We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star quality and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“5 star quality and service”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of August for 5 nights, when we got there we were upgraded to a garden suite which was lovely, our own sunbeds on the ground floor patio with shrubs all around, fresh fruit, toiletries everyday and an enormous bed. The hotel is new but is really nice and although it was still school holidays it always seemed very peaceful and relaxing. We only had breakfast in the hotel. The first night we went down to the front which is only a 10min stroll away and it was very busy and very touristy, pizza pizza pizza and ice cream parlours! So having had a mediocre meal there we decided that every night we would try and find somewhere different.

We had one a la carte meal in the hotel which was pricey but well worth it, cooked and served beautifully. Our waitress was Marieta Jovanovic and she was lovely, excellent at her job and really friendly. The next night we tried a pizza restaurant along the main road called La Palafitte - there pizzas were the best ever, it might look a bit dated inside but the food was really good, 2 pizzas and 2 drinks for about 25 euros. The next night we tried Al Capital which is home cooked food and excellent. The guy who greated us was really nice he had travelled around and worked in London for a few years in a top class restaurant and his english was perfect. He explains all the food to you and is really welcoming and chatty. This was the best meal we had had. Finally the worst one - we decided to drive out into the hills and came across a pretty looking restuarant called Antica Osteria - omg this was the worst food I had ever had absolutely disgusting we should have gone with our gut instinct when we went in and nobody was friendly or helpful but we sat down and grinned and beared it. DO NOT GO.

Overall Bardolino is lovely, we hired a car and went a new town everyday and the scenery and picturesque towns are unique. This part of Lake Garda is well worth a visit.

I would just also like to say a BIG thank you to the maitre d' at the hotel Giancarlo who helped and advised us where to go and what to see and was always welcoming whenever he saw us he would go out of his way to come and say hello and also thanks again to Marieta you were both lovely. Thank you.

Room Tip: The garden suites were very nicely laid out, lots of storage, and a really big bed 6' + I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    334
    102
    21
    13
See reviews for
198
570
9
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

When we arrived (Sept 4th - 11th) we were greeted with a glass of Prosecco while we waited for our room to be ready as we had arrived a little early. We were then told we had a room upgrade to a suite, which was fantastic. We only had to wait about 10 minutes for the room and within half an hour of being in our room a plate of fruit, nicely presented, was sent up to us, which was a lovely touch! The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The pool area was lovely and the breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice. The price of drinks was reasonable and the cocktails were delicious! The hotel was located only a short walk from the center of Bardelino where there is a huge choice of restaurants and bars and where there are good transport links to other areas of Lake Garda and Verona. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to be back some day! Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie_C729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Aqualux (B&B) for 4 nights in early September as part of our tour of Verona and Lake Garda. We had arrived from the five star Villa Cortine in Sirmione and were looking for a short stay in a spa hotel and indulge in some treatments. We had a suite on the ground floor.

Good points: Its a great place for families with fantastic pool facilities and our suite was fairly spacious if not a little dark and lacking in direct sun light. Seemed to be very safe and easy walking distance into Bardolino. Its a good base for visiting the area. Hotel gardens will be very attractive (albeit the outside of the hotel looks like a multi story car park or hospital). Bardolino is a very attractive village with lots a of excellent restaurants.

Not so good (for us). We arrived before our room was ready, we were not offered a welcome drink, just told to come back at 3pm to pick up our key. When we did pick up our key we were given directions to our room and left to our own devices to find where to go and how to use the facilities in the room. We found the lack of attention to detail continued for the rest of our stay. The staff try to be very helpful, there just isn't enough of them to offer a good level of service, particularly the pool bar which always had a long wait to get served and limited availability. The fittings in our suite are of a very poor quality and although mostly working we could not see how they would last more than a season without having to be upgraded. The biggest disappointment for us was the spa and treatment area / setting (not the staff). It is underground and feels like being in an underground car park (which indeed it does share the space with). The fluorescent strip lighting and the flashing smoke detectors in some of the treatment rooms add nothing to the sense of tranquillity. There is no relaxing ambience, no offer of any refreshments and no one talked through our treatment likes /dislikes. We travel the world visiting a large number of spa's and this is probably the worst setting we have ever experienced.

Overall the Aqualux is a good eco concept hotel in a fairly convenient location but it all feels like they ran out of money and had to cut costs on the final finishes and do not employ enough staff to deliver a consistently high level of service.

Room Tip: If going for a suite ask for one on the top floor. The ground floor suites suffer from lack of dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This should be ranked the number one hotel in Bardolino. Last time we went to Bardolino we stayed in the Hotel Germano which is also excellent, but Aqualux beats it!

Everything about it is great - the pools, the rooms, the restaurant; everything. I cant fault it.

The staff cannot do enough for you and are very friendly too.

Stayed for 10 nights in August and loved every minute of it.

All I can say is if you're going to Bardolino and want somewhere classy and trendy to stay - go here! You won't regret it.

Room Tip: We had 219 which is a gorgeous (and massive!) suite. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewanderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked this hotel relatively last minute after reading such consistently great reviews - and they were all true!

Here are some of the hotel's best bits:
Pool area - various pools and sun bed areas mean you never feel like you're at some enormous hotel (and also mean couples and families can co-exist happily);
The pools are beautiful - with bubble options and a few in-pool 'beds';
Indoor pools are also stunning and very quiet - grey slate means they look every bit the high-end spa, but you have them practically to yourself;
Rooms - very smart and contemporary;

Bardolino itself:
Impossibly quaint lakeside town which is 5 mins walk from the hotel. Perfect size of place - lots of restaurants (all delicious and quite reasonably priced), plus lakeside cafes for gelato or a generous measure of prosecco at sunset;

Best bits:
Chilli & ginger dark chocolate gelato at Bianceneve gelateria;
Prosecco at around 2.50 Euros per glass;
Antipasti plates such as parma ham and buffalo mozzarella that could feed an army - we shared!
Hiring a speed boat at the far end of the town - 60 Euros for an hour (plus deposit) - no better way to enjoy the lake!
Great bus and ferry network to reach other towns;

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPicky1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hotel Aqualux was the perfect choice for us. Although we do not have children with us, it seemed to offer a great deal for families too. Excellent and attractive pools, fabulous treatments, well located. The rooms were very good. We ate at the hotel most days and found the food as good as any in the area and competively priced, which is important. A far better choice than other restaurants around. We also found the hotel well located for excursions on and around the lake. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesofPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights at the beginning of August. We enjoyed it so much we tried to stay longer but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and sadly we had to move on! The hotel is brand new. The online photos of the hotel don't really do it justice. They make the hotel look very corporate in my opinion, but it is actually so much nicer with lovely gardens and water features. The pools are great and the pool attendant is very helpful. The bedrooms, bar, restaurant (for lunch) are all nice and quite reasonably priced. There is a lovely deck if you want to eat breakfast outside. We had a double room, it was quite small but adequate. For our 3 teenager kids we had a twin room with a sofa bed. This room seemed much bigger. The underground carpark and free wifi are very handy.

The hotel is situated behind Bardolino town centre, a short, pleasant 5 - 10 mins walk away where you will find lots of nice restaurants. I really cannot fault this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ''''
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardolino
1.1 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#4 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
7.7 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino

Property: Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Address: Via Europa Unita 24/B, 37011, Bardolino, Italy (Formerly Aqualux Suite Hotel)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bardolino
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#9 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing