We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Color Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Color Hotel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
wombourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

We hve just returned from a 10 night stay at the Color Hotel after spending a week there last August. It is still a wonderful hotel, with the staff really making you feel special, from the ladies on reception to Fernando at the pool bar, nothing is too much trouble.
We arrived on our wedding anniversary and my husband had contacted them to ask for some flowers to be in the room. It was such a surprise when we got there, the room was decorated beautifully and along with the flowers there was a basket of fresh fruit, heart shaped balloons, flower petals all over the bed. Bath crystals in heart shapes in the bathroom and a beautiful gift
We again booked direct, which is so much cheaper than a package. This time we stayed in an Armonia suite instead of a junior suite, which we found better as our 2 small children were sleeping in a seperate room (still no drawers though!!).
We have found it very expensive though, but this was not just in the hotel. Eating out and going on the boats was also expensive and I don't think we will return until the exchange rate increases.
Overall a wonderful holiday and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerchickWombourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    119
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
220
472
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, which was attractive with some imaginative design touches. The public areas, especially the outdoor bars and seating areas were especially nice (though drinks were rather expensive). The rooms were comfortable with good bathrooms but not as attractive and imaginative as the rest of the hotel, and we felt they were rather overpriced for what they were. We also felt the location of the hotel was not ideal, on a main road outside the old town, not directly on the lake. Although the hotel was quiet - we did not experience any road noise - for an older member of our family the walk into town for dinner was a little too far at the end of a day's sightseeing. The buffet breakfast was great, but for dinner the hotel restaurant was not exciting and rather expensive, and we preferred to eat at the lakeside restaurants in town. Staff in the hotel were great - extremely helpful and efficient. We would stay here again, but we also felt that if we returned to the area we would consider some of the hotels on the lake in Bardolino, or might prefer to stay in Malcesine, which was a lovely old town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheProf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

My husband and I booked this holiday - ok I booked this holiday and my husband said sure. Looking at the reviews of 2008 (that is when I booked) I was pleased of the reviews. 2009 I was wondering why there was no more reviews (in english) and was getting rather anxious. I joined the forum and people were saying that the color hotel was on the main busy road through Bardolino and this was making me feel rather worried. I did inform the hotel in advance that it was a special holiday - I got a pleasant response. When we arrrived we were the only people staying at the hotel - why? our check in was very pleasant and friendly and they took us to our room which was a room at the front of the hotel - overlooking the 'busy' road and we could see the lake - if you look to the left and over the top of the camp site. ok, the hotel is on a busy road - but it is not a major busy road. The road is only two lanes, there is a pedestrial crossing (not all cars stop though but they will in the end - it is not like us polite brits) outside the hotel and another just to the right. There is a supermarket next door which is great to grab a salad for lunch or a bottle of wine to keep in your room for that 'getting ready drink'. I must say that right opposite is a petrol station - so from the front of the hotel to the left you see the lake but opposite a petrol station - not very nice, infact there is another petrol station to the right - if they could do something about the view I think it would be benefical to them. I think they know this an do everything they can on customer service to make up for it. You can have a bike for 4 hours free of charge, and there are some lovely rides to Garda or you can walk. Becareful it you get some rain the area around the pool gets very slippery!!!!!
Getting back to our room - I am glad we had a room at the front even though our view was a mixture of lake, camp site and petrol station - oh and busy road because the rest of the rooms were around the pool area and too close together for my liking. It must have been busy in the morning as the staff prepare breakfast etc,,,, We did not eat other than breakfast in the hotel. There was a lot of choice at breakfast but with some people they push and are very rude - pile loads on their plates and cannot eat it all !!! but that is life, it is help yourself and coffe/tea are pored at your table - yes this can be slow. One morning my husband asked for an omlette - it took him over 15mins and had to ask 5 times - then they gave him a omlette - did not ask what he wanted in it and then charged us 3 euro!!! We did have a drink inthe hotel and beaware it is very expensive!!!!!!! local red wine - no worries 3 euro for a glass everything else so over the top. To give you an example - a local drink spritz is approx 3 to 4.5 euro in Bardolino but inthe hotel they charge 7 euro - why do they have to do this? There seemed a lot of folk staying at Park hotel gritti - this hotel is near the lake but is not on the lake, it is behind hotel kriss.
From all the hotels we saw color hotel was by far the best overall. I just looked at the reviews and I see sportsman 2nd - we saw this hotel and sorry, but it looks awful. They must be doing something right inside!
Anyway can I go back to the room, bit small and cramped, we paid for superior room. too much funiture - we did have a double waldrobe but no draws. The bathroom was nice but the shower contrapsion was as the other reviewer from munich said plastic massage jets - terrible!!! - just put in a good shower head - that is all we need! We put the do not disturb sign on the door in the afternoon so that we were not disturbed by staff to come in and turn the bed down.
To get to the town you can cross the pedestrian part of the road outside the hotel and take the turning by the petrol station - this goes to the lake and then turn right or you can exit hotel pass supermarket and take the 2nd pedestrian crossing but then fork right pass the San pietro hotel - this takes you straight into the town and is the quickest way.
If you booked the hotel color - do not worry it is a lovely hotel and very good staff, do not be put of by the busy road, free internet, take a bike ride, market day is thursday, their new pool and seating area at front of hotel is lovely, if you are thinking to book hotel color - then go for it, you could do a lot worse, book a high floor room if you can.
one last thing, we took the bus into Verona - Verona is very expensive city, we also took ferry to Simone - was ok but of all the resorts we visited Bardolino was the best. Transport is expensive. Have a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esined_smit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

We chose this hotel because of all the good reviews we read at tripadviser. We were disappointed and had rather chosen an other hotel in Bardolino.
The hotel is located at the main street of Bardolino. It is a 10 min. walk to the lakeside (beware: you have the cross the very busy main street). The design of the hotel is modern, fancy an nice. The pools and garden facilities are very nice, too. But:
When you stay in Bardolino you do not need such facilities. You stay around the lake, dine in wonderful Italian restaurants in the old town. We booked a junior suite and were very disappointed: the room was angled and therfore anharmonic and unfunctional. The bath had a shower head with massage jets. It was of cheap plastic and mulfuncioned. Only with the help of my letherman I was able to get the shower head working. Breakfast was good. However, it is the same old story with the coffee service: you have to wait until the waiter realises that you need a refill and this needs some time. Self service would be a great relief. The staff is friendly and service is good, in some instances - howerver - totally overdone: the breakfast chief greets every guest with a hand shake ( I think it is known to everyone in the hotel business that such a forced physical contact is forbidden). Every late evening the staff enters your room and (again) arranges your bed. In our opinion this was disturbing and annoying rather then accomodating (they removed all the things you had left on the bed which you then had to search in the room.
In a sum: too expensive because you pay for things you do not need!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobetrotterMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Color in Bardolino for our honeymoon. The hotel is fantastic and could not fault it at all. The hotel staff were always helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is very clean and modern. All three of the swimming pools are lovely. The hotel is situated in a good central area with a supermarket next door. Although next to a main road we could not hear this at all from the inside of the hotel. It is about 10 mins walk from the main centre of Bardolino with all the cafes and restaurants. It is quicker to walk along the main road, however it is a much nicer walk to wander along the lakeside. We will definately be returning again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benthuizen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

After very fine stay in splendid Color hotel previous year we decided to visit the hotel again. Also this year we have felt very welcome. We had a splendid chamber and the staff was super. We have enjoy the meals in the pleasant restaurant. In the beautiful gardens you choose from several swimming pools and is pleasant to stay. Conclusion: this hotel is visit it worth more often.

EvdS

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EvdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

It was difficult chosing a hotel on Lake Garda, so many resorts, so many hotels. We decided on Bardolino as it seemed pretty central and on the right side of the lake for our early morning departure to Verona airport. We chose Hotel Color after reading various reviews. We were very happy with both choices.

We (husband and I and two friends) had stayed in Venice for a few days and then took the train to Peschiera del Garda and the hotel arranged a taxi (15 mins) from the station. We booked the train tickets in advance with Rail Europe - very efficient service.

One of the friendliest welcomes we've received from the ladies on reception - all smiles and very helpful throughout our stay - what a difference this makes. Our room was lovely (Spa Junior Suite) lots of space, the comfiest of beds and a really large balcony where we enjoyed our complementary bottle of Prosecco, The bathroom was quite small but had a wonderful shower and the spa bath was in the bedroom itself. Our friends had an Armonia suite - lovely room but I did prefer the Spa Junior, and the location at the back of the hotel.

The hotel had spared no expense in the features and decor including a lovely relaxing area by the front pool, a hot spa pool and comfy seating area to the rear of the hotel and two further pools, one at the rear of the hotel and another across a little road to the side of the hotel. It was tempting just to stay at the hotel, relax and drink Bellini's, especially on a warm sunny day.

Breakfasts were good with lots of choice and in the evening, the same room was converted into a candlelit restaurant. The food was good but quite pricey although the hotel did give a discount card when we checked in. There appeared to be quite a few regular and local visitors who got quite a lot of attention, perhaps more so than the occasional visitors. We enjoyed the Piano Bar in the evenings - great choice of drinks, good atmosphere and service.

There is a busy main road at the front of the hotel but as the hotel is set back a little, we didn't experience any excessive noise. It's a short and very pleasant walk into Bardolino, along the lakeside and we found some lovely little restaurants there, and also took the ferries from the harbour to Sirmione (lovely) and Tori del Benaco (probably our favourite little town). A lovely few days in Bardolino and at the Hotel Color.

  • Liked — General decor, room/bed pools, lounges (bar and by pool)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#4 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Color Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Color Hotel

Property: Color Hotel
Address: Via Santa Cristina 5, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#2 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Color Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At ColorHotel in Bardolino on Lake Garda you will find the luxury, style and design that you expect from a 4 star hotel, but with a little something extra. That something that cannot be touched but is felt and therefore leaves its mark. A feeling of being welcomed that allows you to be yourself whatever color you are feeling or whatever your mood is. Only in this way can you be sure that you are not missing out on anything. This way of welcoming you we have called: Be Your Color. Be Your Style. Discover our 4 swimming pools of which 2 are heated, a green area which recalls the tropics, free parking, a relaxing lounge and spa, a well equipped gym, bedrooms containing every possible comfort, unique suites, a rich breakfast buffet, a wine-tasting cellar, a gourmet restaurant and everything else that you could possibly want from a luxury hotel including style and design. rself an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Color Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Color Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing