We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Color Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Color Hotel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel this is. It was our daughter-in-laws choice for her 40th birthday celebration, and the hotel coped magnificently with our very large family group of fourteen. The staff were excellent, the breakfasts brilliant, and the hotel grounds a wonderful place to relax in. It is well-positioned, close to the town but not in the middle, and the whole party of us thought it was better for not being right by the lakeside but set just a short distance away. The bedrooms are good, and well looked after by the wonderful chambermaids. Certainly a hotel I would recommend to all my friends.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    122
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
225
477
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in May for a week on a B&B basis, but also ate dinner in the restaurant a couple of times.
First, the bad bit: location. It doesn’t have a lakeside location but sits back behind the main road running through Bardolino. So if you want to wake up overlooking the lake, book elsewhere. However, it’s only a short 200m walk to the lake or a 2 minute walk into town.
Now the good bits. It’s and excellent hotel, great rooms, modern bathrooms (no baths). We had a side room with balcony, overlooking the hills one way and over to the lake the other.
The swimming pools are fantastic! There are two unheated pools in the hotel and a large, heated pool complex across the small road to the rear car park. There are plenty of sun loungers so there’s no need to “bag” one with your towel at dawn.
The hotel provides complimentary bikes, so take a bike and cycle down to Lazise for lunch!
Staff: excellent
Bar: excellent
Restaurant: excellent food, pricey compared to eating out but possibly the best food you will eat in Bardolino.
In summary, this is a boutique hotel in a very good position, with excellent staff and great facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The minute you walked in to the hotel you were just left so at ease and this carried on for the whole of our 14 days stay.
The Hotel and the People are just first class, the pool areas are very good and clean.
At Breakfast there was so much choice and the quality of the food first class.
Will see them all next year hopefully

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hall19617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The Color Hotel is a modern very high quality hotel. Our rooms and the public areas of the hotel were beautiful, and all the staff spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has lovely outdoor pools, one of which was heated when we visited. It is not cheap, but lots of services were complementary which meant it was good value overall (lovely breakfast, bottled water, safe, wifi in room, bikes, pools, towels, secure parking, etc). Bardolino is a lovely town and we will return to the Color Hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank House-n-wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was our second visit to Bardolino but our first stay at Color. We decided to choose the hotel for our honeymoon after receiving a personal recommendation from a work colleague. We found all the staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive. From our arrival where we were given a tour of the hotel by Laura, we knew we had made a great choice. Visiting in the first week of the 2014 season the hotel was far from full capacity, so we were able to upgrade our room to a suite situated to the rear of the hotel, close to one of the outside pools. We found the heating was still on in the hotel which made our room to warm for our tastes so we always had windows or patio doors open. Not a problem with our room being situated at the rear although it may have been an issue if the room had been at the front of the hotel due to the traffic noise.
We dined at La Veranda on 3 occasions and the food was simply stunning. My wife has an intolerance to gluten but this was no problem to the chef who always accommodated her dietary needs. The restaurant is high class and not cheap, especially when compared with other eating venues in Bardolino but there are no comparison - have no doubt, La Veranda is an excellent dining experience.
We only used the pool facilities and surroundings sparingly but they are all excellent, very clean and pleasant. We did find the weak wi-fi signal in the hotel made our internet connection slow and this was our only gripe during our stay. A very minor criticism of an excellent experience which we hope to repeat in the future, maybe a wedding anniversary in the future.
Thanks to all the hard working staff at Color with special mention to the serving staff in the restaurant, they work a very long day but they were always very pleasant and helpful.
Highly recommended and it provided great memories for our honeymoon - many thanks to the Color Hotel !

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at the front of the hotel which may be noisy due to the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scaleybrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We previously stayed at the Color in 2007 and so were a little apprehensive that our second stay would not match up to our wonderful first experience. Immediately on check in our concerns disappeared as the excellent and friendly staff showed us to our room. There was a bottle of Prosecco on ice and some gifts laid out on the bed to mark our wedding anniversary. What a fabulous surprise! Our stay was most enjoyable, the staff where always extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was top class. Finally, on hearing that we were leaving for the airport before breakfast, the receptionist insisted that we take a packed lunch that she organised would be ready at the front desk for collection as we departed. Overall this was a 5 star experience. Well done to all staff and management at the Color.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paula_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a nice hotel but I believe you need to choose your room carefully and stretch to a room facing the pool with balcony . Some of the others are road facing or dark from what I could see.
The public areas are attractive, the breakfast was ample and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Everything was fine but for some reason I didn't love this hotel. I thought it was a little plastic for Italy more like a hotel I would have experienced in a holiday resort in Turkey..

Room Tip: Room with a balcony over pool area seem good. Some rooms face a busy road and petrol station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MiaMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#3 of 43 in Bardolino
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Color Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Color Hotel

Property: Color Hotel
Address: Via Santa Cristina 5, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
#2 Family Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Color Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At ColorHotel in Bardolino on Lake Garda you will find the luxury, style and design that you expect from a 4 star hotel, but with a little something extra. That something that cannot be touched but is felt and therefore leaves its mark. A feeling of being welcomed that allows you to be yourself whatever color you are feeling or whatever your mood is. Only in this way can you be sure that you are not missing out on anything. This way of welcoming you we have called: Be Your Color. Be Your Style. Discover our 4 swimming pools of which 2 are heated, a green area which recalls the tropics, free parking, a relaxing lounge and spa, a well equipped gym, bedrooms containing every possible comfort, unique suites, a rich breakfast buffet, a wine-tasting cellar, a gourmet restaurant and everything else that you could possibly want from a luxury hotel including style and design. rself an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Color Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Color Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing