made the champagne taste even better.

Room Tip: We had a lake view room with a balcony and whilst we had to pay extra it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky1234529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 356 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

first time in bardolino and what a pretty place..done lots of walking,eating and drinking..was there for last two days of wine festival,what an atmosphere with fireworks to end vestival and a massive market on thursdays..we had such a lovley five days..most of all what made our stay was this lovley hotel..gardenia hotel is so friendly..staff and managment alike..great little touches.like complimentary drink on arrival local map of area makes a great start to holiday..will be going back to stay..one tip is to change money before your stay you need to go to a bank with passports and this can up a lot of time..big thanks you to veryone at hotel for making our stay such a lovley one..we will be back..

Room Tip: we stayed in the villa which was away fron main hotel..we was very happy with our room..no traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I can only agree with other reviewers that this is an outstanding hotel.
Very friendly welcome with a glass of Prosecco and a detailed explanation of what the area has to offer and some restaurant suggestions.
Every member of staff was invariably very cheerful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help. They all spoke excellent English and German, and encouraged my stumbling attempts at speaking Italian. Nice room with balcony, all the facilities and a view of the lake (although the bathroom was just a bit small), and it was quiet enough for a good nights sleep.
Excellent location close to the lake and a pleasant 20 minute walk to Bardolino town or a slightly shorter one to Cisano. There are loads of places to eat in Bardolino, although the menus are all pretty similar, We stayed for a week and found plenty of things to do including travelling round the lake by ferry, walking in the hills behind Bardolino or along the lakeside. The area is good for cycling and we hired bicycles from the hotel one day - again very easily organised and enthusiastically providedby the staff. We stayed in late September and it was still warm enough to lie out by the pool and even swimming for the brave.
We travelled via Verona airport and the hotel was easy to reach, with a bus from the airport to Verona, then a bus to Bardolino with a stop very close to the Gardenia. We went back on a hotel shuttle that the hotel organised for us (enthusiastically of course!). We thought this was a great hotel, made extra special by the staff and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room Cost a bit more, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3059HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Owners of Hotel Gardenia are three charming brothers whose attention to detail is second to none. On arrival, guests are warmly welcomed and invited to enjoy a glass of chilled Prosecco before being escorted to their rooms. The staff are cheerful, obliging, considerate and extremely helpful. The Hotel exudes a perpetual warmth, is immaculately clean and laughter abounds from Owners, guests and staff alike. Breakfast is the best value we have ever experienced and is served either inside or outside between 8 and 11. The Hotel is ideally located - it's a two-minute walk to the lake and a 20 minute quiet stroll into Bardolino where there are excellent shops, restaurants and a Thursday market. The ferry terminal is also within easy reach. We have enjoyed three holidays at this hotel - its collective qualities make it a pleasure to return. The Hotel is definitely a rare find, guests arrive as strangers and leave as friends. We were speaking to a couple who told us it is their practice never to visit a place more than once - this hotel was the exception - they were on their third visit. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and are now looking forward to our fourth visit.

Room Tip: Panoramic rooms on the 4th and 5th floors are a little more expensive but well worth the extra expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine1188932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just back from the Gardenia and yet again have had a super holiday. They have added a new breakfast conservatory and all the staff are there again this year to make sure friendly faces there to great us. The owners are soo helpful and are always on hand to make sure you have a good stay. Good to see that even though europe is knee deep in a recession the shops and restaurants are still reasonably priced for eating out etc. Well done once again to the gardenia team.

Room Tip: Lake view panoramic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I just finished a short stay at the hotel Gardenia (4 nights) and we were very surprised and impressed by the hotel and especially the staff. While we were there we were treated excellent by the staff and the owners/managers the entire time. They all took time to show us places to go, directions to certain stores (shoes for the wife!) and tips on excellent restaurants. They always had time for us (and other guests) and never stopped smiling and being friendly, even during the excellent (but pretty busy breakfast buffet- highly recommend for 9 Euro and it gooes from 8-11 am, I believe).
As someone who always checks out TripAdvisor PRIOR to going to a hotel, we saw excellent ratings for the Hotel Gardenia and it weighed heavily into our decision to stay there. The feedback for this hotel was excellent and now we see why!! We hope that we will be able to go back early next year and stay again, it's centrally located enough to take day trips to Milan and Venice and there's always something to do to include markets in Bardolino and Lezise (both are close and you could walk) during certain days of the week. We also rented bikes from the hotel for only 6 euro each and it was an excellent choice as they were in top shape and almost new.

Thanks for the EXCELLENT stay, Hotel Gardenia! We're looking forward to staying there again! Keep that excellent attitude and service- it really sets you above your peers!!! :)

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had good water pressure. Our room faced away from the water (it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluShok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The perfect location, nearby the downtown offering the best services. We stayed in this hotel - appartments for apr.1 week and we can summarize that this was one of the best holidays. Very professional staff are helpful all the time, speaking english, german, french well. The hotel is very clean and with nice atmosphere - you have to try. Bardolino is place with many nice restaurants, shops and places to go. Perfect suitable for families, couples. My review is only positive and for sure we will visit this lovely place next time. Thank you to Riccardo and Grazia, my pleasure to meet you next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 4 Stagioni
Hotel 4 Stagioni
#8 of 43 in Bardolino
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#20 of 43 in Bardolino
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bardolino
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme

Address: Piazza Serenissima 12, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: $124 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gardenia is tranquilly positioned near the centre of Bardolino and just 80 m from the lake shore. A friendly atmosphere, completed with every comfort – combining an attractive italian design with the warmest hospitality, for a relaxing holiday on Lake Garda. The 2 new swimming pools (1 with salted water) with deck chairs and sun umbrellas, heated whirlpool and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gardenia And Villa Charme
Hotel Gardenia Charme
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing