We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't pick a better location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parc Hotel Gritti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parc Hotel Gritti
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't pick a better location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in this hotel last week while we attended a wedding locally. We really didn't like the first room we were given although it had a balcony & super view. We couldn't move until 2nd day as hotel was full but when we did we got a lovely room with no balcony & no view! We were happy enough though. The reviews that tell you to book rooms on 3rd floor are right so take heed. Our stay was short - 4 nights but we enjoyed it. It's very well located by the lake & a very short stroll to all the lovely restaurants. Bardolino is a stunning location & worth a visit. The only negative remark I have to make is that some of the reception staff could do with a visit to a charm school. They were obliging at all times but smiles were rare & atmosphere bordering on uncomfortable. It's lovely otherwise & I'd go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmaryfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello hmaryfitz,

thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked our location and plan to come back. We look forward to seeing you again soon, then, and we will welcome you with a smile. :-)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    255
    158
    56
    35
See reviews for
108
375
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have just returned from the Gritti after a weeks stay. Overall our opinion is that it is an OK hotel which do many things well but spoilt by a few things that it doesn't. As my husband is an occasional wheelchair user we were actually recommended by Thomson's to visit Bardolino and specifically to stay at the Gritti. I can only assume they haven't ever had to negotiate the hotel in a wheelchair. Access to the hotel reception has to be via the coach/car entrance below ground and then coming up in the lift. There are only steps at the main entrance and whilst my husband is able to get out of his chair and we could 'bump' it up the steps others might not so lucky. We stayed in a 'privilege' room which was very pleasant and were on the 2nd floor overlooking the garden courtyard. As per previous reviews, we appreciated the fridge and bottled water supplied each day and the bottle of Prosecco and chocolates on arrival particularly so! It would have been nice if the TV had more channels in English other than BBC worldwide news.
We used the lift to get to the ground floor where the dining room is located which was fine but it was only on day 2 we realised the garden we overlooked from our bedroom was actually a ramp area which meant we didn't have to 'bump' down the stairs to get down to the pool area! So, difficulties all round really and it's frustrating to think all these things have not been recognised by the hotel; life is difficult enough for both the user of the wheelchair and 'pusher' without being forced to walk twice as far as you might need to if ramps were in place appropriately.
The food was OK but again as other reviews it was very busy in the dining room for both breakfast and dinner and the lack of Italian food was very disappointing. In other 4 star hotels we've stayed in there has been at least some 'show' cooking and perhaps pizza making or fresh pasta's would have been great. The salads were pretty much the same every evening but as there was a wide choice that was OK and also the desserts were good. The main course however left a bit to be desired and whilst always being quite tasty, just didn't look that appetising. The plus points to this hotel are the rooms are very clean with the bathroom being pristine and being cleaned and serviced every day. The bottles of water and glasses in reception are also very good and the breakfasts had everything you could want, but again freshly made omelettes and fried eggs would have been a lovely touch.
The location of the Gritti is brilliant, with everything being just a 5 minute walk along a beautiful boardwalk. Bardolino itself is stunning with lots of restaurants and cafes and stylish shops. Overall a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: I would definitely pay the extra for a 'privilege' room and our location on the 2nd floor fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Ollie,

thank you for your review. We are happy that you overall experience was wonderful.

We are sorry about the experience of your husband; we do have an accessible entrance — as you said it is below ground. We understand that this could be uncomfortable, so we would like to apologize for that. When the hotel is refurbished again, we will surely take the important issue of full accessibility into account. Thank you for your remark about it.

As for the restaurant, we are very sorry that you were disappointed as for dinner and breakfast. Actually, we provide our clients with a varied selection of Italian main courses as well as many different sidedishes. We would like to thank you though for your suggestion. As for the breakfast, you can also have the traditional Italian "cornetto" (=croissant) breakfast.

As you said the location is actually perfect, being literally just a few metres away from the lakefront. So we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This review is a little late but I am still so disappointed after spending a great deal of money that I decided to write it .
Last year my wife and I decided to go to Bardolino on Lake Garda. We had read a number of reviews on various hotels and eventually decided to go to the Hotel Gritti for two weeks from 29th June to 13th July 2013 as it had a number of good reviews.
What a disappointment.
The hotel is located near the lake but there are a limited number of rooms with a sea view many overlook an untidy block with shuttered windows 24/7 giving the impression it is unused.
We were fortunate enough to have a room with a lake view which was adequate with an old fashioned box television stuck in one corner with a very limited choice of English speaking programs.
The hotel boasts two bars but only the poolside bar was open during our stay. The more attractive inside bar was closed during our entire stay, couldn’t understand why when the hotel was quite full.
Although Thompsons say the hotel is not suitable for children under 12, I think other companies outside the UK do not as there were quite a few children present and the hotel certainly didn’t appear to cater for them. There was no children’s pool and I personally had difficulty accepting youngsters in napkins in the pool.
Despite advertising two main restaurants and a gourmet restaurant during our stay only one main restaurant and the gourmet restaurant was open in the evening which was chaotic at times.
The food in the restaurants was not adequately labelled and it was difficult at times to know what was being served. For some reason the tureens were not replenished until completely empty and then not always with the same thing.
People we spoke to in the hotel who had been there previously on several occasions said that the hotel standards had deteriorated and would not return there again.
For those interested in using wi-fi to use the internet – forget it as the free service provided can only be used in parts of the hotel and is practically useless.
On the plus side the rooms were spotless with efficient air conditioning and cleaned daily, afternoon tea was very good and an opportunity to chat with other guests, bottles of water were replenished daily free of charge.
Loved Bardolino and will return but not to the Hotel Gritti probably to the Hotel Du Luc or San Pietro both of which we visited during our stay on two occasions as they were far more friendly than the Gritti.

Room Tip: Book a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 13SandyBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Byron,

thank you for your review. We are sorry if your experience was not up to your expectations. We have renovated many rooms, a bar and the reception desk during the past few years. We respect your choice not to come back again to our hotel; yet we would like to invite you again in our hotel, to show you our real standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have visited Bardolino for the Festa dell'uva e del vino every October for the last five years. For the three years we have stayed at this Hotel. It is situated at one end of the main lake-front road in Bardolino and is therefore a perfect location to access the festival and the town. It's a five minute walk to the ferry dock. It's around forty minutes to walk to Garda along the lake front, fifteen minutes to Cisano and an hour's walk to Lazise which is well worth a visit.

The hotel has been progressively upgrading its rooms and I thoroughly recommend getting a refurbished one. They are clean and well decorated, excellent bathrooms with robes provided, but shower only, no baths. I found I could get the free wi-fi on my iPad, but for some reason my phone struggled to pick it up in the room. Daily maid service and they provide bottled water daily. Safe and basic mini bar are also provided.

I have not used many of the hotel's facilities. A lot of guests seem to stay half board, but I have only eaten breakfast there, although this is excellent, plentiful and very varied. An ideal preparation for several days of wine tasting!

Also worth noting in relation to the festival and time of year that the hotel tends to turn off the air conditioning during the first week of October (middle of the week after festival weekend) and start to close down the pool bar area around the same time. The pool stays open and is nice and clean.

If you like the hotel and plan to stay more than once or in another Parc hotel, it's also worth getting the Prima Parc club membership which is free as it will get you 10% of your bill in the form of a voucher to redeem again your next Parc hotel stay.

So in summary, great location, clean and friendly hotel which I would recommend as a base, but maybe not as a focus for your holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms, they have greatly increased the quality. I would not worry too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mark,

thank you for your review. We are happy that you recommended our hotel; yet we would like to invite you to try it as a focus of your holiday if you come back to Bardolino. Many guests have done so: you won't be disappointed! :-)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our late holiday booking with Thomson Lakes didn't allow us a wide choice of hotel so we took pot luck with the Gritti. Its a spacious 260 bedroom hotel set in attractive grounds by the shoreline of Lake Garda within 10 minutes board walking distance from Bardolino town. We stayed for 6 nights in a comfortable room overlooking a dense forest of trees (that limited the natural light entering the room) with a balcony patio that, unfortunately, was located over the kitchens!. For a couple of nights this was a problem. After a Saturday wedding reception the kitchens were very noisy clearing up till about 2am and, on another night, a couple of teenagers chatted noisily on the adjoining balcony until about 3 am at which time we made a request to the manager to quieten them down! Yes, we could have asked to be relocated but apart from these two occasions the nights were quiet enough not to warrant the hassle of moving. The reception and dining staff were courteous and attentive but we were less happy with the self-service only restaurants where, due to the huge numbers of guests staying at the hotel, it was a great bun fight, both breakfast and dinner to serve yourself a meal. The quality and variety of cold salad and desert type food was good but they had a problem with limited range of cooked/hot meals. All in all it was a good holiday. Bardolino was excellent, the sun shone and the ferry and bus trips to other parts of the lake were most enjoyable. We would like to go back again but will find a smaller family run hotel next time.

Room Tip: Talking to others it seems rooms facing the lake are lighter and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim-Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Jim and Jenny,

thank you very much for your review. We are happy that all in all your stay was good; yet, we are sorry to hear that something didn't go well. Thank you for your remark about cooked/hot meals: we will take it into account to improve our service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days having a great time in Bardolino. The hotel was very good as we had an up-grade to our room. The balcony was a little tatty. Breakfast was good with a wide range of hot & cold food. We did not book for the evening meal and we were glad of that as it looked pretty ordinary to us. The pool bar was not very welcoming & we looked in one evening in the main bar with entertainment & walked straight out. Awful.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mechanicalman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mechanica,

thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you didn't like our evening entertaining; yet we thank you for your remark, which will help us improve our service. We hope to see you again soon, anyway.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went to this hotel with a bit of trepidation after reading some of the horrible reviews it had been given. After saving hard for a special holiday to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary we were not looking forward to this trip. Well we need not have worried this hotel is lovely. Would recommend an upgrade as the privilege rooms were worth the extra. Beds changed three times in the week,maid service every day and rooms were spotless,food was great with amazing choice. Pool was lovely and sunbeds very plentiful as we sent mid September so that was a bit quieter. Only had entertainment one night but that was no miss as the hotel was well situated for a short walk into town. Would recommend this hotel though don't expect wi-fi throughout as is only available at reception but two computers available to use. All round this was a great hotel with lovely staff and very clean.

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading and top floor as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Ann,

thank you for saying that our hotel is lovely. We are happy that you liked it. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardolino
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#4 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
24.3 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parc Hotel Gritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Hotel Gritti

Property: Parc Hotel Gritti
Address: Via Gabriele D'Annunzio | Via Lungolago Cipriani, 1, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc Hotel Gritti 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location and high quality services for this 4 star hotel, the perfect choice for a relaxing and exclusive holiday. Just few steps from Bardolino and lake front, Parc Hotel Gritti is very popular for its tranquil gardens and terraces, for its pleasant pool area and a nice wellness center with indoor pool, sauna and wellness treatments.260 cosy rooms with en-suite facilities, hairdryer, minibar, tea & coffee maker, telephone, sat.TV and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Parc Hotel Gritti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Bardolino
Parc Hotel Gritti Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing