We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not glamorous, but perfectly pleasant! Great location.”
Review of Parc Hotel Gritti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parc Hotel Gritti
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We just spent a week in Bardolino and booked our holiday last minute. We didn't upgrade our room as it appeared to be too expensive to bother, when we planned to be out and about most of the time. Maybe this accounts for the lack of glamour, although it was an overall feeling. The hotel is tucked back from the lake a bit, so doesn't have a waterfront restaurant. It does have a central garden that some of the rooms face out on, which is probably nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful - we had to get some clothing ironed, sort out our wireless and a few other queries and they were always incredibly patient and quick to help us solve our issues. Even the staff in the restaurants (though we only had breakfast there) were lovely. The breakfast buffet was impressive with a huge selection of hot & cold food plus cereals, coffee, juices, cakes - tricky to not over eat if you're that way inclined! It's very close to Bardolino Town - maybe a 5 min walk to the promenade with all of it's lakeside cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. Oh and we had a back massage on our last day as had a late flight which was amazing and the therapist was also charming. This is my second time to Lake Garda and I think Bardolino is the best place on the lake to stay. You can get everywhere from there by boat or car (in hotter seasons I recommend an air conditioned car for a break from the heat, plus it's quicker to get to places like Riva that way) from Bardolino, but it also has the advantage of not being too quiet or too over developed. It's the perfect balance of relaxation with plenty of shopping and eating to be had. You won't get bored. There's a supermarket about 5 mins walk from Parc Hotel Gritti for supplies. There also IS a lakeside cafe just as you walk out onto the road along the lake, though I don't think it's connected with the hotel in any way. We drove to Venice & Riva, walked to Garda (do this early as it can be HOT) and took a boat to Sirmione. There's a decent market in Bardolino on Thursday as well. Look forward to visiting Lake Garda again - it's a great place to get away from it all. Maybe we'll take the kids next time, if they're lucky.

Room Tip: I suppose upgrade if you can, as our room was a bit "meh".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear zzanne,

thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in our hotel for your third time to Lake Garda.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 769 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

'More, please'.
- ''More? I have given you some.''
'Yes, more. This hotel is supposed to be buffet service - why are servers standing behind the food and serving the guests?'
- ''Because that way we can feed you the minimum and make more profit.''
'But there is not enough to eat here - I would like some more'.
- ''Why don't you change to bed and breakfast only and go into town to a restaurant?''
'Because although they can give style lessons to the world, there's only one menu in the entire area - pizza or spaghetti.'
- ''But we have pork here in the hotel for dinner!''
'Yes, you did - tonight, last night, and the night before - and probably every night before we arrived. Your food is dull, unimaginative and dreadfully lacks choice for the 4 stars you've awarded yourselves, and so is breakfast. Do your management ever visit comparable hotels around Europe?'
- ''Why do you English and Germans come here to our Lakes and spoil our beautiful Italian lives? Can't you see in our eyes what we think of you?''
'Because the lakes are beautiful, the buildings and churches are beautiful, the half-dressed girls on a Friday night in Bardolino are beautiful. The Gritti garden is mature and the pool great.'
- ''But we don't fix the air conditioning in all but the top floor rooms for nearly a week, refuse to acknowledge the fact or apologise, even though the temperature is over 40 degrees - what more can we do to keep you away?''
'Well the hotel exterior looks like Ford's Dagenham factory painted red and green but you keep the rooms clean and the décor is plain but smart. BUT your head receptionist (with the unique hairstyle) is certainly cool and unpleasant (computer says no) - she and the food have ensured that my party of four won't come here again, and wouldn't recommend the hotel.'

Room Tip: Check the air conditioning is on - and working over the entire hotel. Don't believe all that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geoffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just come back from 11 days at the Gritti, first impression was good although some parts of the hotel looking tired and need of an upgrade. the location is excellent only five minutes from the town. We used the Lido across the road a few times free of charge for Gritti residents. The food although plentiful and varied was lacking in taste and couldn't say that we had a memorable meal. Fabulous pool but had weeds growing around the sides, the evening entertainment consisted of pub singers singing various renditions of Frank Sinatra,s May Way with the exception of a female singer who was very good. The temperature rose to 36deg and the air con in the whole hotel stopped working making it uncomfortable. Would I go back? probably if only for the location but wait until it has a revamp

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyhg39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Garyhg39,

thank you for your review. We would like to thank you also for your suggestions. We would like to remind you that many of our rooms have been renovated, so we hope that you will come back to see them for yourself.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Spent a wonderful week in Bardolino, had room 217 (upgraded). Lovely room, sparkling wine and chocolates on arrival, plus another free bottle on our last evening.
Superb location for travel to Venice, Verona, or Milan, or Bardolino just minutes walk away along the beautiful promenade.
Food, buffet based was very good, separate waiter service restaurant available at no extra cost if half board, as we were, but did not use it, preferring to snack on the wide variety of dishes in the Cipriani restaurant.
Pool area had sunbeds for well over 350 people, and was not crowded during our stay. No towel reservation allowed! Good evening entertainment.
Helpful staff, spotlessly clean in both the hotel and resort, which had wonderful bars and food.
Minor let down was the wifi, which was dreadfully slow in the reception and restaurant areas, and did not work at all in 217. Was reported, but was told all working, but it did not. Minor niggle.
Would definitely return, no complaints whatsoever.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Kevin,

it's great to read that you would definitely return and that we helped you spend a nice holiday. Thank you so much for your nice review, which we really appreciated. We're looking forward to your next stay. :-)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A friend and I enjoyed a very wonderful holiday at the Parc Gritti Hotel in Bardolino . The staff were most helpful from members of the Reception team to all the other staff throughout the hotel. The hotel is situated a short distance from the town centre and boat departure point.The food was varied and plentiful but depending on when you went to dine the choice could have been limited.The room in which we stayed was somewhat tired and the bathroom whilst clean the shower was dated and faulty (Room 270) All these comments would not stop me from returning to Parc Gritti but I would request a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Thomas,

thank you for your review. As for the food, we would like to remind you that we have three restaurants, including one with table service and tasting menu. We look forward to your next stay. :-)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel Gritti is one of our favourite hotels, in one of our favourite places. We have stayed there four or five times within the last ten years, and have never been disappointed. We always have such a relaxing holiday. The rooms are cool and comfortable, with shady balconies. The food is fab! We always book breakfast and dinner, and enjoy the easy going buffet atmosphere. The afternoon tea is also a treat. We enjoy the opportunity of travelling about on the lake steamers, or simply relaxing by the pool. Bardolino is a lovely place for an evening stroll. We will be back!

Room Tip: We prefer those rooms facing inward into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Liz,

we're happy to read that our hotel is one of your favourite ones and that you'll be back. So we look forward to your coming back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a large hotel which is in a good location for walking into Bardolino which i must say is a lovely place to go on a evening, the beds were very comfy and rooms are clean, I think most rooms have a balcony but alot don't get the sun on an evening which was a disapointment for us.
We had booked half board and expected a proper sit down meal on an evening but the resturant was an help yourself buffet with people consantly up and down to get food and it was quite annoying, their is a wide choice of average food on an evening but if your looking for that waiter/waitress service from a 4 star hotel you won't get it or you have to pay extra to eat in another dining room as this is what we thought we were getting from half board, The staff are their but don't really put themselves across to make your stay welcome. I would certainly stay in bardolino again but not in this hotel.
Bedroom tax at this hotel is 2 Euros per person per night which is payable to the hotel at the end of your stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acko1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Acko,

thank you for your review. We're sorry that you didn't like our hotel, nevertheless we will take your opinion into account so as to improve our service.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#2 of 43 in Bardolino
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
#15 of 43 in Bardolino
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parc Hotel Gritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Hotel Gritti

Address: Via Gabriele D'Annunzio | Via Lungolago Cipriani, 1, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: $104 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc Hotel Gritti 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location and high quality services for this 4 star hotel, the perfect choice for a relaxing and exclusive holiday. Just few steps from Bardolino and lake front, Parc Hotel Gritti is very popular for its tranquil gardens and terraces, for its pleasant pool area and a nice wellness center with indoor pool, sauna and wellness treatments.260 cosy rooms with en-suite facilities, hairdryer, minibar, tea & coffee maker, telephone, sat.TV and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parc Hotel Gritti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Bardolino
Parc Hotel Gritti Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing