We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ever......”
Review of Al Cardellino

Al Cardellino
Ranked #1 of 138 Restaurants in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“One of the best ever......”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is probably one of the best restaurant I ate ever. Has everything, what restaurant should have.
Nice ambiente in the garden with olive trees and fontane, perfect service and of course the perfect meals.
Everything fits together, even the music.
We had veal carpaccio with foie gras, octopus, veal tagliatta, fruttini (real small fruits and nuts filled with corresponding icecream - must to try!!!) and milllefolie - yummie.

So when you are in Bardolino and want to eat on high class, just book this restaurant. Book, because the restaurant is usually fully booked.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    103
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“OUR BEST MEAL BY FAR”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Situated just outside Bardolino in the Cisano area, on a hill. This is a beautiful family run restaurant with excellent service and food. The place is not easy to find but when we arrived at 8.30pm the place was already full. We started with Ravioli filled with ricotta and truffle oil, local smoked ham with rocket salad. Our main was farmhouse lamb, a dish for 2 to share it was delicious. Our waiter recommended a bottle of red Bardolino wine from a small local producer, Villa Cordevigo 2006, it was fantastic although it was 35€ a bottle. We were too full for deserts, we were given a drink on the house and the total bill was 100€ including tip. Lovely evening and head and shoulders above every other restaurant we tried in Bardolino.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I and 2 friends visited this restaurant on a Friday night without a reservation. Despite this the owner placed a table on the grass in the garden area along with other diners. This place specialises in home made pasta and steaks. The pasta was the best we have ever tasted, as for the steak my husband and his friend shared the biggest t.bone steak we have ever seen. My friend and I shared a fillet steak that was huge then sliced and served with roast potatoes and polenta. The wine choices are amazing and if you like fabulous food, wine and stunning surroundings then you must visit. Sitting in the garden with lovely lanterns and lights together with brilliant service was well worth paying that wee bit more. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happylassie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Mixed quality”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We eat here on a very busy Sunday. The owner was kind and very genuine and made space for us and gave us a prosecco as we waited. The decor is eclectic, a mix of rustic and some rather odd nic nacs with some baroc touches - a little stange for my taste, but nothing over the top.

The menu is rustic/traditional and this is very much a meat restaurant, with the main meat dishes cooked over a large wooden fire in a huge chimney. We had pasta and mains. The pasta dishes were mixed, with the ricotta ravioli with truffle super, the mixed ragu nice (but nothing special) and the gnocci with saffron lacking in any real flavour punch and a little insipid. Again the mains were mixed, the veal was awful, fatty tough and a little undercooked. The chicken however was wonderful, served with parmessan, polenta and masses of roast potato (the roast potatos were nowhere near the best I have had though). Both main dishes were a little over salted (and I am keen on salt for added for flavour).

The house red wine was good value (a bardolino, given the area) and a very pleasant drinkable wine.

The service was good given how busy the restaurant was, but the waitress was very poor at answering our questions - we were unsure whether to have pasta and mains or just maina but we were assured that the portion sizes meant that it was better to order pasta and main. When it got to the main dishes the portion sizes were huge so be warned you may only want one dish in here. There is no complaint at the size of portion, just that it would be better to let the customers know that the mains are big!

It is difficult to rate the restaurant, the owner is genuine, the wine list great and some of the dishes very good. The food was inconsistent for our table but the restaurant was busy. Our experience was therefore average, but if you came at a quieter time and ordered the best dishes from the menu I can imagine a more consistent experience. This is a very rustic restaurant, think good quality produce cooked in a traditional way rather than anything approaching any kind of refined food experience. For the quantty of food it is good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of our best food experience”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

You MUST stop by Bardolino and Al Cardellino restaurant just at least for the 700-800gm bone steak (7cm thick). Cooked in a big traditional fireplace for 15-20 min and served sliced on baked potatoes and polenta - we had some mixed salad and grilled vegetables as side dishes too - this plate was a pure taste happyness and flavor explosion. Woaw! And when the team is as warm and welcoming as the food is good, then, no doubt, you are in heaven of gastronomy. That's simple, we booked already for Sunday - you better do it for sunday because the Al Cardellino is pretty famous locally, even in low season - open every evening and Sunday noon. And this time we will experience the fresh home made Pasta - we had a taste try with the plate of our little girl and it was impossible for us to even think to miss it on the full. Oh, and by the way, ask for the cellar visit... One more reason to come.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Cardellino also viewed

Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 
Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 
Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 

Been to Al Cardellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing